We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful place to visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Montana Snowbowl

Montana Snowbowl
Ranked #14 of 66 things to do in Missoula
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Montana's popular ski area features the "Paradise," a three-mile long scenic trail, and the "Grizzly," which drops skiers 2,000 vertical feet through steep terrain. Beginners will find slim pickings, but the pros will have a blast with the numerous offerings at this 950-acre skiers' haven.
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful place to visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

We went for a wedding and the view was really neat. The drive up to the resort gives you some great views of the mountains. We had the reception at the lodge and then stayed the night in the rooms there. The rooms are really small, but they are for skiing so really you are not in them much. I am not sure how the skiing would be but the resort during the summer is beautiful.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Karimllr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    23
    4
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Parkersburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“summertime visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

We visited here in July. Obviously, there was no snow and only a workman visible. Officially, it was closed. But it looked fascinating. I would like to see this during ski season. The drive to Snowbowl offered some fantastic views.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank quilter31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Review from a Southern Skiier”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

It's a quick drive from Missoula for pretty good skiing. It's a very simple place which is what I love about it. It's about SKIING, not about being pampered.

Every time I've gone, the skiing has been great!

There may only be one place to take a lunch break, but believe me, it's great! There's nothing like some edamame, pizza, and one of the best bloody mary's I've ever had!

Paradise is a great run!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mxummerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chickaloon, Alaska
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lame Mountain; Great People”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013

Snowbowl is nice that it is right by Missoula, but it's not much of a ski resort. The price is very high for usually not that great of snow, and the mountain can really get crowded later in the day.

Afterwards the day can really improve by visiting the bar for some food and local beer. Just avoid Tamarack beer as it is low quality. The people are very friendly and conversation is abundant. Make sure to spend a quarter on the dice roll for a chance to win some money.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clancy, Montana
Level Contributor
157 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“If you are in Montana - ski somewhere else!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

We were at Snowbowl for the first time this weekend for our kids' YSL ski race. It is a great hill for spectating, and we also got to watch the annual Gelande Alpine ski jumping competition, which was pretty amazing. But if you actually want to SKI - go somewhere else! There are only 2 lifts, both are slow. Very few runs all the way back to the base if you are anything but expert. Also, a single run takes about 45 minutes because of the sloooowww lifts - and you have to take both lifts to actually get to the top of the mountain.
Lodge is also very spartan to say the least. No heat, very small cafe, trash everywhere. We ate at a pizza joint in Missoula on the way home, and saw a picture titled "Snow Bowl in the 1960s." The lodge was pictured. It Looked The Same. They seriously have not updated facilities in 50 years!!!
On a positive note - the bar does have good food (wood fired pizza), and I hear, great Bloody Marys (I did not partake). So if you are hear for pizza and the bar scene, great. But again - if you want to SKI then go elsewhere!
Lift tickets, at $43 a day, are not cheap by Montana standards either.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Montana Snowbowl also viewed

 

Been to Montana Snowbowl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing