We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, but eat breakfast somewhere else”
Review of Rock Creek Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rock Creek Resort
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Red Lodge
Buffalo, Wyoming
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice place, but eat breakfast somewhere else”
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Overall this is a very nice place. We reserved at the last minute, so didn't get the room we really wanted, but our room was still nice. We had a studio apartment like room. The room itself was very homey and nice. There was a huge, private deck overlooking the creek that was just lovely. Unfortunately we only had a Murphy bed and a fold out couch bed. These were not very comfortable, as was to be expected. I think they have rooms with real beds if you reserve with a bit more notice. Also, if you have a problem with stairs make sure you ask for a ground floor room or a room in a building with an elevator, because the building we stayed in didn't have one and it was a chore hauling suitcases upstairs.

We ate at the restaurant on the property for dinner that evening, and it was extremely good. We even got in late, but they were still very friendly. The food was very good, and we were very please. So we were expecting to find something similar in the morning for breakfast. The breakfast, however, is served in a different restaurant in the "main lodge". I have never had such a bad dining experience in my life! It was a buffet, so we didn't expect a lot of service, but the wait staff completely ignored us. I had to go ask them for water and coffee twice, and this was after we waited at least 15 minutes while they ignored us. They were sitting behind the counter with their backs to the rooms and I overheard them talking about how they needed to count and divide up their tips. This is while a room full of people was waiting for service. And then, the food was disgusting! The eggs were cold, they set out bread for toasting that was too big for their toaster and was moldy. It cost $10 a person for this. I have worked as a waitress, and am always patient and a good tipper, but we left without tipping for the first time in my life. I was horrified by the service and food. So, stay here, eat dinner here, but drive into town for breakfast!

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a building with an elevator or a 1st floor room. Get a room with regular beds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank morelyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    55
    36
    28
    15
See reviews for
54
66
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

We really liked this little resort. It would be great for a family reunion, but we were there as a couple and it was fine. Our room had a deck overlooking the creek, and that was great! We also had a small kitchen....and a Murphy bed (which took me forever to find!). The little original restaurant, the Piney Dell, was the best place to eat in Red Lodge. Lauren is outstanding as a hostess there. The boutique was also the best little shop in all of Red Lodge.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teamlewin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsport, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Just completed my third stay. The old lady is feeling her age. I had a king with balcony on the creek - great. Was on the second floor in the Grizzly Building. No elevators, no valet help, ice down in the basement three floors below in the laundry room and at far end of building. Bed must be twenty years old. Pillows hard. Returned from a town visit and found my door not fully closed - computers, cameras, cash, available to the curious, scary!

Beyond that, the balcony on the creek was great. The pool and hot tub excellent. The Piney Dell Restaurant adequate.
The place is about five miles from main street Red Lodge, away from the crowds.

Bottom line. Management needs a major overhaul to upgrade the rooms that currently no better than a Motel 5?. Found a place just inside the town, on the right. It is on the creek and really nice. Will stay there if I return.

Too bad, it was once an excellent stay.

Room Tip: Only stay in a creek side room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BThomasMoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Red Lodge hotels

Jacksonville, FL
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We stayed at Rock Creek Resort for a family reunion last week (end of July 2011). The accommodations are not at all fancy, but were roomy and comfortable. Our room was in the Grizzy Building at the end; had one king bedroom plus a full kitchen and murphy bed in the family room. The staff was pleasant and the property is beautiful and close to town. The Twin Elks shop on property is FANTASTIC; beautiful custom home and womens clothing items!!! Breakfast was not great, lunch was really good.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DHancock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montana
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

We've stayed here several times over the years, so when I made reservations for 2 nights recently, we were excited to stay again. The trouble started when we checked in and got the wrong room. They were full due to a wedding party, so we kept the studio room with murphy bed and sofa sleeper, although my teenaged daughters were less than thrilled. (we had reservations for a room with 2 queen beds) The front desk guys were friendly, but not overly apologetic that our reservations were screwed up. (They could dress a tad more professionally, too.) We opted to not stay the second night.

The room had a balcony that looked out over Rock Creek, so the location was fabulous. This part of the resort was built in the 1980s and when it was new, it was that fun southwestern look we were all going for back then. But, that was then. Now, the mauve and turquoise look has seen better days. While some things have been updated (carpet was nice, great new sink with granite top), others have not. The arms on the cheapo mauve couch from the 80s were filthy/stained from years of people grabbing them. The murphy bed must have seemed like a great idea years ago, but even with a relatively good mattress on it, it is an idea whose time has gone. I suggest taking it out and putting in one or two good beds. The kitchenette area is dated (more turquoise and mauve), so updating there would be a good thing, too. The TV is old and reception is poor.

The swimming pool is big with windows looking out to the creek rushing by outside. There is a hot tub and workout area right there, along with a sauna nearby.

We ate supper at Piney Dell restaurant on site. Because we've enjoyed really good meals there in the past, we were excited to eat there again. Hmmm...the chef must've been on vacation that night. Fair was the best we could give it. The prices do not reflect the quality, so save your money and go into town to eat.

Basically, Rock Creek Resort is in a beautiful location and years ago it was THE place to go in Red Lodge. It could be again, but someone needs to pump some money into updating it. Rock Creek is still charging a lot to stay there and I don't mind paying more if the quality is there. But the quality is not there at the present time. It seems like they are resting on their reputation from years ago, but I'm sure most people are like us and don't appreciate paying so much for average, outdated accommodations.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuvIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billings, Montana
1 review
Reviewed 14 February 2011

For starters the room wasnt very luxurious. Really? The bad pull out of the wall. They arent even comfortable. Then dinner took nearly 2 hours to get our food. and they werent all that busy. Nearly the whole meal we sat with empty drinks! Then the pillows were dirt. One seriously had blood on it. and the sheets were disgusting too. This was the second time I had been there and the first wasnt quite so bad but I most definitely will not be returning!!!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crzrdnk77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Oaks, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2010

My wife, adult daughter and I enjoyed this immensely. The room was clean and well appointed, overlooking a rocky stream. The pool was very nice for a hotel pool. The staff was pleasant and helpful. The breakfast was very well done. The dinner at the Old Piney Dell Restaurant located on the grounds was wonderful. It served genuine Minnesota Walleye which was prepared as well as any we had in MN.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcasch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Red Lodge
5.7 mi away
The Pollard
The Pollard
#4 of 10 in Red Lodge
324 reviews
6.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 10 in Red Lodge
192 reviews
4.7 mi away
Beartooth Hideaway Inn & Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Lupine Inn
Lupine Inn
#10 of 10 in Red Lodge
193 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Red Lodge Inn
The Red Lodge Inn
#2 of 10 in Red Lodge
289 reviews
12.5 mi away
Beartooth River Ranch
Beartooth River Ranch
#1 of 2 in Belfry
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rock Creek Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rock Creek Resort

Property: Rock Creek Resort
Address: 6380 US Highway 212 South, Red Lodge, MT 59068-9594
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Red Lodge
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Red Lodge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Rock Creek Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the beautiful Beartooth Mountains, Rock Creek Resort is the ideal spot for family reunions, business meetings, conventions, weddings or a romantic getaway. The resort has 87 rooms featuring spectacular views of Rock Creek or beautiful pond side views with the Beartooth Mountains as a backdrop. Activities include swimming, children's playground, catch & release fish pond, local hiking trails. Free wireless internet. Old Piney Dell restaurant & Bar offers fine dining with a cozy bar for drinks. Minutes away from downhill skiing and golfing or a short drive to Yellowstone Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rock Creek Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rock Creek Hotel Red Lodge
Rock Creek Resort Red Lodge, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing