We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't stay here again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Lion Inn & Suites Missoula
Ranked #32 of 40 Hotels in Missoula
Reviewed 8 September 2013

If we hadn't traveled 9 hours and checked in at midnight I would've asked for a refund and found another hotel. We had a great experience at the Kalispel MT Red Lion so thought this would be a good choice. The room smelled of stale smoke, I found someone's contact lens on a sink faucet, there were whisker shavings behind the second sink faucet (queen bed room and it had two sinks--didn't understand that one). The maid didn't vacuum; if she did she would have found the litter stuck to the air conditioner (which also made wierd noises when it turned on). I told the front desk clerk about the room; all he could say is "Thank you for letting us know."

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LBrown69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RL_Customer_Care, Corporate Customer Care Department at Red Lion Inn & Suites Missoula, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Thank you taking the time to comment about your recent stay with us. I do apologize that your room was not properly cleaned and that it had an odor as well. This is definitely not the type of stay we want you to have and I apologize that our staff was not more accomodating when you brought this to their attention. Please be assured this will be addressed with our housekeeping staff.
Thank you for being a valued guest and we hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (347)
There are newer reviews for Red Lion Inn & Suites Missoula
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 348 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2013

Nothing special about the Red Lion. We stayed because we had a wedding to attend in Missoula. Room was clean however very outdated. Took a room on the top floor and away from the pool as it was packed with lots of families and their little ones having a good time. The good is it's within walking distance of the main part of old town Missoula, which we spent a few hours just walking around and taking in the sites. Continental breakfast was very simple and left me with no desire to give it a try. "Some of the food items were sitting out when we check in the afternoon before".

Room Tip: I rated the Kids activities very good, due to the large pool area. Stayed on the 2nd floor so had ve...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovetotravel201011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I've stayed here about 5 times.

Pros:
-By far the best location in Missoula for convenience of travel, at least for my purposes, as I can access St. Pats, the U, and Community Medical Center easily. It's also a short trip to the Good Food Store. Safeway is a block away, and downtown dining is close.
-Staff is always fantastic.
-Free breakfast isn't bad!
-Clean despite the smell?

Cons:
-The downstairs rooms are small, dark, and smell kinda funky.
-Outdated TVs.
-No indoor pool, though the outdoor pool is deep.
-Beds are small because of the size of the rooms.

Unable to rate:
-Not sure if it has an exercise room or business center.
-Not sure if it is pet friendly.

This property isn't the end of the world, but if you're going to stay here, make sure to get a larger, upstairs room. It's worth the price. This is the worst Red Lion I have stayed at, and it's because it's just a very old property. There's not much they can do, but they do treat you well and it's fine if you just need a convenient location.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a larger, upstairs room. It's well worth the extra money.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Halcyon9000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We had an amazing experience at the Red Lion in Missoula. We'd had a bad experience at the Red Lion in Post Falls, Idaho two days before and almost passed up this Red Lion. So glad we didn't! The staff was great, super friendly and cheerful. Felt like they actually wanted to have us stay there. They've recently gone through a remodel and the lobby feels like a ski lodge with a big fireplace and pretty woodwork on the front desk. The free breakfast the next day was tasty and fresh: eggs, bacon, waffles, bagels, cereal, coffee, juice and fruit. If you need to stay in Missoula, the Red Lion will not disappoint.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tawnyagurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Portable air conditioner took awhile to cool off room...no hot water when showering only warm at best... Ceiling in bathroom needed a washing...woke up with a lower back ache from bed. Breakfast was decent. Over priced for small sized room and put dated.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisssssaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Perhaps the hot summers are a test for hotels that try to get by with adequate AC equipment. We've stayed at this inn before and found it perfectly functional, a good value in the downtown core but in July with the temps in mid 85 range, the air conditioner was not up to task and the room stayed hot all night. Everything else worked.... well there a very slow drain in the bathroom sink. I still consider the motel to be a place worth staying as it is quiet, has easy access and seems well run but the maintenance seems to be off a bit.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Clean room. Close to downtown. Average breakfast. The check in staff were helpful. The hotel is across the street from the river. Makes for a nice place to walk. The in room AC units are very noisy however. I was above the pool and thought the noise might bother me but it was relatively a none issue.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fastacuda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Missoula hotels
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Missoula Downtown
2.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#13 of 40 in Missoula
246 reviews
4.5 mi away
StoneCreek Lodge Missoula
StoneCreek Lodge Missoula
#17 of 40 in Missoula
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn Missoula
La Quinta Inn Missoula
#11 of 40 in Missoula
495 reviews
1.0 mi away
Doubletree Missoula/Edgewater
0.9 mi away
Broadway Inn Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Inn & Suites Missoula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Inn & Suites Missoula

Address: 700 W Broadway St, Missoula, MT 59802-3926
Region: United States > Montana > Missoula
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 40 Hotels in Missoula
Price Range: £57 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Lion Inn & Suites Missoula 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located off I-90 at Orange Street exit, near City Center and 10 minutes from the airport, the Red Lion Inn Missoula is close to Missoula MT downtown shopping, restaurants and galleries. Riverfront Park is across the street with walking and biking paths, a tennis court and fishing pond.Our 76 spacious and well-appointed guest rooms feature all the amenities you would expect including, Red Lion's signature plush Sealy pillowtop beds, Eco Fresh Environmentally Responsible Products (ERP), complimentary parking, complimentary wi-fi, seasonal outdoor swimming pool, a fitness facility and valet laundry services. We also offer our guests an outstanding complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and feature 640 square feet of meeting space for groups up to 30.You won't have to go far to find great restaurants, unique shopping opportunities, or even adventure in the great outdoors. Play golf at one of four public courses or fish, ski or hunt. Glacier National Park and Yellowstone National Park are both nearby.Make us your home base as you work or explore our beautiful city. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the Red Lion Inn Missoula is committed to providing care, comfort and value during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Lion Inn & Suites Missoula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Missoula
Red Lion Missoula
Missoula Red Lion
Red Lion Inn & Suites Missoula Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing