We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Turquoise and Mauve!”
Review of Rock Creek Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rock Creek Resort
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Red Lodge
Montana
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Turquoise and Mauve!”
Reviewed 24 July 2011

We've stayed here several times over the years, so when I made reservations for 2 nights recently, we were excited to stay again. The trouble started when we checked in and got the wrong room. They were full due to a wedding party, so we kept the studio room with murphy bed and sofa sleeper, although my teenaged daughters were less than thrilled. (we had reservations for a room with 2 queen beds) The front desk guys were friendly, but not overly apologetic that our reservations were screwed up. (They could dress a tad more professionally, too.) We opted to not stay the second night.

The room had a balcony that looked out over Rock Creek, so the location was fabulous. This part of the resort was built in the 1980s and when it was new, it was that fun southwestern look we were all going for back then. But, that was then. Now, the mauve and turquoise look has seen better days. While some things have been updated (carpet was nice, great new sink with granite top), others have not. The arms on the cheapo mauve couch from the 80s were filthy/stained from years of people grabbing them. The murphy bed must have seemed like a great idea years ago, but even with a relatively good mattress on it, it is an idea whose time has gone. I suggest taking it out and putting in one or two good beds. The kitchenette area is dated (more turquoise and mauve), so updating there would be a good thing, too. The TV is old and reception is poor.

The swimming pool is big with windows looking out to the creek rushing by outside. There is a hot tub and workout area right there, along with a sauna nearby.

We ate supper at Piney Dell restaurant on site. Because we've enjoyed really good meals there in the past, we were excited to eat there again. Hmmm...the chef must've been on vacation that night. Fair was the best we could give it. The prices do not reflect the quality, so save your money and go into town to eat.

Basically, Rock Creek Resort is in a beautiful location and years ago it was THE place to go in Red Lodge. It could be again, but someone needs to pump some money into updating it. Rock Creek is still charging a lot to stay there and I don't mind paying more if the quality is there. But the quality is not there at the present time. It seems like they are resting on their reputation from years ago, but I'm sure most people are like us and don't appreciate paying so much for average, outdated accommodations.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuvIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    55
    36
    28
    15
See reviews for
54
66
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Billings, Montana
1 review
Reviewed 14 February 2011

For starters the room wasnt very luxurious. Really? The bad pull out of the wall. They arent even comfortable. Then dinner took nearly 2 hours to get our food. and they werent all that busy. Nearly the whole meal we sat with empty drinks! Then the pillows were dirt. One seriously had blood on it. and the sheets were disgusting too. This was the second time I had been there and the first wasnt quite so bad but I most definitely will not be returning!!!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crzrdnk77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Red Lodge hotels

North Oaks, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2010

My wife, adult daughter and I enjoyed this immensely. The room was clean and well appointed, overlooking a rocky stream. The pool was very nice for a hotel pool. The staff was pleasant and helpful. The breakfast was very well done. The dinner at the Old Piney Dell Restaurant located on the grounds was wonderful. It served genuine Minnesota Walleye which was prepared as well as any we had in MN.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcasch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bozeman, Montana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2010

Do not stay at this place - even in the event of a family emergency that requires you to cancel your visit, they will still charge you for a night's stay and will do it boastfully simply because it is "policy." The staff and owners are absolutely heartless. I am from Montana and am horridly ashamed of the lack of concern and hospitality these greedy #^%(@ exhibit. Find somewhere else to stay while in Red Lodge.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mdunraven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2010

We were there for one night coming from Beartooth hwy before heading into Cody. The place looks very good on the outside and the lobby area. The rooms were comfortable but they do need to update them. Stayed in rooms 156 & 256. There was a complimentary breakfast in the morning which could have have a little more selection. All they had to drink was coffee, no milk, orange juice. Had to ask for milk. It is good for a one night stay, but would not stay more than that, not for the price they charge.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coyne138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golden, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2010

Room was pretty basic but the grounds were pretty nice. We probably could have appreciated them if it weren't for the hair all over the sheets. We knew no one would be on staff to change them and because we were so cold, tired & didn't want to have to move to another room, we relunctantly just stripped the bed, turned the sheets & pillowcases inside out and had a very unrestful night's sleep. When we checked out in the morning and told the front end staff of the state of the sheets. We got an slight apology & they said they would let the cleaning staff no. I asked for a reduced rate or something & was told that the manager wasn't in. No effort was made to contact us afterward (they did have our mailing address). I sent them an email when we returned home from holidays aprox. 1 1/2 weeks later. I haven't received a response yet. Not impressed at all!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Golden_Traveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 6 Contributor
264 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2010

For the rate paid, the townhouse rooms were a bit of a disappointment. The rooms were okay, but a bit outdated and the beds were very worn and uncomfortable to sleep in. The playground was a bit disappointing for young children (no swings or anything at all for younger kids). The fitness area was small and didn't even have a treadmill or elliptical. The restaurant was a pleasant surprise and had a scenic view of the creek. The pool and hot tub were also great. Overall, our stay was okay but if I was going back to the area I would look elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunofthebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Red Lodge
5.7 mi away
The Pollard
The Pollard
#4 of 10 in Red Lodge
324 reviews
6.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 10 in Red Lodge
192 reviews
4.7 mi away
Beartooth Hideaway Inn & Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Lupine Inn
Lupine Inn
#10 of 10 in Red Lodge
193 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Red Lodge Inn
The Red Lodge Inn
#2 of 10 in Red Lodge
289 reviews
12.5 mi away
Beartooth River Ranch
Beartooth River Ranch
#1 of 2 in Belfry
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rock Creek Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rock Creek Resort

Property: Rock Creek Resort
Address: 6380 US Highway 212 South, Red Lodge, MT 59068-9594
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Red Lodge
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Red Lodge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Rock Creek Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the beautiful Beartooth Mountains, Rock Creek Resort is the ideal spot for family reunions, business meetings, conventions, weddings or a romantic getaway. The resort has 87 rooms featuring spectacular views of Rock Creek or beautiful pond side views with the Beartooth Mountains as a backdrop. Activities include swimming, children's playground, catch & release fish pond, local hiking trails. Free wireless internet. Old Piney Dell restaurant & Bar offers fine dining with a cozy bar for drinks. Minutes away from downhill skiing and golfing or a short drive to Yellowstone Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rock Creek Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rock Creek Hotel Red Lodge
Rock Creek Resort Red Lodge, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing