We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot; staff were... meh.”
Review of Missoula KOA

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Missoula
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Missoula KOA
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 February 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights in September. We were in town for a Pearl Jam concert, and we weren't the only fans staying at the KOA.

When we arrived, there were signs in the main office area warning us that there were would be extra security on for "Pearl Jam Weekend" and that anyone not following the rules would be kicked out of the park immediately. Upon checking in, without even asking if I was there for the concert or not (I guess it's because I'm young-ish, and he just assumed?), the man behind the counter pointed to the sign and asked if I "understood the rules".

Sure, I get it.. there are noise regulations everywhere, and when a concert of that size (about 6000, I think) comes into a small town, the locals might take extra precautions to ensure everyone's safety and happiness. What I don't appreciate is being treated like a small child—asking whether I 'understand rules' and whatnot, simply because of my age. There are exceptions to every rule, but for the most part, Pearl Jam fans are very respectable individuals who are not looking for any trouble. My husband and I had a fire, and were in bed fairly early... we certainly weren't a bother to our neighbours, and even though there were many other fans at the campground, we didn't hear anyone after 10pm or so. Nevertheless, though, security was out doing their (very frequent) rounds early enough—on the lookout for all of those s*** disturbers that rolled into town with the PJ concert, I guess!

I didn't appreciate the prejudice and stereotyping, but the campground itself was clean, well maintained, and in a great location. Probably wouldn't stay there again, though... I'm 30 years old and usually travel without parents, chaperones, or campground staff who act like them.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linner44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2012

We have a travel trailer, and usually camp at less developed campgrounds, and try to stay away from RV parks... but we came into Missoula and wanted to do some "city" things and not mess with finding a close-by site somewhere else. So, this review is trying to be open to the aspects of what a KOA/RV park. I will also say that I am a lightish sleeper, and get irritated by loud noise easily... but I also try to keep things in perspective, too.

Bad:

- The RV areas sites are VERY close together. Our 21 ft trailer almost got hit by the people's popout in the next site.

- The campground is next to the city school bus yard.. so you guessed it, on school days all those diesel engines warming up at 6 AM. We were very close to this side of the campground, so it probably wasn't as bad further away.

- a little pricey for not having sewer at the site... we did use the dump station on site.

- The campground sits close to the flight path of the Missoula Airport. It's surprising how many planes/small jets fly into this place.. and even late into the night. This probably bugged me the most.

- train ... as we found out on this trip across Montana and Idaho, trains are everywhere... and campgrounds seem to have a knack for being right next to train tracks. Well, I don't think the KOA was RIGHT next to one, but it was close enough to wake me up with the many horn blows thru the night.

-The pool was closed, and it was 90 degrees. I'll give a little bit of a break here, as it was just after Labor Day, and I realize many pools nationwide close after the holiday, largely because kids are back in school. The hot tub was open, but ti closed at 7PM, before dark. That was pretty lame.


Good:

-Even though the sites were close together, there were trees spaced at almost every site, giving the place a little less of that parking lot feel.

-Nice fenced in dog area

-clean, family friendly (no we don't have kids)

Overall, if you are staying at a KOA, you probably know what to expect. I think the noise was what caused me to give this a 3 instead of a 4. Otherwise, I'd still recommend staying here if you keep it in check.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mtnmanlives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We stayed for three nights. Pool was wonderful, with a huge kids area. Super friendly staff, that keep the park and facilities very clean and tidy. So many things to do and so many ways to relax we hardly left the park! The location was great! Its in town, but hidden enough you wouldnt know it. This was nice as we did go to dinner and do some shopping and everything was super close. Excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mathmattx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

This campground was pretty large. They had a big camp store that serves a buffet breakfast in the morning. Our campsite was on grass with a fire pit/bench area, picnic table, & place to set/prepare your food away from the table. The bathrooms were clean.We enjoyed our stay here and would stay again if we ever pass through the area.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jenksoccer21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

The Missoula KOA is pretty big. Lots of options for camping and cabins. I enjoyed camping here and we decided to stay an extra night because our tent site was shady and mega cheaper than a hotel. The tent site pavilion was pretty handy and I recommend. It has nice grass and a covered area if it rains or you want shade.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AZDeac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Excellent service, military discount for the site, very well taken care of and there was lots of grass for us to set up our tent

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RhiC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

I expect most KOAs to be a bit noisy and crowded with children running around, but this one had sites extremely close together. It extremelywas very loud and full. The view was pretty bad as well, the campground was right next to a development in the city. Our campsite boardered the development and we had a house right next to us and an alley a few feet from us with cars going in and out at night and in the morning. I'd spend the extra $$ for a hotel next time. The site was already like $33 anyway.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KMathmatical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Missoula hotels
2.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Missoula Airport
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Missoula
Hampton Inn Missoula
#3 of 40 in Missoula
489 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn Missoula
La Quinta Inn Missoula
#9 of 40 in Missoula
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Doubletree Missoula/Edgewater
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Missoula NW
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Missoula Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Missoula KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Missoula KOA

Address: 3450 Tina Avenue, Missoula, MT
Region: United States > Montana > Missoula
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Missoula
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the MISSOULA Montana KOA campground! We are located in the beautiful Missoula Valley in Western Montana surrounded by the breathtaking Rocky Mountains. We are your Family Fun headquarters for a perfect Western Montana visit! Camp under large shade trees with lush green grass. Our campground is located in Missoula right off I-90 (Exit 101) Reserve Street. Base camp with us while you explore Lewis & Clark's trail, Glacier National Park, the Bitterroot Valley, Garnet Ghost Town. Missoula is the area's hub for shopping, outdoor activities, history & culture to name a few! We offer a wide variety of activities including fun bike rentals, breakfast served daily and an ice cream social nightly($) during the summer season at our KOA Kafe and Gathering Place, mini-golf, game room, playgrounds, heated pool and hot-tubs, a wonderful gift shop and well-stocked convenience store and more. Within minutes you could be golfing, skiing, shopping, antiquing, hiking, riding a hand-carved carousel, visiting museums, and so much more! We welcome you to our unique and wonderful quality of life! Here you can forget your worries and have a safe, comfortable, clean and FUN vacation! Your hosts: the Frame Family ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Missoula KOA Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing