We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything we tried was excellent”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Polebridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Polebridge Mercantile and Cabins
Temperance, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Everything we tried was excellent”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed in Polebridge for a week and loved waking up every morning and walking to the merc for breakfast. Not only are the huckleberry bear claws excellent, the breakfast sandwiches are phenomenal! Don't let the remote location fool you, get there early for the best selection!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Angi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    17
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
24
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lyons, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We are foodies and I'm gluten free so it's not easy for us to find a good bakery to please our family. We stopped into this cute old timey general store and picked up a large assortment of bakery items. Everyone loved their choices; scones, cinnamon rolls, cookies etc. I got a GF trail bar and GF peanut butter cranberry cookies. These were honestly the best I've ever eaten, and gluten free to boot!! I'm talking better than most bakeries in major metros. It was so good that we will drive from our campground at Two Medicine to Polebridge just to get our fix next time we visit Glacier...and we will stock up for the week. A must go and worth your drive!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We bought the huckleberry bear claws and chocolate chip cookies at the mercantile the best wish we had gotten more. Very friendly people it was interesting to hear them talk about the area. We took a beer in the bar then sat outside to enjoy the view. Well worth the drive.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TGS123_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
559 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

It's a bit of a drive but well worth it. Seems like a place back in time. Even has two pay phones (remember those!) on porch. Love the small store and bakery items. Had my first huckleberry bear claw and if was wonderful. Hang around and check out the place. Lots of people stop by that are camping or just driving up from Park. We talked to guy who had lived there since 1980 and he had some great stories about the annual parade and prom. Also talked with a young couple from Alabama who were biking from the Mexico border to Banff. Most interesting and enjoyable. If you have time, drive up to Bowan Lake. Narrow road that is difficult in spots but passable in passenger car. Beautiful lake and scenery. Nice trail around it if you want to hike some.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Flyrod929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

But as far as the little cafe goes and the pastries - So good!! I loved this little mercantile. The food was so good (most amazing potato salad...ever) and the pastries we got were exactly what we needed for a midnight snack.
We headed up to Bowman Lake Campground and camped there so this spot was nice to get some last minute supplies and have a good dinner with good beer.
It's definitely a spot for backpackers and hikers to chill out for a bit and take in some beautiful scenery.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjula1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Over multiple trips I've spent time in Polebridge and backpacking the surrounding area. This is a place that when people ask me about my favorite places to go I'll hesitate to decide if I'd want to run into them there. Its a bumpy ride along the (thankfully) dirt road that keeps people out but if you're willing you'll be rewarded. The goods at the Mercantile and dinner at the saloon will make you never want to leave. The cabins are a step above camping but compared to the outrageous prices for inferior lodging in the park I'll only ever stay at polebridge if I'm not camping. The people there have been really friendly, I needed to get my car from kintla lake early one morning and I got offered someones mountain bike to do the ride. Juts a generally laid back group of people in a perfect setting. In fact after writing this review I think I'll start planning my next trip back.

Room Tip: Classic rustic cabins, no frills if thats what you're looking for. The stark/basic nature added...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank slc-john
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monroe, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
159 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

The most difficult part of the trip to Polebridge Mercantile was deciding which sandwich and pastry to eat. All of us agreed that the two best sandwichs were the meatball or the brat. As for the pastries, everything was fantastic. If fact we bought several to take back to our cabin in Hungry Horse.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Polebridge
23.2 mi away
Belton Chalet
Belton Chalet
#3 of 6 in West Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
21.0 mi away
Village Inn At Apgar
Village Inn At Apgar
#2 of 6 in West Glacier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
26.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Whitefish
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 mi away
Glacier Guides Lodge
Glacier Guides Lodge
#1 of 6 in West Glacier
5.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
23.1 mi away
Glacier Outdoor Center
Glacier Outdoor Center
#2 of 13 in West Glacier
5.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
21.1 mi away
Lake McDonald Lodge
Lake McDonald Lodge
#2 of 7 in Glacier National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Polebridge Mercantile and Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Polebridge Mercantile and Cabins

Property: Polebridge Mercantile and Cabins
Address: 265 Polebridge Loop, Polebridge, MT 59928-9777
Region: United States > Montana > Polebridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Polebridge
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Polebridge Mercantile, one of Montana's most iconic destination properties. Built in 1914 as a general mercantile for homesteaders near Glacier's northern frontier, the Polebridge Mercantile is a must see attraction. It also happens to be located in the heart of the wildest valley left in the Continental United States. :-) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Polebridge Mercantile And Cabins Hotel Polebridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing