We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old, but a nice stay in Missoula”
Review of Thunderbird Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Thunderbird Motel
Ranked #26 of 40 Hotels in Missoula
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Sure, it's an older property - but the rooms have been kept clean and are roomy. Ours came with a refrigerator and microwave. The WiFi worked well (we were about halfway down the building).
I didn't like the cramped parking lot in front, but we parked our car in the back lot and that had plenty of room.There's a hallway through the building so it's not out of your way.
There is a pool and spa available - spa is plenty hot and the pool is large (but not deep). Sun deck behind the pool.
Breakfast is the usual sugar and carbs - but when they ran out of bagels, my wife got a Twinkie!
Just a short walk to campus or the historic downtown. We love the Missoula Club for their burgers and always stop at Liquid Planet for coffee before leaving town. Both are close by in the historic area. Albertson's is next door. This is my third stop here, so it can't be too bad, eh?

Room Tip: If you choose a second floor, there is no elevator and you must carry your stuff up an outside stair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (43)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2012

We really liked this motel. The staff were friendly, and the wifi was excellent. I am giving it 3 stars simply because it is a bit older and needs a bit more TLC to upgrade carpets, soft beds and furnishings. It is quiet, there is surprisingly good pool, a sun deck and a small weights room. It is excellent value for Missoula, and I would recommend it with the caveats above.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

O.K. for an overnight stay. Reasonable rate. Didn't try the poole, but acquintances ot was great.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BuggsScruggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

I was passing through with my sister and a friend, wanted to stay In Missoula and decided to try the Thunder Bird. Very nice welcome - clean room and plenty of room for the three of us. A bonus was the pool. Breakfast isn't much (we skipped it and went on down the road for a full meal), but there's a Liquid Planet coffee shop just a couple of blocks down. Very close to campus (walking distance) and the owner was very proud of her seats on the 50 yard line!

I'll stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2011

I typically a hotel snob and perfer chains, so when my husband suggested the Thunderbird, I was a little leary. when checking in, the staff was very friendly. It appears to be family run. We were gven a discount because there were no 1 bed non-smoking rooms. The room we had was very spacious - 2 beds, a table & chairs, big TV and Fridge. The Sink was right next to the bed, which was odd but it worked.
My only complaint is that the shower head was very short. I hd to duck to get my head under it.
I loved the location. We were able to walk to the Adams Center and see a concert. Loved avoiding that traffic! Albertsons is right next door and there are food joints and casinos nearby.
Would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank passaskat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2011

I was traveling through the Missoula area and had to get a room when the passes closed due to bad winter weather. I spent three nights at the Thunderbird. It's clean, quiet, and the staff is friendly. I wanted to take the bed home with me it was so comfortable. I'd stay at the Thunderbird again anytime.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank forensicanthro10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2011

It's dated, it has some settling, the occasional train at night doesn't even wake me anymore.
It's clean, has larger T.V.s good coffee in the morning, pleasant , accommodating staff. Pool and hot tub are clean. Beds are a dream, (owner pays for extra quality). Good rates (when there is no home football game) I stay there 10+ times a year. If you want all of the "amenities" that you get for $200. a night then there are at least 10 of those to choose from elsewhere in town.

Room Tip: If what u want is avail. It's yours-just ask!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Imbeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Missoula hotels
4 mi away
Econo Lodge Missoula
Econo Lodge Missoula
#20 of 40 in Missoula
186 reviews
4.2 mi away
C'mon Inn
C'mon Inn
#4 of 40 in Missoula
339 reviews
0.3 mi away
Doubletree Missoula/Edgewater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Missoula Downtown
5.7 mi away
StoneCreek Lodge Missoula
StoneCreek Lodge Missoula
#18 of 40 in Missoula
390 reviews
4.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn Missoula
La Quinta Inn Missoula
#7 of 40 in Missoula
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thunderbird Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunderbird Motel

Address: 1009 E Broadway, Missoula, MT 59802
Region: United States > Montana > Missoula
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 40 Hotels in Missoula
Price Range: £61 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Thunderbird Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Thunderbird Motel is located two blocks from I-90 at exit 105. The closest motel to the University of Montana. Just a ten minute walk to the Adams Center! There is an indoor heated pool and hot tub for the enjoyment of guests with a sun deck that over looks the beautiful clark fork river. All units include a microwave and fridge. FREE continental breakfast and FREE Wi-Fi. Ask about our 2 person Jacuzzi Suites! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Thunderbird Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thunderbird Hotel Missoula
Thunderbird Motel Missoula, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing