We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint & Wonderful”
Review of The Wilma Theater

The Wilma Theater
Ranked #2 of 8 Fun & Games in Missoula
Attraction details
Missoula, Montana
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Quaint & Wonderful”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I've seen many shows at this venue including Nickel Creek and Jewel and I only wish they had more and more shows. It is an old theater with limited seating, but it is a great, up close and personal way to see a show.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobbe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    11
    6
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Missoula, Montana, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Venue”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

The Wilma Theater is the best place in Missoula to see concerts. There is no bad seat in the house. We have seen several rock shows there and loved every one of them.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Toni-Shawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missoula, Montana, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Needs some attention”
Reviewed 31 July 2013 via mobile

The Wilma is a treasure that has been ignored. Someone needs to sink some money in her and restore her to her glory days.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missoula, Montana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An Old-Time Theater of Faded Glory”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Main theater is huge, with baroque ornamental features reminiscent of the days back in the '40s, when, as a 10-year old, I accompanied my mom & siblings to movies. The ownership has done well w/ restoration, but the glory is nearly gone.

Now, the theater schedules live rock concerts & kick-boxing matches, as well as art movies. A smaller movie theater off the lobby runs art movies, as well. If you have an evening to spend & there's a less-popular, but no less well-done movie that perhaps you've been wanting to see, this is a good time/place to do it.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Grizzoola950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Polson
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good for a movie”
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Highly recommend for a movie but NOT for a music venue if the performer tends to draw a younger crowd. I have attended several performances where large numbers of the audience congregate to the front and dance in front of the stage. This makes hearing the music almost impossible and also, unless you are upfront you cannot see the performers. I am also concerned that if a fire ever broke out, and the younger members of the audience DO smoke, it would be chaotic. The last time I was there I did ask 'security' why they allowed people to smoke and I was told, "We have no control over the crowds, were just here to break up any fights." Great place for a movie but unless you like rowdy crowds I would avoid.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Dr B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Wilma Theater also viewed

 

Been to The Wilma Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing