We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprise - Magnificent Trattoria in Missoula”
Review of Caffe Dolce

Caffe Dolce
Reserve with OpenTable
Caffe Dolce is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 293 Restaurants in Missoula
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Beckwith
Description: HOURS OF OPERATION Monday-Thursday: 7 am to 9 pm Friday: 7 am to 10 pm Saturday: 8 am to 9 pm Sunday: 9 am to 2 pm Coffee Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner Sunday Brunch Patio Seating in the warm months!
Denver
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Surprise - Magnificent Trattoria in Missoula”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Caffe Dolce has a good ambiance with a nice faux-painted fresco ceiling. The food was perfectly executed. The lamb ragu with pappardelle and the lamb burger were excellent. The wild mushroom pizza with truffle oil had a nice crisp crust.
The service was attentive without being overbearing.
The four of us really enjoyed a good trattoria-style dinner in Montana's nicest college town, that has never succumb to the pressure of all-franchises-all-the-time America.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NeilB47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MissoulaBiker, Owner at Caffe Dolce, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Neil:
Thank you for visiting Caffe Dolce while in Missoula, and thank you for taking the time to write a review. I can't tell you how much it means. You touched on some of the things that are meaningful to me personally. The ceiling artist is a dear friend, an Albanian/Italian fresco master (Dolce's is a real plaster fresco!). Let me know when you are ever in again, and I'll tell you the story that it tells. As for your food comments, to me, the braised lamb ragu on fresh pasta is one of my favorite meals of all time. The lamb burger is a menu staple.

Kind Regards,

Peter Lambros
Caffe Dolce, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    326
    107
    33
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Big Sky, Montana
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“We loved dinner so much, we came back for breakfast!”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Our new favorite spot in Missoula! Order the meat board during the evening. Seriously. Order the meat board. Clams were also delicious. Great house red. Great atmosphere. For breakfast, get here early. The scramble runs out quick.... But lots of other great choices! Great espresso!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank anna91182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MissoulaBiker, Owner at Caffe Dolce, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Reviewer:

Thank you for taking the time to review Caffe Dolce after your recent visit. It means so much when someone takes the time! I'm so happy that your food and beverage hit the mark. We care deeply. As for the house red - even though we have an extensive list at a range of price points, carrying an accessible wine that is fantastic is at the heart of our culture.

Come see us when your travels bring you to Missoula again.

Best Regards,

Peter Lambros
Caffe Dolce, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brunswick, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
442 reviews
275 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“A Place for Food and Friends”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

During our 3 days in Missoula we went to Caffe Dolce twice....it's that good! Their cappuccinos are incredible, the best I've had outside Europe. They make an array of baked goods and they serve meals as well. Most of the time you order then take your seat but on Sunday it's table service. We enjoyed their yogurt with fresh fruit and granola. There are selections for vegetarians and non-vegetarians. If you are a coffee drinker you HAVE to have a cup or an espresso drink. Be sure to take your time. This is a place to linger over coffee and visit with friends.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vickie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MissoulaBiker, Owner at Caffe Dolce, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Vickie:

Thank you for taking the time to review Caffe Dolce after your recent visit.
When we opened our first location sixteen years ago, coffee was our sole focus. It has remained at the heart of our business ever since, and I'm glad you enjoyed. When your travels bring you this way again, please visit us for dinner. Our evening service focuses on seasonal entrees and a fantastic selection of wine and beer.

Best Regards,

Peter Lambros
Caffe Dolce, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best Casual Place in Town”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This place is always busy and the food excellent. I appreciate their super fast wi-fi. I've ordered the lamb burger, various salads and the BLT several times each and have never been disappointed. I only wish you could order 1/2 sandwich for when your appetite is small.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MissoulaBiker, Owner at Caffe Dolce, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Cynthia:
Thank you for taking the time to review Caffe Dolce after your July visit. We care deeply, and we are grateful when the experience pleases. We will keep your comment about smaller portion alternatives in mind. Please visit us when your travels bring you through Missoula again. And if you haven't tried us for dinner, our evening service is fantastic.

Kind Regards,

Peter Lambros
Caffe Dolce, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missoula, Montana
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beauty and Excellence”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I'm a Missoula native, and I often meet friends for meals and conversation. Everything that I have eaten at Caffe Dolce has been prepared with freshness, generosity, and beauty. My favorites are the Heritage Bacon Lettuce and Tomato sandwich; the Hungarian soup, the breakfast Scramble, the Morning Glory muffins, and...the rich and smooth coffee! What's difficult to describe is the sense of dedication and loving care that's present like a gentle "hum" behind every choice that was made in creating this gift to Missoula. The joy of creation and daily nurturing of the gift sits at the table with you, as a silent companion. There is no other place as gracious, and no other food as lovely and delicious as prepared at Caffe Dolce. Elizabeth T.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Elizabeth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MissoulaBiker, Owner at Caffe Dolce, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Elizabeth:
Thank you for your detailed and thoughtful comments about Dolce. We care deeply about what we offer, and when that comes across, we are grateful. Please let us know anything we can do to continue to please you as a local patron.

Sincerely,

Peter Lambros
Caffe Dolce, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Caffe Dolce also viewed

 

Been to Caffe Dolce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing