We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Fun Little Place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Polebridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
North Fork Hostel and Square Peg Ranch
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Fun Little Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

We ended up at the North Fork Hostel randomly at night in the off season when looking for a place to stay before a backpacking trip in Glacier. Oliver was kind enough to offer us a place to stay despite us showing up without a reservation. We stayed in the Goat Chalet which was a quant little rustic cabin type deal. We woke up and cooked some breakfast in the cutest kitchen ever and then made a stop by the Polebridge Mercantile for some excellent baked goods. So Oliver is a wonderful host and the location is like nothing else I've experienced. A great place to stay if you're interested in visiting Polebridge or the nearby portion of Glacier Park.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregory G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    5
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
10
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
110 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

We just spent a night up at the North Fork Hostel and decided to splurge and get the Tepee because that just sounded so charming. For fifty bucks, we could have eaten at the North Fork Saloon and slept out under the stars where there may have been fewer mosquitos! It seemed as if they swarmed us all night and neither of us slept. We spoke to the couple in the other tepee the next day and they had a similar experience.
Polebridge is wonderful and well worth the drive but I have to say - pitch a tent and save your dough for the pastries in the morning at the Mercantile! :)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MTmaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

I LOVE the North Fork Hostel. I recommend the Green Zucchini, which is super cheap and really fun to stay in. I actually went there for a week one year, and I had to come back the next year because it was so amazing-- which isn't easy because I was coming from the east coast. This is my favorite hostel I've ever stayed at. I saw black bears, grizzly bears and elk nearby (in May) and I got really great tips and heard great stories from Oliver, who runs the hostel. I love this place! I can't wait to go back for a third time.

Room Tip: The Green Zucchini is my favorite, but the bed is small so if you're sharing, you should be clos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missoula, Montana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

My wife and I love the Hostel and Oliver. Yes, it's rustic, and maybe not for everyone. But we've been coming back for years and will continue doing so. The Square Peg Ranch, also run by Oliver, is great too!

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JonE298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

The North Fork Hostel is probably not somewhere i would recommend going alone. We stayed in the Teepee which was definitely an experiance i'm glad i had, but wouldnt volunteer for again. The hostel is 'quaint', in a semi-horror movie way but it seemed alright. The Teepee was pretty cool, however the bed (and the linen) had been left to be rained on for what seemed like years, so felt bad (bring a sleeping bag and your own pillows!!) and the fire in the middle of the teepee spat up ash all night because the wood crackled, so we were covered in soot by the morning. Plus is was freezing!! However, it is one of those places that while at the time it might have sucked a little bit, it was in hindsight an 'experiance' and pretty funny.
There were showers and an outhouse, which was far as outhouses go seemed ok. The host was nice, slightly odd but nice enough and the area in general was quite pretty! Would recommend for an experiane as long as you dont expect too much.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller9827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Polebridge
20.8 mi away
Village Inn At Apgar
Village Inn At Apgar
#2 of 6 in West Glacier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
23.0 mi away
Belton Chalet
Belton Chalet
#3 of 6 in West Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
23.2 mi away
Glacier Guides Lodge
Glacier Guides Lodge
#1 of 6 in West Glacier
5.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 mi away
Lake McDonald Lodge
Lake McDonald Lodge
#1 of 7 in Glacier National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
20.7 mi away
Smoky Bear Ranch
Smoky Bear Ranch
#2 of 7 in Columbia Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
23.3 mi away
The Great Bear Inn
The Great Bear Inn
#4 of 13 in West Glacier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Fork Hostel and Square Peg Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Fork Hostel and Square Peg Ranch

Property: North Fork Hostel and Square Peg Ranch
Address: 80 Beaver Dr, P.O. Box 1, Polebridge, MT 59928-9778
Region: United States > Montana > Polebridge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Polebridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing