We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't be misled by the exterior; it's a nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Lion Inn & Suites Missoula
Ranked #33 of 39 Hotels in Missoula
Helena MT
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't be misled by the exterior; it's a nice place”
Reviewed 17 February 2009

The Red Lion looks pretty cheesy when you first pull in, especially in Fall when leaves tend to pile up around the walkways or winter when the parking lot is alternately slushy and icy. It's not really downtown, despite its claims, so don't imagine you'll be taking any leisurely strolls, and stay away from the Chinese restaurant on the premises unless your idea of superb Chinese cuisine features deep fried things in bright red sauces, in which case you'll enjoy it (even then, Chinese takeout from the Safeway next door is better). But once you get into your room, it's one of the nicer central Missoula hotels, second only to the Doubletree. The beds are great, the linens and bath supplies excellent, the bathroom very clean, the heating and cooling responsive, and the chairs and ottomans are perfect for working or relaxing. Like many Missoula hotels, it occasionally has Internet issues --spotty wireless, in particular-- but when it's working, which it usually is, the signal is very strong. The breakfast is okay, and the coffee is very good.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spatialgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    108
    65
    62
    45
See reviews for
100
88
31
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jeneerific
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2008

I went to Missoula for a wedding and decided to stay at this motel due to the great reviews it has received. The evening front desk clerk was very hospitable and was quite humorous. She placed us on the first floor right across from the pool area. The room was large and very nicely decorated. The beds were exceptionally comfortable, the counters were full of delightful toiletries, and there was a large bathtub/shower. I was also very pleased that there was a fair sized fitness center which was right next to our room. The complimentary breakfast had a delicious variety of fruits, cereals, and muffins. There were also hot breakfast burritos and Belgium waffles that were quite tasty. There was coffee in the lobby 24/7 as well as chocolate chip cookies in the evenings. I had a very pleasant stay and was sad to leave. I will definitely be staying here again.:)

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeneerific
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2008

We stayed here one night on our way through Montana. Reservation was made over the phone just before we arrived. The girl who checked us in was okay, but not overly friendly. The area seemed a bit dicey, and the property is not new and a bit out-of-date. However, the room was large and clean. There was a large bathroom, with sink/mirror/shower stall and toilet. Then there was an additional sink/mirror/counter outside the bathroom. I like not having to wait to do my make-up and hair while someone is taking a shower. Good water pressure in the shower. TV worked fine and my daughter and husband did use their computers while there, but the service was not great.

The breakfast was okay, but the area to eat in was so small that we had a difficult time finding a place to sit down and eat. Would not be pleasant in the middle of summer with lots of guests trying to eat at the same time.

All in all, not bad for a quick nights' sleep.

  • Liked — Size and cleanliness of room
  • Disliked — Surrounding area was a bit run down
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank gotonodj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2008

We selected this hotel because we wanted to be walking distance to downtown activities. Despite the record heat during our stay, walking around town from the hotel was not bad. The Safeway next door was convenient.

Our room was acceptable, a bit pricey, but it is Summer in Montana. Our view was of a stairwell. The complimentary breakfast was fine with all the usuals and Belgian waffles. Staff members were friendly. Free parking, of course.

  • Liked — Proximity to downtown
  • Disliked — Price and limited view from room
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank timer13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BC
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2008

Our experience at this hotel was wonderful!! It is an older property but the rooms are large, clean, and tastefully decorated. The property was well-maintained and it was wonderful! The price is very reasonable also.

There is a wonderful Chinese restaurant on the property - great food and a waiter with a super sense of humor!!

The continental breakfast was superb with a huge variety including waffles, hot breakfast patties and egg burritos. We were sorry we were only staying 1 night.

  • Liked — large rooms with great decor for reasonable price
  • Disliked — average location - OK for a one-nighter but need a car to get around
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chardBc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idaho
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2008

We reserved a room at this hotel after reading postive reviews and viewing pics online. We were interested in an outdoor pool. The pool and spa looked lovely when we arrived and we were looking forward to enjoying them. We'd requested a room with a bathtub on the first floor near the pool, but we were given a room with a shower. We were then told that there are no bathtubs on the first floor. The room was quite large, clean and well decorated so we overlooked the lack of a bathtub.
Soon we found that the advertised high speed internet was not working. We were told it should be on soon but that was not the case. We had no internet service at all, which is imperative for our business. The woman at the lobby told us it had been in and out for two weeks. She was unsympathetic to our concerns but gave a a card to call the company responsible for their internet service. They told us the motel had faulty equipment and they were "trying to find someone to get out there". They said they might be able to get it to come on for an hour. By midnight we had no service and decided to go to another hotel. They agreed not to charge us for the room, but glared at us and did not apologize in any way.
It's a shame that this lovely motel is ruined by poor customer service.

  • Liked — The room and pool
  • Disliked — The lack of internet service and poor attitude of the staff
  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Jewel333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Missoula hotels

Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2008

Good price and one of the most comfortable beds I've every slept on. Comfortable pillows too. Friendly staff. Close to the rail line but I didn't notice it. Good TV (not flat screen) and decent channel selection. WiFi is free but not strong. Bathroom stuff is very good, much better than most hotels costing much more. Walking distance to downtown and university - though that is a longer walk. Straight shot to the airport. Free breakfast, but you pretty much get what you pay for.

  • Liked — comfortable bed, clean, location.
  • Disliked — weak wifi, breakfast
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank 8337660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Missoula hotels
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Missoula Downtown
0.9 mi away
Broadway Inn Conference Center
1.0 mi away
Doubletree Missoula/Edgewater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#23 of 39 in Missoula
146 reviews
2.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#12 of 39 in Missoula
232 reviews
4.5 mi away
StoneCreek Lodge Missoula
StoneCreek Lodge Missoula
#17 of 39 in Missoula
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Inn & Suites Missoula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Inn & Suites Missoula

Property: Red Lion Inn & Suites Missoula
Address: 700 W Broadway St, Missoula, MT 59802-3926
Region: United States > Montana > Missoula
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 39 Hotels in Missoula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Lion Inn & Suites Missoula 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located off I-90 at Orange Street exit, near City Center and 10 minutes from the airport, the Red Lion Inn Missoula is close to Missoula MT downtown shopping, restaurants and galleries. Riverfront Park is across the street with walking and biking paths, a tennis court and fishing pond.Our 76 spacious and well-appointed guest rooms feature all the amenities you would expect including, Red Lion's signature plush Sealy pillowtop beds, Eco Fresh Environmentally Responsible Products (ERP), complimentary parking, complimentary wi-fi, seasonal outdoor swimming pool, a fitness facility and valet laundry services. We also offer our guests an outstanding complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and feature 640 square feet of meeting space for groups up to 30.You won't have to go far to find great restaurants, unique shopping opportunities, or even adventure in the great outdoors. Play golf at one of four public courses or fish, ski or hunt. Glacier National Park and Yellowstone National Park are both nearby.Make us your home base as you work or explore our beautiful city. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the Red Lion Inn Missoula is committed to providing care, comfort and value during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Red Lion Inn & Suites Missoula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Missoula
Red Lion Missoula
Missoula Red Lion
Red Lion Inn & Suites Missoula Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing