We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!!!”

Elkhorn Hot Springs
Ranked #2 of 3 things to do in Polaris
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The perfect place to take a dip to soothe tired muscles.
Billings, Montana
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful!!!”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Love being out in the middle of no where soak in a hot spring enjoying the beauty of the landscape around me

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank RJohnson1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    19
    5
    7
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Very relaxing after a day digging crystals. I hear it is best in the winter time after a day skiing at Maverick Mountain - hoping to make it back to experience that for myself!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tucker G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great location, but VERY run down”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We search out and love to find out-of-the-way places and don't expect or care that much about luxurious accommodations, but this place is nearly held together by bailing wire and scotch tape. What potential it has. The 2 inside toilets aren't replenished or even looked at as both of them were out of paper towels and toilet paper for 2 of the 3 days that we stayed there. The shower facilities are about 1/2 block away in the hot springs pool area. Not a MAJOR problem, but with the road between the two buildings being so dusty, you're a bit covered in dust on the way back to your room. The pools are THICK with green slime at the cooler ends. I expected a BIT of algae as sun will do that to an un-chlorinated pool, but, WOW, it was so thick, it was creepy. Jackson, the evening cook, was quite a unexpected delight. That man knows how to prepare unbelievable dishes. Don't bother with the lodge's buffet in the morning. Jackson doesn't do the morning fare. If you do go for their buffet, the cold cereal is your best bet. We liked to spend the early evening hours on the hotel's front porch visiting with the few other guests, but be prepared. You WILL be serving yourself as nobody comes out to check on you. Bring a wet dishrag to wipe off your table. I don't think they get a wipe but once a year. Like I said before...SUCH potential. I wish the owner gave a damn.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena, MT
Level 6 Contributor
975 reviews
262 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 465 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We have been here many times over the years. Sometimes it is clean, sometimes not so good. Depends on who the current owners are.

Very rustic and a decent restaurant. Close to Crystal Park which is amazing and the ghost town of Coolidge which is very nice. Lots of trails and off the beaten path between the East and West Pioneers. The local ski area is pretty funky and we had a Moose in the lift line with us one New Years Day, where but in Montana?

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank vintagetrailer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bozeman MT
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Funky & fun”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I met friends here for the weekend and loved it. No, it's not fancy- those folks need to go the Big Sky-but really nice people, nice enough cabin and killer homemade apple pie! We were there right after they opened back up for the season, so the hot springs were really clean. Food was basic and tasty. The one thing I'd suggest is that they replace the bed- lumpy and hard.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank janeyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Elkhorn Hot Springs also viewed

 

Been to Elkhorn Hot Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing