We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient to Yellowstone and Cody”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rock Creek Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rock Creek Resort
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Red Lodge
Maryland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Convenient to Yellowstone and Cody”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

We stayed here with friends from Wyoming who knew the area and were told by their friends that this was a great place to stay. We had no reservation but in October had no difficulty getting a room. The desk clerk was delightful! Our room was large, simple, clean, and overlooked the very babbling river. A wonderful view! The lobby is spacious and very pleasant with a TV and comfortable seating. The restaurant didn't appear to be open but we went back into town for dinner. The simple continental breakfast was just right-a muffin and coffee as we were going on farther to eat. We loved the convenience to Red Lodge and it wasn't far to go to Cody-our destination. I would definitely come here again.

Room Tip: Defin itely ask for the river side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarylandJerri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    53
    34
    26
    14
See reviews for
51
62
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sonoma, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2011

We arrived here late, after driving a long time coming back from Yellowstone. We booked a room at the last minute, and were pleasantly surprised to find a lovely deck where you could hear the creek below, a large room with a pretty comfortable bed, it was clean, had a small table and chairs, all the usual stuff was there. I get it when one reviewer said the place needs an overhaul, but we didn't see that so readily, perhaps because the scenery is really so beautiful and it fulfilled all the other expectations, particularly for me, cleanliness, a polite staff, a comfortable bed and, really, a great view. Town is close, the folks quite friendly, good shopping, walking around and a few good places to eat breakfast and lunch. I'm very glad we happened upon this place, I would come back again for sure and I would certainly recommend it to anyone passing through.

Room Tip: We were in the Grizzly complex. There are some stairs so take that into consideration, but our deck...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie33107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

We've stayed here numerous times and will always come back. It's got beautiful scenery, clean rooms, and a relaxing setting!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MT_Lday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, Wyoming
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

Overall this is a very nice place. We reserved at the last minute, so didn't get the room we really wanted, but our room was still nice. We had a studio apartment like room. The room itself was very homey and nice. There was a huge, private deck overlooking the creek that was just lovely. Unfortunately we only had a Murphy bed and a fold out couch bed. These were not very comfortable, as was to be expected. I think they have rooms with real beds if you reserve with a bit more notice. Also, if you have a problem with stairs make sure you ask for a ground floor room or a room in a building with an elevator, because the building we stayed in didn't have one and it was a chore hauling suitcases upstairs.

We ate at the restaurant on the property for dinner that evening, and it was extremely good. We even got in late, but they were still very friendly. The food was very good, and we were very please. So we were expecting to find something similar in the morning for breakfast. The breakfast, however, is served in a different restaurant in the "main lodge". I have never had such a bad dining experience in my life! It was a buffet, so we didn't expect a lot of service, but the wait staff completely ignored us. I had to go ask them for water and coffee twice, and this was after we waited at least 15 minutes while they ignored us. They were sitting behind the counter with their backs to the rooms and I overheard them talking about how they needed to count and divide up their tips. This is while a room full of people was waiting for service. And then, the food was disgusting! The eggs were cold, they set out bread for toasting that was too big for their toaster and was moldy. It cost $10 a person for this. I have worked as a waitress, and am always patient and a good tipper, but we left without tipping for the first time in my life. I was horrified by the service and food. So, stay here, eat dinner here, but drive into town for breakfast!

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a building with an elevator or a 1st floor room. Get a room with regular beds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank morelyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

We really liked this little resort. It would be great for a family reunion, but we were there as a couple and it was fine. Our room had a deck overlooking the creek, and that was great! We also had a small kitchen....and a Murphy bed (which took me forever to find!). The little original restaurant, the Piney Dell, was the best place to eat in Red Lodge. Lauren is outstanding as a hostess there. The boutique was also the best little shop in all of Red Lodge.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teamlewin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsport, Tennessee
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

Just completed my third stay. The old lady is feeling her age. I had a king with balcony on the creek - great. Was on the second floor in the Grizzly Building. No elevators, no valet help, ice down in the basement three floors below in the laundry room and at far end of building. Bed must be twenty years old. Pillows hard. Returned from a town visit and found my door not fully closed - computers, cameras, cash, available to the curious, scary!

Beyond that, the balcony on the creek was great. The pool and hot tub excellent. The Piney Dell Restaurant adequate.
The place is about five miles from main street Red Lodge, away from the crowds.

Bottom line. Management needs a major overhaul to upgrade the rooms that currently no better than a Motel 5?. Found a place just inside the town, on the right. It is on the creek and really nice. Will stay there if I return.

Too bad, it was once an excellent stay.

Room Tip: Only stay in a creek side room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BThomasMoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Red Lodge hotels

Jacksonville, FL
Level Contributor
210 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

We stayed at Rock Creek Resort for a family reunion last week (end of July 2011). The accommodations are not at all fancy, but were roomy and comfortable. Our room was in the Grizzy Building at the end; had one king bedroom plus a full kitchen and murphy bed in the family room. The staff was pleasant and the property is beautiful and close to town. The Twin Elks shop on property is FANTASTIC; beautiful custom home and womens clothing items!!! Breakfast was not great, lunch was really good.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DHancock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Red Lodge
5.7 mi away
The Pollard
The Pollard
#4 of 9 in Red Lodge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
6.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 9 in Red Lodge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Red Lodge Inn
The Red Lodge Inn
#3 of 9 in Red Lodge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Lupine Inn
Lupine Inn
#9 of 9 in Red Lodge
3.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
4.7 mi away
Beartooth Hideaway Inn & Cabins
12.5 mi away
Beartooth River Ranch
Beartooth River Ranch
#1 of 2 in Belfry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rock Creek Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rock Creek Resort

Property: Rock Creek Resort
Address: 6380 US Highway 212 South, Red Lodge, MT 59068-9594
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Red Lodge
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Red Lodge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Rock Creek Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the beautiful Beartooth Mountains, Rock Creek Resort is the ideal spot for family reunions, business meetings, conventions, weddings or a romantic getaway. The resort has 87 rooms featuring spectacular views of Rock Creek or beautiful pond side views with the Beartooth Mountains as a backdrop. Activities include swimming, children's playground, catch & release fish pond, local hiking trails. Free wireless internet. Old Piney Dell restaurant & Bar offers fine dining with a cozy bar for drinks. Minutes away from downhill skiing and golfing or a short drive to Yellowstone Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rock Creek Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rock Creek Hotel Red Lodge
Rock Creek Resort Red Lodge, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing