We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place in a beautiful spot”
Review of Rock Creek Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rock Creek Resort
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Red Lodge
Reviewed 11 November 2013

The Rock Creek resort is at the foot of the Beartooth highway that Howard Kuralt said was the most beautiful highway in America. We have ridden over it on a motorcycle several times.

Red Lodge at the bottom is an old mining town that is now pure tourist. Their international festival is fun.

The resort is by the creek and very nice with a great breakfast. Nice gift shop also.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vintagetrailer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (176)
There are newer reviews for Rock Creek Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2013

We picked this hotel as it was at the other side of the Beartooth Hwy, the road reported to be the most beautiful road in America by Charles Kuralt. After navigating the road and reaching 10,900ft, we descended into the outskirts of Red Lodge and the Resort. Almost drove right by it. It's about 6 miles before the town of Red Lodge. It is set along a creek, thus the name. Our room was adequate, more motel than resort, but it had a nice view of the creek and was quiet. It was clean and served our purposes. They had an indoor pool and a nice patio area to enjoy the creek. There was also a bridge that we noticed at breakfast, but did not have time to explore. Breakfast was typical continental fare. We did eat dinner at the restaurant on the grounds and it was quite good. It is also situated near the creek.

Room Tip: While it's near the hwy, I don't think any of the rooms would be effected by road noise.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EL52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We have stayed here as a couple, a whole family, and as part of a large group for a family reunion. Love it- better than average continental breakfast with REAL breads, good coffee -lovely breakfast room. Rooms are very fine, views are heavenly-miss the Twin Elk store which is closed. We have stayed over a dozen times, and we hope for many more stays....

Room Tip: Creek side !
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzatjas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Reserved this location based on other reviews. Arrived early and room was read, lady at front desk was friendly & eager to help us get situated. We were on second floor in building along side the river, beautiful location with lovely deck overlooking river. No air conditioning but most nights it's probably not needed. Very clean, comfortable but more rustic than contemporary. On site restaurant was very good (service so so) but a bit pricy, would recommend if you want to avoid summer crunch in Red Lodge and want nice view of the river while dining. We preferred the location south of town to avoid the tourist traffic, although we were at the end of summer season so town was at a slow pace (meaning many establishments had closed early and foot traffic light).

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on our way to Yellowstone. Great service, had a great room with an amazing view of the creek that was great to wake up too! Very clean room and we requested a pack n' play for my daughter and it was set up in our room & ready for us. Offers a simple breakfast and the views from the breakfast nook are wonderful to start your day! Would definitely stay here again and recommend!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mckscho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

The Rock Creek Resort looks great from the outside. Two large structures located on a rushing creek with a beautiful indoor pool. The front desk staff were very accommodating. There is no A/C but with the cool Montana nights you really don't need it. There is no cell phone service but you can use the land line in the room (for a hefty charge). If you are in the Grizzly building, be prepared to carry your luggage up three flights of stairs, depending on room location. We booked late and had a deluxe studio, which is the living area of a larger suite combination. We slept in a Murphy bed which sagged toward the middle and was most uncomfortable. The pillows were like rocks. The bathroom was Motel 6. The free breakfast was fine. If you do chose to stay here, book a room in the main building (with elevator). There's really not much to choose from in Red Lodge.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank johncgore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Our first trip to Montana and Red Lodge was a great place to stay. The room was comfortable---nothing luxurious and could use some updating. The staff was very nice-especially the front desk. Breakfast was less than exciting and could use some work. Fresh fruit would be nice to have as a choice. We had a family wedding and the buffet was adequate, The bartenders were great fun and the room was lovely. The setting for the Lodge is sublime. Amazing. GREAT time and would definitely do it again!

Room Tip: Ask questions about the room location within the lodge. Makes a difference.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Red Lodge
5.6 mi away
The Pollard
The Pollard
#4 of 10 in Red Lodge
335 reviews
6.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 10 in Red Lodge
198 reviews
4.7 mi away
Beartooth Hideaway Inn & Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Lupine Inn
Lupine Inn
#10 of 10 in Red Lodge
199 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Red Lodge Inn
The Red Lodge Inn
#2 of 10 in Red Lodge
332 reviews
12.5 mi away
Beartooth River Ranch
Beartooth River Ranch
#1 of 2 in Belfry
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rock Creek Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rock Creek Resort

Address: 6380 US Highway 212 South, Red Lodge, MT 59068-9594
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Red Lodge
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Red Lodge
Price Range: £97 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rock Creek Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the beautiful Beartooth Mountains, Rock Creek Resort is the ideal spot for family reunions, business meetings, conventions, weddings or a romantic getaway. The resort has 87 rooms featuring spectacular views of Rock Creek or beautiful pond side views with the Beartooth Mountains as a backdrop. Activities include swimming, children's playground, catch & release fish pond, local hiking trails. Free wireless internet. Old Piney Dell restaurant & Bar offers fine dining with a cozy bar for drinks. Minutes away from downhill skiing and golfing or a short drive to Yellowstone Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Rock Creek Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rock Creek Hotel Red Lodge
Rock Creek Resort Red Lodge, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing