We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A 50s motel that is better than many luxury hotels”
Review of Dew Duck Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Plains
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dew Duck Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Plains B&B and Inns
Washington State
Level Contributor
113 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“A 50s motel that is better than many luxury hotels”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

What must have been a humble 50s motel has been transformed into charming accommodation by its creative and hardworking owners. The Dew Duck Inn is located on the outskirts of the little town of Plains. It is a great stopping point on the way to Glacier National Park.

The outside was beautified with lots of flower pots and hanging baskets . My room was a good size - two queen beds. The décor was unique and charming - very unexpected. The bathroom was spotlessly clean. The room had a flat screen TV, free HBO, free strong wifi, frig, and microwave. There was a good window AC (back window) which I turned it off. There is great little diner across the street. I recommend their breakfast. Downsides: the Dew Duck Inn is on a busy road. I was concerned about the noise but it was non-existent between 10 pm and 6 am. I also heard some train sounds but they were minimal. Overall the noise was not a problem.

The price was about what I would have expected to pay for a low end motel. I highly recommend the Dew Duck Inn. They provide incredibly good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank KerryBorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    15
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
18
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

This is a great place and all of the good reviews hit home. A great stop for familes headed to glacier only a few hours away and much cheaper than anything closer to the park. Very clean with a retro feel. Hand made curtains and blanket in the room with bunk beds. Tire swing in side yard was fun.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mikegoodtimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Springs, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The accommodations and hospitality where awesome. Erich & Charlotte went out of their way to ensure our comfort, enjoyment and relaxation during our 3 day stay. The room was clean and nicely decorated, like you would provide for visitors at your own house. They were very knowledgeable about the surrounding area, and even loaned us their kayaks for a morning on the river. If you want honest, friendly and sincere service in the Plains area I would look no farther the the Dew Duck Inn. We can't wait to be able to return some day.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Larry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The beds are very comfortable, and everything is very clean and tidy. The decor is very homey which is a refreshing change of pace. The people are so friendly, helpful and warm. You cannot go wrong staying here.

Room Tip: The rooms are all great. Make sure to book ahead, it fills up fast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ShellyT1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

My husband and I stayed here over the Valentine's weekend with our nephew and his wife. We loved it the owners are friendly and very accommodating. Nice clean rooms. Great beds, close to both Hot Springs and Quinn's. Erich and Charlotte are outgoing and a pleasure to talk to, they know the area and are very informative. We are going back in March with the kids. I would recommend this motel to everyone who is traveling in the area. Very family friendly. Thank you helping to make our weekend so wonderful. David and Terri Songer, Gordy Jr.and Teresa Reid.

Room Tip: All ground floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tsonger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

I've been meaning to post a review of the Dew Duck Inn ever since visiting last August (2013). Clean, cute, far more effort in decor than any hotel or motel, ever. The owners are personable and very helpful in sharing what to see and do in any direction you're travelling. So glad we got his advice, or we'd have missed some of the most impressive trees we've ever seen. (And we're from Western Washington, which boasts some pretty great evergreens!) Great job, Dew Duck Inn!

Room Tip: I think they'd all be equally good. It's a small place, perhaps only a dozen rooms anyway?
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kelly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rexburg, Idaho
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Same nice things to say as the last review we wrote. Everything is top shelf in every way. You just can't go wrong by staying at Dew Duck Inn. Again, we have referred them to other people and they have all said practically the same things (The best place we stayed on our trip.) One of the groups we told was a married couple that were taking their widowed mothers on a trip to Canada. If we are any where near there, we will always stay at Dew Duck Inn.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are comfortable and super clean. It's kind of like staying at Grandma's ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kdbeck1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plains
18.1 mi away
Big Sky Motel
Big Sky Motel
#1 of 1 in Superior
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
15.4 mi away
Little River Motel
Little River Motel
#3 of 3 in Saint Regis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
15.9 mi away
Rocky Point Ranch
Rocky Point Ranch
#1 of 3 in Thompson Falls
5.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
Falls Motel
Falls Motel
#2 of 2 in Thompson Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
14.5 mi away
Alameda's Hot Springs Retreat
Alameda's Hot Springs Retreat
#1 of 2 in Hot Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dew Duck Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dew Duck Inn

Property: Dew Duck Inn
Address: 340 East Railroad Ave, PO Box 1098, Plains, MT 59859
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Plains
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Plains
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Dew Duck Hotel Plains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing