We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint and Good”

The Polebridge Mercantile
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Polebridge
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Takeout
Boxford, MA
Level Contributor
111 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Quaint and Good”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

The Mercantile is must-stop on the way to two of Glacier's remote lakes: Kintla and Bowman. It is accessed via a primarily dirt road that has improved over the years, but is still dusty and somewhat rippled. The Mercantile is deservedly known for its pastries - stop and try them. They also have T-shirts and other souvenirs of the region, plus a small selection of foods and camping supplies. We find ourselves seeking reasons to make the trip just to visit this store.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank rspill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    18
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gardiner, Montana
Level Contributor
59 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Unbelievable baked goods!”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Cute little country store that has some of the best baked goods I've ever had. A true gem. We had the jalapeno cheddar biscuit and huckleberry bear claws. They were both amazing. The cookies (shorbread, peanut butter, and lemon) were just fantastic. A bit pricey, but work every penny. Don't drive through without stopping.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Donny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena, Montana
Level Contributor
91 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“So worth the drive”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We made the drive up to Polebridge over the weekend while we were in the Glacier area. Keep in mind that it's 30 miles of "rustic" road. The best route from West Glacier is to take the Inside North Fork road (Camas Road) through Glacier (Head north from Apgar) which is a paved road until it leaves the park. The last 12 miles is a mix of some pavement, some decent gravel road, and some really bad washboard road. We finally arrived at the Mercantile. When you get in Polebridge you can't miss it. The smell when you walk in it amazing. We arrived to find no huckleberry bear claws but were told there was a batch coming out of the oven in 10 minutes. Yeah we'll wait! If fact we paid for them to make sure we got some because there were a lot of people in the area. Glad we did that because they pulled 50 bear claws out of the oven and they were gone in 10 minutes. Word to the wise, come early in the day. The pastries are amazing and so worth the drive. Spectacular scenery along the way make this a drive worth taking.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
texas
Level Contributor
180 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Eclectic and delicious”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

A chance discussion of our itinerary led to the statement: 'if you are going to Polebridge you have to try the cookies'. The bakery at the Mercantile is a fantastic array of cookies, fritters, bearclaws, breads, muffins, etc. We tried a selection of a dozen cookies, all of which were wonderful. The huckleberry macaroons were quite a treat. Definitely worth a drive!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia, USA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing sticky buns”
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Heard about the bakery by word-of-mouth and drove to Polebridge across some dirt roads, etc. The baked goods were awesome and the sticky buns were our favorite. Well worth the trip.

Helpful?
Thank travelclan5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Polebridge Mercantile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing