We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Missoula Downtown
Ranked #15 of 40 Hotels in Missoula
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We just returned from the Celtic Festival in Missoula, MT. This is our third annual summer trip to Missoula and each time we have stayed in a different hotel. We won't be doing that again! Our next trip to Missoula will involve staying at the Holiday Inn downtown! The room was very comfortable and very clean. We loved the oversize pillows on the beds.
I requested a room facing the river which was very nice; by the way it pays to belong to their travel club.
The rate was very reasonable for such a nice room. That is why this was our third hotel; we previously paid more for a room that was not as nice or comfortable at a different hotel.
The staff was awesome! Very friendly and helpful! The lobby was very nice and clean as was the rest of the hotel that we saw. Their restaurant and lounge Brooks and Browns was very nice and the cocktail prices were average.
The location allows you to easily walk to the park (were the festival was), the river and most of downtown. There is a lot of outdoor recreation around Missoula and this would be a very good "base" to operate from. We loved it! We will be back!

Room Tip: Request a river room. They overlook the river and park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Billbear56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Missoula Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Billbear56,

Thank you for your wonderful review! I am glad that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. We do have a great location and I am glad that you able to take advantage of it this year for the Celtic Festival downtown. We certainly look forward to seeing you the next time you’re in Missoula, hopefully before next summer!

Sincerely,
Amanda B.
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (515)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 515 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed here for one night during a road trip from Yellowstone to Glacier national parks. A pleasant city centre location and perfectly comfortable accommodation, but it's very much a functional business hotel, a little lacking in charm. I'm glad we had an external room and not one looking into the huge central atrium. Check-in was efficient but again a bit too business-like for a holidaying couple.

Room Tip: Try to get an external room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank EKTraveller52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Missoula Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear EKTraveller52,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review in regards to your recent stay!

I sincerely apologize that your stay was not exceptional. We do have several different types of guests that stay with us including vacationers and business. I appreciate your feedback from a vacationing perspective! If there is any additional feedback you would like to ensure we have, please contact me directly at 406-721-8550 and ask for Amanda. I love to hear feedback from our guests as it allows us the opportunity to grow and provide the experience that our guests want to receive.

I hope to hear from you!

Sincerely,
Amanda B.
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

When I travel it's all about location! Missoula is one off favorite historic towns. The only thing I wanted was to walk to downtown to enjoy the great restaurants & bars. Some I the best breweries! This hotel was perfect! Tucked away in the mountains & a two minute walk to downtown! Friendly staff & the best nights sleep I ever had!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bama86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

I called directly to the hotel to make our reservations. As a disabled traveler, I am always amazed that it appears no one ever consults with a disabled person as to accommodations. If I am in a wheel chair, how on earth am I supposed to get to a bed that is too high? Even before being disabled as a short woman, I would have had to use my luggage to step up to beds these high. Secondly, why is a handicap access room on the top floor? How, in a wheel chair, am I supposed to exit the hotel without using the elevators which we are told we should not use in case of emergency?

The bed was comfortable, but it took some effort, and using considerable muscle power by my husband, to get me in bed. The night clerk was helpful in recommending a good Chinese restaurant. HOWEVER, when I made the reservation, the clerk I talked to made mention of the amenities, including a free hot breakfast, and even sent me a picture of the bath facilities to assure me that there was a roll-in shower (and there was), and booked our AAA reservation. She made no mention that the promised hot breakfast was not available to AAA guests. We found this out the next morning.

Given all the above, I cannot recommend the hotel to disabled travelers in particular, nor would I recommend it to any other travelers because of the dissembling over the free breakfast not available to AAA guests. Nor that the disabled guest is put in a room that would be a problem should there be need for emergency exit.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Patricia Turner B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Our large family descended on Missoula for our nephew's graduation - this was THE PERFECT place to stay for everyone. Our family includes middle aged aunts and uncles, young parents, newborns, toddlers and a senior. It's sometimes hard to find a place that suits everyone - but this place did. The location can't be beat - easy to find and just steps out the door to excellent coffee, a beautiful running path, restaurants, and the Saturday Farmer's Market.

Everyone at the front desk was helpful and made check ins and check outs go smoothly. But the best service was during "the incident". We were suppose to meet for breakfast and we couldn't get a response from my 80++ year old mother-in-law. Being a catastrophizer, I imagined the worst and when we went to the front desk, they instantly helped us by giving us a duplicate key and notified the maintenance person to help us get in through the safety lock. Here is where common sense real world helpful service comes in to play. Our name wasn't on the room. The room was in someone's name - you know how it is when a bunch of you are staying in a hotel. I'm a rule person - I would have understood if they wouldn't have authorized us or would have made it difficult. But when he saw the terror in my face, he kindly helped. It all was fine - by the time we yelled enough to wake her up, the maintenance man was there (note: less than 5 min). When I told him what was going on, he said "If I knew that's what was going on, I would have come faster". Bless him. With this treatment, not only would I only stay in this hotel in Missoula, these people have a permanent place on my altar of helpful people.

The restaurant was fine - served our many likes and ages and servers were very kind when we left messes. This place was even better than staying in a family home, because we had places to gather, good food, lots of parking, but they took care of sheets and towels.

Thank you, thank you, thank you - and we have another graduation next year, so we'll be back!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MadEater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Missoula Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear MadEater,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Missoula Downtown!

I am so happy to hear that you had a great time with your stay during your nephew's graduation. I am very happy that you allowed our team to be a part of the important time in your lives. We highly value your appreciation of the level of service that we provided. I will be sure to pass your gratitude and comments on to the team!

We definitely look forward to seeing you and your family next year for another graduation!

Sincerely,
Amanda B.
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I was in town for a few days to run in the Missoula Marathon and selected this hotel because of its great location to everything and near the race finish line.

I had a very spacious king bed corner room on the top floor. Very quiet, room was spotless and the bed very comfortable. Great view of the river from my room!

Hotel has plentiful free parking and everything is in easy walking distance, including the river trail, downtown, restaurants.

The onsite restaurant was very good. they have indoor as well as outdoor patio dining, with a full menu and bar service. Only problem during my stay was the restaurant was closed on my last day/night due to mechanical problems. This put a bit of a crimp in my eating post-race, as many of the other restaurants in town are closed on Sundays and I really needed to "refuel" after running the marathon. I did find a new place just up the street that was open and had great sandwiches.

I would definitely stay here again if I'm ever back in Missoula.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agmom98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Missoula Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Agmom98,

Thank you very much for your recent review! I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us during the Missoula Marathon. I do apologize that our restaurant being out of commission affected your stay. I do appreciate your understanding and I am glad that you were able to find another alternative at one of the fantastic downtown restaurants.

We definitely look forward to seeing you again next year if you plan to run in the 2015 Missoula Marathon!

Sincerely,
Amanda B.
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Shame we got one of their 'internal' rooms which have only one natural light source - a very small window facing a central atrium. This meant the room was very dark and consequently it felt somewhat prison-like.

Other than that:
- desk staff were friendly
- location was good - short walk to down town
- bed was very comfy

I can recommend this hotel but I would insist on a room facing the outside of the building.

Room Tip: Insist on a room with windows facing the outside world. Rooms with internal window are dark and odd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank StuieG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Missoula Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear StuieG,

Thank you for your recent review! Our atrium facing rooms do have slightly different features than our outside facing rooms, such as a full length sliding glass door that opens up to a balcony that overlooks the center of the hotel. I apologize that this didn't provide a sufficient amount of natural light! Our river/park view rooms would be a great option for you as they definitely have tons of natural light as well as a wonderful view of the Bess Reed Park and the Clark Fork River. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the front desk team, the location and the comfort of our beds!

I hope that you give one of our view rooms a try the next time you’re in Missoula!

Sincerely,
Amanda B.
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Missoula hotels
0.4 mi away
Doubletree Missoula/Edgewater
3.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Grant Creek Inn
0.7 mi away
Red Lion Inn & Suites Missoula
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Missoula
3.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn Missoula
La Quinta Inn Missoula
#10 of 40 in Missoula
505 reviews
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Missoula NW
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Missoula Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Missoula Downtown

Address: 200 S Pattee St, Missoula, MT 59802-4467
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Missoula
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Missoula
Price Range: £85 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Missoula Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Missoula Downtown is located in the heart of Missoula, Montana, nestled against the scenic Clark Fork River. We offer superior hotel rooms & suites for guests, whether you are in Missoula on business, a family vacation or for a special occasion. Enjoy an extensive list of fabulous hotel services, from our indoor pool, hot tub and sauna, to a cutting-edge fitness center and full-service business center. Brooks & Browns Bar & Grill, our on-site restaurant and lounge, is a destination hot-spot for guests and locals alike.Are you planning a wedding, special event or business meeting in Missoula? Take advantage of our spacious meeting and event facilities and our expert services, including professional catering. For wedding parties, the Holiday Inn Missoula Downtown offers an exquisite atmosphere adjacent to the scenic Bess Reed Park, along with superior accommodations...perfect for the bride and groom and their guests!At the Holiday Inn Missoula Downtown, you’ll be close enough to participate in the most popular outdoor activities and exciting local events, no matter the season! You can walk or bike alongside the Clark Fork River, just a stone's throw from our back doors, or travel just a few minutes to the Blackfoot or Bitterroot Rivers for world-class fishing. Enjoy outstanding Montana hospitality, a perfect location and exceptionally comfortable accommodations at the Holiday Inn Missoula Downtown! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Missoula Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Missoula Downtown At The Park Hotel Missoula
Missoula Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Missoula Downtown Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing