We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Polebridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Way Less Traveled Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Polebridge B&B and Inns
Irvine, California
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A great experience”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We had 8 people staying at this B&B. So we took up 3 bedrooms in the main house (which is beautiful by the way) and the cabin outside. Everything was very clean, maintained well. The cabin had a out house but we were free to use the bathrooms in the house.

The owners were very inviting and friendly. Plus their dog Stormy was very sweet but gigantic! We were there for two breakfasts and both were delicious. The owners were very knowledgeable about the area and were very willing to share tips about our travels.

We had a great time and I would recommend this B&B to anyone!

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    0
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
35
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Helena, Montana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

My wife and I stayed Labor Day weekend of 2012. The trip there is part of the journey--driving along the western boundary of Glacier N.P. You will want to pack and plan well, because you are heading into a remote area just shy of the Canadian border. The road is well maintained but it is a posted 35mph road which is apporpriate.

Paul and Nancy were very friendly and welcoming, and their house is unbelievably beautiful! If all you end up doing is sitting on the deck staring at Glacier's mountains, it will still be a fulfilling trip. However, I suggest spending time in Polebridge as well as inside of Glacier N.P.

Breakfast was gourmet! I hope we can return! Thank you Paul and Nancy!

--Jon & Katlin

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaSotta08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indiana
1 review
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Never stayed in a B & B before, this was a wonderful experience. The peace and quiet of the area. The drive was an adventure, back road looking for animals, what better place to look. Once there I knew we found the best place to stay for the night.The mountains with the golden sun going down behind them and the Humming birds fluttering around. We watched a black bear in the back yard that evening. Nancy and Paul are so nice and the best cooks. We woke up to the smell of coffee and breakfast. A deer in the back yard without a care. PEACEFUL! Wished we could have stayed longer. Worth the time and travel.

Room Tip: The Lewis and Clark Room had its own bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thermark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havre, Montana
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

We stayed here at the end of a too-long day: 12 hours of travel and site-seeing through flat lands and mountains. It isn't the point of this review, but it is important; here's why: this place is worth the journey, but it is a long journey, maybe longer than I had anticipated.It was still worth it - way worth it - and more. Nancy and Paul are fantastic, hospitable hosts, and the surroundings are extraordinary. It is also an unbelievable value. I wouldn't call my wife & I expert travelers, but I've been to quite a few B&Bs, and this one is among the top 5, maybe the top 3, I've ever stayed in.

So, here are my supplemental suggestions: plan on making the trip out and either staying or just touring the nearby area for a weekend at least; give yourself a couple hours travelling each way to and from the B&B. It may be tough, and meals can be tricky, but this place really is worth the effort.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dubhglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsport, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

you don't mind the drive up gravel roads. The Way Less Traveled B&B is a super place. Paul & Nancy are terrific hosts. It's out and away from everything. Yes, you have several miles of gravel & dirt road to reach their B&B, but once you get there you understand it's worth the trip. Great views of the mountains on both sides of the border. Wonderful breakfast, and off we went. The best thing I can tell you is if we are back in the area we'll find time once again to go "The Way Less Traveled!"

Room Tip: Ask for the Lewis & Clark Room. Nice suite on 2nd floor with great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rasnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havre, Montana
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

This is definitely the way less traveled but the drive is worth the stay. The hosts are fantastic and very welcoming! The entire place was immaculately clean. Breakfast was delicious. The scenery was heaven on earth! Overall, an excellent stay. Will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kalley642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Be warned before you stay here - this B+B is in a beautiful setting, but you have to travel down a terrible gravel road for an hour before you get there at a top speed of 10 miles per hour. We had a 4x4 and thought we'd be fine, but the gravel becomes rock in places and was just too much for the tyres. So unless you carry a FEW spares with you (and don't mind changing them daily) or your vehicle has heavy duty tyres do NOT stay here! Having the stress of getting a flat and having to deal with it on vacation is not my idea of fun and the owners were far from honest in telling us how bad the road surface would be. Then again, if had known we certainly would have opted for the convenience of staying in one of the park lodges.
If you plan on staying onsite and maybe hiking from the B+B, it wouldn't be such an issue for you, but otherwise beware!

On a positive note, the room was comfortable and hearing the wolves howling at night was pretty special. Not special enough for us to return though.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boodley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Way Less Traveled Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Way Less Traveled Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Way Less Traveled Bed & Breakfast
Address: 16485 N Fork Rd, Polebridge, MT 59928-9755
Region: United States > Montana > Polebridge
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Polebridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience luxurious comfort in the wilds of Montana while hiking, biking, fishing, rafting, bird (and other creatures) watching, or just relaxing with a book by the fire.  A delicious, filling breakfast guaranteed! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing