We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Breakfast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Catalyst Cafe

Catalyst Cafe
Ranked #9 of 287 Restaurants in Missoula
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$11
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are a full service restaurant. Opened in 1991 as Montana's first coffee cart, The Catalyst Cafe has grown to become a favorite destination in Missoula for full-plate breakfasts and lunches. Open seven days a week and serving breakfast all day. The Catalyst caters to a very loyal following of University of Montana students, downtown Missoula business people, and visitors. The Catalyst Cafe brews the best coffee in Missoula and serves up a delicious variety of unique, fresh, local meals- including a great selection for vegetarians and vegans. The Catalyst Cafe is 100% Missoula - and prides itself on being a welcoming, comfortable restaurant for all walks of life.
Missoula, Montana
Level Contributor
104 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

The Catalyst, we had seen this restaurant many times and its outdoor seating. It looked very inviting and it proved to be for my wife, friend and myself. The atmosphere inside and out is very nice and we all liked the interior decor. For breakfast, I ordered the "heap" and the others ordered the # 2. The food came out in a reasonable time and it was hot and delicious. The portions were very generous and everyone needed a take home box. We will be back and we recommend that you try it too.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MZoo60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    44
    13
    1
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Great Falls, Montana
Level Contributor
119 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Still at the top”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

I have eaten here many times for brunch. They will serve breakfast or lunch, and this time I chose from a new lunch menu with a chickpea kale soup, their usual tempeh sandwich which tastes a lot like salty smoked gouda, with a beet-feta salad. This is a fantastic local place to eat, with friendly attentive staff and the ambience that typifies this college town. Be sure to eat here for breakfast or lunch. You will be pleased.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank algologist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing. Charm. Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Breakfast variety is pretty big. Great service, food taste really good. I honestly amazed by right cup for hot tea - it always so small but here is just right size:) suggest this place!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SVGoFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good breakfast in Missoula”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

We had breakfast here due to it's popularity among Missoulians. We took a table outside and had very good service. The coffee is excellent! We ordered the huckleberry french toast to share which was served more like a bread pudding. It was just sweet enough and the perfect amount for sharing. We had the potato hash which was tiny cubed potatoes along with some vegetables. This was ordered with 2 poached eggs, unfortunately, they were overcooked. We also ordered vegetarian scramble. This dish had vegetables with scrambled eggs. It was pretty good. It was just the right amount of food. I'm not sure if I would go back for breakfast, but I would like to go back for lunch. The lunch menu looked very interesting.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kimberly s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tucson
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Exceptional value and taste”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Skip the chain restaurants and eat local! This restaurant is located in the heart of Missoula. The menu was great, food was great, service was great! I ordered soup and sandwich--very tasty! After our lunch, my husband and I wandered the shops in downtown Missoula. Its a college town and has the accompanying interesting variety of stores to appeal to students from different cultures. Well worth the stop to get out and stretch our legs for an hour or two!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wandersw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Catalyst Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Catalyst Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing