We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice/Average Facilities but Cleaning Service Needs To Step It Up”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Red Lion Inn & Suites Missoula
Ranked #33 of 39 Hotels in Missoula
Corinth, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice/Average Facilities but Cleaning Service Needs To Step It Up”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Every day was an adventure...day 1: arrived to a bed with DIRT in it, day 2: room did not recieve maid services, and day 3: woke up to a tripped circuit breaker (no electricity) and room did not recieve maid services, again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelBlueBlue123123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RL_Customer_Care, Corporate Customer Care Department at Red Lion Inn & Suites Missoula, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
We value each and every one of our guests and I truly apologize that we failed to provide you the best possible service. We are displeased to see that there were some areas of concern regarding the lack of housekeeping service during your stay. We will certainly address your concerns with our housekeeping staff.
You are a valued guest and we hope to have the opportunity to provide you better service in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    105
    59
    59
    43
See reviews for
92
82
31
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kalispell, Montana
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2013

My boyfriend brought me here for my birthday, to get a weekend of relaxation as I am 6 months pregnant. He specifically booked it for the hot tub,and only upon check in did we learn it was out of order. We were not allowed to cancel our reservation or be upgraded.
Then, beginning at 10am housekeeping came by every half hour , when check-out is at noon! There is no "do not disturb" sign, luckily the extra bolt works.
We will not be staying at any red lions again, especially this one.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RL_Customer_Care, Corporate Customer Care Department at Red Lion Inn & Suites Missoula, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Please accept my sincerest apologies on behalf of our hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your experiences at our property. We take your concerns seriously and the fact that you were not advised of the hot tub being out of order, is disappointing.
Your feedback is appreciated and we will make note of this situation to discuss with our team. Thank you for being a valued guest and we look forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Missoula hotels

Southern Interior British Columbia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We were disappointed in our stay at the Red Lion in Missoula. Although it is centrally located and an easy walk to downtown, it is in need of some attention. The rooms are dated; A/C leaks; the stairwells to get to the second floor are dirty and unkept. The pool is not bad and we could take beverages to the seating area. We have stayed in other Red Lion hotels (like Lewiston) and they are great - this one needs a facelift and a cleaning.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank My_missy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RL_Customer_Care, Corporate Customer Care Department at Red Lion Inn & Suites Missoula, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
We value each and every one of our guests and I truly apologize that we failed to provide you the best possible service. We are displeased to see that there were some areas of concern regarding lack of cleanliness throughout the hotel and that the air conditioning unit in your room leaked. This is definitely not the type of stay we want you to have and these issues will be addressed accordingly.
You are a valued guest and we hope to have the opportunity to provide you better service in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moses Lake, Washington
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We arrived for a 2 night booked stay. Never again, not here. Not sure if the bed sheets had been slept in or if they had laid in the dryer for a few days, extremely bunched up and wrinkled. The freezer portion of the refrigerator had brown icky stuff that had melted and frozen and dripped on out of the freezer onto the frig trays. The first night there were no wash cloths....we were ready to shower, I called the front desk to be told if we wanted some, to come get them. The worst offense of all was there was a long drip of blood on the lower tank of the toilet. Found a card stating who had cleaned the room and I left a long hand written note telling about things that needed taken care of. When exiting room the next morning, there was a maid right in front of our door. She said she was going to clean our room, so I stated all the issues that needed attention, including the freezer melt and blood drip. My husband took out a generous tip and gave to her, which she responded with all smiles. We left to shop and sight see, came back that evening, none of the cleaning issues had taken place. There were wash cloths, but still the scum in frig and worse of all the blood. We should have just left then and there, we were upset, but it was LATE, so we contended. The next morning at check out, I very kindly and appropriately addressed the issues. The front desk clerk didn't seem at all concerned, but offered to take off $7.50 a night. Was not going to argue, but in all reality, there should have been a substantial refund for at least one night. Upon returning home, I contacted the Red Lion customer service. Again, not a lot of concern regarding the state of the dirty room and issues. What was offered was for us to join the "Red Lion Club" and be given points towards a stay. NO THANK YOU. That just didn't do it for us. Not after staying in filfth. We would have felt differently had an offer to refund the full price of at least one night be offered. These folks do not care about customer service, quality or cleaniness. The Department of Health would not be happy to see motels conducting business like this one.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RL_Customer_Care, Corporate Customer Care Department at Red Lion Inn & Suites Missoula, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Please accept my sincerest apologies on behalf of our hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your experiences at our property. We take your concerns seriously and the fact that your room was not properly cleaned after speaking to our housekeeping staff, is very disappointing.
This is definitely not the type of stay we want you to have! Please be assured that we will make note of this situation to discuss with our team. Thank you for being a valued guest and we look forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

I arrived at 2 o'clock to be informed that check-in could not be until after 3. This is a common policy and not specifically troubling except that it was handled in a most unresponsive manner. I went away and came back. I did not realize there are showers only - no tubs. Although the room was clean enough - the portable air conditioner was only somewhat helpful.

I tried to get ice -- neither ice machine appeared to be working and the employees (housekeeping personnel) felt that if I 'came back in a few minutes' there might be some ice. But the weather is hot and the demand must be high. I called the desk and was informed much the same.

I checked out in the morning. At approximately noon I realized I might have left an envelope behind. After one call to housekeeping, I was informed the room had not yet been cleaned - but they would let me know if they found anything. I asked if I might not look at the room myself -- certainly not.

In general I found the staff to be less than concerned about guest comfort and more concerned about perceived rules. Perhaps this comes from a management team -- perhaps not.

In no case could I recommend this accommodation. I have enjoyed my stay at other Red Lion Inns -- but not this one.

Room Tip: Find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denver159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RL_Customer_Care, Corporate Customer Care Department at Red Lion Inn & Suites Missoula, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment about your recent stay with us. I do apologize that our front desk did not provide you with friendly and welcoming service. I would like to apologize for multiple ice machines not working during your stay as well. Please be assured that these issues will be addressed accordingly.
We strive to provide all our guests with the high quality of service that we maintain throughout all of our hotels. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to better serve you on your next visit.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2013 via mobile

We got to the motel-expecting a lot more than was here. They put us on second floor and honestly the temperature in our room was 90 degrees with the ac on. Management might look to see if the attic is insulated as the heat radiated down from the top. They tried a different room no better 10:30 it was finally down to 77 degrees

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Windyhilltrucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RL_Customer_Care, Corporate Customer Care Department at Red Lion Inn & Suites Missoula, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to comment about your recent stay with us. We apologize for the temperature of your guest room and that is was uncomfortably warm. I want to apologize for this being an issue in both of the rooms you were checked into. We certainly understand why that would have an effect on the quality of your stay.
We value you as a guest and we are always looking for ways to enhance our guest experience. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to better serve you on your next visit.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

Ima fan of red lion cause iI like the rRetro feel of these older chains. I like the bigger rooms and the outdoor pools. The bed are very comfortable, they have a great breakfast, and the kids love it. Check in was a little slow, due to training and the hot tub was out of order, but who needs a hot tub when it's 90.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattkingston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Missoula hotels
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Missoula Downtown
0.9 mi away
Broadway Inn Conference Center
1.0 mi away
Doubletree Missoula/Edgewater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#11 of 39 in Missoula
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
3.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn Missoula
La Quinta Inn Missoula
#12 of 39 in Missoula
4.0 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
1.2 mi away
Thunderbird Motel
Thunderbird Motel
#26 of 39 in Missoula
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Inn & Suites Missoula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Inn & Suites Missoula

Property: Red Lion Inn & Suites Missoula
Address: 700 W Broadway St, Missoula, MT 59802-3926
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Missoula
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 39 Hotels in Missoula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Lion Inn & Suites Missoula 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located off I-90 at Orange Street exit, near City Center and 10 minutes from the airport, the Red Lion Inn Missoula is close to Missoula MT downtown shopping, restaurants and galleries. Riverfront Park is across the street with walking and biking paths, a tennis court and fishing pond.Our 76 spacious and well-appointed guest rooms feature all the amenities you would expect including, Red Lion's signature plush Sealy pillowtop beds, Eco Fresh Environmentally Responsible Products (ERP), complimentary parking, complimentary wi-fi, seasonal outdoor swimming pool, a fitness facility and valet laundry services. We also offer our guests an outstanding complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and feature 640 square feet of meeting space for groups up to 30.You won't have to go far to find great restaurants, unique shopping opportunities, or even adventure in the great outdoors. Play golf at one of four public courses or fish, ski or hunt. Glacier National Park and Yellowstone National Park are both nearby.Make us your home base as you work or explore our beautiful city. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the Red Lion Inn Missoula is committed to providing care, comfort and value during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Lion Inn & Suites Missoula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Missoula
Red Lion Missoula
Missoula Red Lion
Red Lion Inn & Suites Missoula Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing