We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can be great at times”
Review of Iron Horse Supper Club - CLOSED

Iron Horse Supper Club
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Phone number 406-234-6987. This place is described on http://custer.visitmt.com but does not have its own website. We are pretty discerning when it comes to restaurants, and are not easily impressed. This place serves very good quality food and wine, far exceeding what we expected in this location. We would like to write a full review of it.
Stevensville, Montana
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Can be great at times”
Reviewed 25 March 2012

I've had very good dinning experiences here and some not so good. Recently have noticed and upswing again.

Helpful?
2 Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    5
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eckman
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“A great Montana steak!”
Reviewed 22 September 2011

A classic Montana steakhouse! Had an excellent dinner here with a coworker. A great Montana steak, flavorful and tender, prepared exactly as I ordered it: "Pittsburgh black & blue!" Seriously- what more can one ask for? :-)

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank elissejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Slipping ...”
Reviewed 6 September 2011

Had dinner again at Iron Horse, following my visit in March and sat at the bar. I was disappointed.

Dinned on a Thursday night and ordered the hanger steak with baked potato and salad. Sorry, we're out of baked potatoes (7:15 pm). In view of my previous comment about the salad, I was keenly aware of the servers dumping chopped lettuce from a bag (thankfully refrigerated) into bowls and garnishing them with diced tomatoes. Dreadful.

My hanger steak, ordered medium rare, was served well done. The steak had been marinated in some vinegar and that started to "cook" the meat, which should have been considered by the chef. I was offered a replacement, but was too hungry to wait. A complimentary beer settled the issue.

I looked forward to this visit during my stay and was sorely disappointed by the experience.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mrskillz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miles City, Montana
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Service”
Reviewed 1 July 2011

We ate dinner there tonight, and the service was outstanding. The service time was wonderful, the food was amazing, and the price is perfect for the large servings. I would absolutely recommend going here to absolutely anyone - I've never been let down yet.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jessikerlaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Iron Horse - Deconstructed”
Reviewed 9 March 2011

This may rightfully be the best restaurant in Miles City. It could be better with little effort. Sat at the bar and thoroughly enjoyed the Ansel Adams books and Pictorial History of Montana left for perusal.

Soup du Jour was "8 bean and ham"; the 8th bean appeared to be edamame, and the soup was very good. House salad with "pesto vinaigrette" was the item that could have been most easily, and inexpensively, improved. The iceberg lettuce was simply whacked and served; no effort to remove core or white ribs of bitter lettuce. Two slices of limp cucumber should have been deleted. The dressing was very good; however, was based on sundried tomatoes instead of pesto ... still very good. The flatiron steak was probably not. It was shaped, cut like, and tasted as if it were a small strip steak; a portion controlled one frozen with a solution of 10% whatever. That said, it was properly cooked and served with a Maitre d'Hotel butter and was good, but not, I am very certain, a flatiron steak. Given the location in cattle country it seemed like an injustice.

Give it a shot ... beers were cold, servers attentive, and there are not a lot of other options if steak is on the radar.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank mrskillz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Iron Horse Supper Club also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing