We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful clean little place near Quinn's Hot Springs”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dew Duck Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Plains
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dew Duck Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Plains B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
373 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Beautiful clean little place near Quinn's Hot Springs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013 via mobile

This is one of our favorite get aways near home. We stay at the Dew Duck Inn, have breakfast across the street at Heathers Country Kitchen and hit Quinn's Hot Springs for a great inexpensive weekend Montana style!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MontanaLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    15
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
18
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Castle Cove, Australia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

We stopped here for a night on the way to Glacier National Park. We were greeted by the extremely friendly owner who showed us the very nicely decorated, comfortable room. Also the restaurant across the road (Heather's ?) was great and good value. The only downside is that the trains all seem to hoot their whistles about 3 times when passing through Plains, which woke me up a couple of times.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael-Se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coeur D Alene
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

I stayed here over the 4th of July weekend in 2012 and it was great. Clean, comfortable, friendly, and they took my two Jack Russell Terriers without comment. The air conditioning was such a welcome relief after camping in the heat for two days. I would recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BillieGross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

Very charming, hometown establishment in the quiet town. Management is very friendly. Nice area for children to play. Benches outside to enjoy the evening. Excellent location with great places to eat within walking distance.

Price was about 20 dollars more compared to similar motels we have stayed in, but in a small town there are not many other options.

Cons: uncomfortable beds and pillows, no toiletries (but available at front desk if you ask), Internet access is really spotty, rooms are not spacious.
Pros: family rooms available with bunk beds, fridge/microwave, satelight TV, each room has an outside bench, nicely decorated

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelersWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

Could not ask for more! FRIENDLY owners...CLEAN ROOM...great rate! My boys loved they grassy area with tire swing and the bunkbeds! They were blowing off steam running around outside each evening. Nice little bbq area allowed us to get away from restaurants. The owners even have kitchen supplies for us. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VeryHappyFamilyof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coppell, Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

We had a wonderful stay here for a reasonable price. We had a clean, lovely room that even impressed my wife. Now, if you want fancy things, a pool, or other facilities, then this place isn't for you. It is small, only 9 rooms, but does the job of providing a good night's stay exceptionally well. The owners live on site and were very friendly and helpful. Their recommendation of the "Butcher's Nook" for breakfast was outstanding. (A Mennonite family that serves some excellent breakfast and lunch for very reasonable prices and only 1 block away). If I ever get back in that area again (we were visiting Glacier NP), we will definitely stay here!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank txbenton4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012 via mobile

PROS: The owners were friendly, funny & very helpful. That's something we rarely experience in one of the big chain hotels.
The room was tastefully decorated and was spotless.
The owners recommended we go to Butcher's Nook for breakfast. It's a short walk down the road. Look for the plain, beige metal building tucked back off the road between two gas stations. The food was excellent, especially the fresh baked rolls! It's a Mennonite owned & run restaurant/bakery/meat shop.

CONS: The mattress was good but a little too firm compared to our pillowtop mattress at home. The motel is near the road so you will hear traffic, and there is a train that travels through the area that blows its horn. We turned the fan on high and I used my earplugs. I slept reasonably well.
At $69 after tax, it turned out to be a great deal for my husband & I. If you stay in Glacier National Park accommodations, you will find yourself yearning for The Dew Duck Inn's quality & price.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kathiediane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plains
18.1 mi away
Big Sky Motel
Big Sky Motel
#1 of 1 in Superior
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
15.4 mi away
Little River Motel
Little River Motel
#3 of 3 in Saint Regis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
15.9 mi away
Rocky Point Ranch
Rocky Point Ranch
#1 of 3 in Thompson Falls
5.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
Falls Motel
Falls Motel
#2 of 2 in Thompson Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
14.5 mi away
Alameda's Hot Springs Retreat
Alameda's Hot Springs Retreat
#1 of 2 in Hot Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dew Duck Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dew Duck Inn

Property: Dew Duck Inn
Address: 340 East Railroad Ave, PO Box 1098, Plains, MT 59859
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Plains
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Plains
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Dew Duck Hotel Plains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing