We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Delightful !”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
43 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Pray, Montana

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
kwiz01
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location and equipped for comfort but could use some upkeep”
Reviewed 25 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Located on the Yellowstone River and on a quiet stretch of a dead end neighborhood road. It is a 10+ minute drive to the nearest store which makes it quiet. The river was low enough to wade out and fish from shore during our stay- this was my favorite feature of the home. The home was clean but could use some maintenance. The grill did not work during our stay and the yard was so overgrown that it has become a mosquito haven. The bushes are so high they block your view from the house and the path to the river is through a deer trail. The management did respond to our concerns but was unable to fix issues during the week we were there. There are other rentals on this stretch of river where the yards are better maintained but if you don't care about being outside then the house is newer, clean and suitable for a small group.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jun 2018
We are posting this update to let you know that the owners upgraded the property this season based on your feedback. They added a brand new hot tub and Weber grill as well as some upscale basics like pots and pans and linens. All of the hedges are trimmed and the lawn maintained.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boacflyer...
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The Freeway runs at the bottom of the house.”
Reviewed 30 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

This is a lovely house in a lovely location. It is advertised on other sites but you can only book through Mountain Home Vacation rentals and they are more expensive than rates shown. Their safety deposit is exorbitant but you can avoid this by taking out their own insurance, something unusual in the global vacation world.
They are very inflexible and because there is no mobile/cell signal the only way to communicate is through their app which you have to download.
The two of us were extremely comfortable but you literally have to bring all your own supplies down to salt and pepper. Bring your own wine glasses and if you're European bring your own knives. The house is advertised as accommodating up to 8 but the indoor dining table only seats 4, there are though plenty of garden chairs to eat outside.
The views down the river and from the back of the house over the mountains are lovely. After a while you even get used to the freeway on the other side of the river.
As for the stars for an urban dweller they are truly amazing.
The North Entrance to Yellowstone Park is about 45 minutes drive. Watch out for Deer, Goats, Elk and Bison.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 May 2017
Thank you for leaving a review. Our goal is to have happy guests, I’m sorry your stay was anything less than perfect. We certainly wish you would have reached out to us during your stay so we could have addressed all we could have and provided the best stay possible. We do try to advertise the same pricing anywhere we market the property. Unfortunately, this site just shows a “starting from rate”, or the best rate we offer which would be for a full week in the offseason. If you click, “terms apply” we disclose this as best as possible. We wish we could disclose a range of prices instead of just the lowest rate but at this time that option is not available to us. As a service to our homeowners, we do require guests to have $3000 in damage insurance. We offer a small damage insurance policy that most guests select for a $45 charge. It provides a great peace of mind and helps us to keep our homes in the best condition possible. Guests do have the option to pay a $3000 security deposit, that would be refundable after check-out if there was no damage.

I’ve been assured from our housekeeper that the basic staples (salt, pepper, flour, sugar) were available during your stay, so I apologize you were not able to locate them. The home also has a full set of wineglasses, though they are stemless and could be easily overlooked. Anytime something is missing we do invite guests to let us know right away and we will make it right. I understand you were visiting from outside of the country, but generally cell phones work just fine at the home. Typically guests find us to be very flexible, responsive, and easy to contact. Most guests love the phone App and there is internet at the home so you can also reach us by email.

The home is three bedrooms and has always been advertised for 6 guests. We do manage a home directly next door that is available for 8 guests, so perhaps you recall seeing that one. The dining table does just have 4 chairs, but there are extra folding chairs under the bed on the main level.

We agree that the views from this house are fantastic and appreciate that you pointed out that route 89 (a two lane highway) is just west of the home across the river. Route 89 follows the Yellowstone River from Livingston, all the way to the entrance of Yellowstone National Park, so we think being across the river is quite nice. The sound of the river drowns out any traffic noise you might otherwise hear.

Again, we appreciate your comments and hope you had a wonderful trip to the United States.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon P
1 review
“Delightful !”
Reviewed 7 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Nice amenities , comfortable, well equipped, roomy and a delightful location and view.
Close to Yellowstone and the surrounding area is beautiful. Also close to Chico Springs. Had a great dinner there.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina S
Santa Rosa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Peaceful and relaxing location!”
Reviewed 15 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

This was my first vacation home rental and the folks at Mountain Home really went above and beyond to make sure I had all the information I needed and kept in contact with me throughout my visit. The house itself was lovely, very clean, orderly and completely met my expectations. It was an added benefit that I was allowed to have my dog stay during the rental. I had no problems with any maintenance issues and knew who I could contact if a problem should arise. I hope I will have a chance to rent from this company again in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The lovely setting and quiet surroundings
Liked least: That the weather wasn't perfect all three days
Travelling group: Solo
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gabi_kans...
KC
Level 6 Contributor
542 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“Fabulous place to call home for a week!”
Reviewed 22 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We have always stayed at a hotel during vacation, but when our vacation included my dad and two cousins driving in from Idaho, we looked for a house to rent so we could stay together. I can't believe how lucky we were to stumble upon this location!

Our trip plans included visiting Yellowstone and other attractions around the area. Pray is located about 30 minutes north of the northwest entrance to the park, but a very easy drive and wildlife can be seen all along the way.

The river is literally out the back door and down a small path. We were there in early May, and overnight the river rose considerably. My cousin spent an entire day plus an evening fishing and never caught anything, but he was still happy for the experience. The house itself is very well kept and it was very convenient to have a washer and dryer (with laundry detergent available for our use) as well as a kitchen that was stocked with the essentials. We were able to eat lots of meals "in" vs. driving toa restaurant. We used the grill on the back deck and everything was absolutely wonderful. We enjoyed the hot tub too, especially under the twinkling stars.

I had never been in a house that used a gas log-burning stove for heat but I was pleasantly surprised. We were in the upstairs bedroom and it was toasty. The beds were comfortable and the down comforters added plenty of heat. Just looking out the windows into mountain range to the east was a view when taking a nap.

We didn't see any large wildlife, but we did see a bald eagle on our frst morning and plenty of Canada Ducks along the river.

The house was a great basecamp for us to explore the area and get back to the Bozeman airport for our morning departure on the last day. It is conveniently located to so many things. Be sure to get to the Gallatin National Forest for a hike or a nice drive.

There were so many nice touches that the property management provided. We got luggage tags prior to us leaving home, Mountain Home lip balm by each bed and it just felt really like a relaxing way to spend a vacation. I would definitely stay here again, or use one of their sister properties. It worked out perfectly for everyone and we were thrilled with our accommodations and the hospitality of Montana.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, in the middle of the mountains with great scenery
Liked least: nothing - it was perfect!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AprilB287
Bozeman, Montana, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quiet Getaway”
Reviewed 12 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

My husband and I love Paradise Valley. We had an excellent stay. We live in nearby Bozeman, so it was a nice quiet retreat. Everything was clean and comfortable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: slow internet
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NevadaSil...
Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Home away from home!”
Reviewed 30 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here and used it as a base to travel to Yellowstone and surrounding areas. The cabin was wonderful and exactly as described in all of the brochures and websites. Everything was spotless and aside from groceries, we didn't need to pick up anything extra. This cabin had it all. We were all very comfortable here and really felt at home as soon as we walked through the door. And, oh my goodness....the beds were so comfortable!

Every morning we were treated with watching a bald eagle fly from the cottonwood trees across the river. What a sight! The river was so close and easy to get to. It was beautiful.

I do see in earlier reviews that some say Yellowstone is farther than described. This is simply not the case. Yes, it did take a little extra time to get there some days due to the wildlife we were able to see on the road but to us, it was all part of the overall experience. No one in my party was upset at the length of the drive. We just all made sure to keep our cameras handy!

All in all, our experience here was a wonderful one. We would most definitely stay at this cabin in the future. We were all very sad to leave as it felt like leaving home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view!
Liked least: Nothing...really.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing