We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty awesome...eh”
Review of Alpine Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Red Lodge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alpine Lodge
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Red Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Well, what can I say. Larry & Trish are great hosts. The rooms were clean and very comfortable and you will be making a big mistake if you pass it by. Larry will make you a breakfast that will make you want to stay another night. Ladies, Larry says kissing the cook is.....ok. but don't tell Trish.....

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bob-MB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (365)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

311 - 317 of 365 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2013

The only place to stay in Red Lodge. Never considered any other after staying here in 09. Larry will cook a an awesome breakfast, gratis. Be sure and leave him a tip though, it's worth it. Rooms are clean and comfortable. TVs are outdated, but they work. Who watches TV out here any way, there is too much to see. Will stay here again someday.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chucknillinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

This is a perfect stop for motorcycle tourers! Larry does a great job of keeping the property clean and is a top notch breakfast chef as well! Bike wash area complete with rags, running water, soap, and clean slab of concrete to wash off the days road dust.

Rooms are clean and plenty big with downtown with numerous restaurants is just a few blocks away.

We were first up for breakfast which consists of several choices of freshly cooked items to get your day rolling.

Would definately stay here again! Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Had a second floor corner room with private balcony facing the mountains. Great room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mbierle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

This lodging was selected by our forum group. I didn't know what to expect. Our lodging last year was pretty stinko. This one, though, was really nice.
First impressions may not be what you're expecting if you only stay in plush chain motels. This is a privately owned and operated lodge; but one of the best I've been in.

My accommodation was one of the four little cabins. Little is a key word, but it turned out to be totally adequate. The flat screen TV on the wall was definitely a plus. The how shower was also a plus. The cabins are perfect for two people that spend most of their time outdoors anyway. The bed was comfortable No air conditioning, but at night the open screened windows provided natural air conditioning. Apparently AC isn't really needed in these climes.

The next morning was a surprise. The owner of the establishment cooked breakfast to order. Eggs any way you want them, pancakes, waffles, hash browns . . . . they choice is yours. He is a very good chef and the breakfast is complimentary. I looked forward to eating breakfast outdoors every morning of our stay.

Don't be surprised if he calls you by name on that first morning and every time he greets you thereafter. He has that gift . . . to remember faces and names; even out of context. He's a wonderful host.

He even provided a special treat. He cooked pulled pork one evening, including potatoes, corn, cole slaw, and all the trimmings. The desert was delicious, too. His price was too low for such a meal. I probably gained three pounds at the Alpine Lodge.

If you want to stay in Red Lodge, Montana; near Beartooth Pass, riding distance to North Yellowstone, Cody Wyoming, Cook City, Little Big Horn, et al, I highly recommend this spot.

Unfortunately for bringing my family some day, they do not allow pets at the Alpine Lodge. We always travel with our little Nikki-dog. He told me some of the horror stories from back when he did and I understand.

Room Tip: I only stayed in a cabin (Number 3). I understand that the lodge rooms have AC if you think you nee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UltraLimitedTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

This is one of the cleanest motel we have ever stayed in and we have done a lot of travelling both in the US and abroad. Trish and Larry make you feel at home and are both friendly and accomodating. We stayed with them for a month in May 2012 and returned this year for a stay while we readied our summer home here in MT. The folks (trouble4luna) that are describing the older hotel with a corrider and pool did not stay at the Alpine Lodge. There is no pool or corrider at the Alpine. We recommend this Lodge to anyone interested in a clean and friendly atmosphere with a free cooked to order breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cynthia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Trish was so nice when I checked in. Rooms were spotless. Everyone extremely helpful making sure ones visit was the best time. Breakfast was nice......eating outside in beautiful weather.
I would highly recommend.......also very close to historic downtown with lots of shopping and restaurants.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thnksmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

My friend and I went on a plein air painting tour in Red Lodge the second week of June 2013 for 4 glorious nights at this underpriced for the service motel. It's just out of town far enough to give you a country feel. We even had a deer sleeping on our lawn one morning, so we were happy that no dogs were allowed at the motel which would have scared off the precious wildlife. The room was very clean, comfortable and had refer and microwave for the food we bought. There is a good grocery store within walking distance. The big surprise was every morning we were greeted by a chef that loves his job. Larry outdoor grilled us the best breakfast you could ask for. I tried just about everything on the menu and they were all five star. The joy this couple owned motel exudes to their clientele is a rare thing. They try hard to please so I would recommend this awesome motel to anyone staying in Red Lodge.

Room Tip: Refer and Microwave are handy additions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Red Lodge hotels
0.7 mi away
The Pollard
The Pollard
#4 of 10 in Red Lodge
350 reviews
1.8 mi away
Chateau Rouge
Chateau Rouge
#6 of 10 in Red Lodge
73 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 10 in Red Lodge
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Rock Creek Resort
Rock Creek Resort
#7 of 10 in Red Lodge
178 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Red Lodge Inn
The Red Lodge Inn
#2 of 10 in Red Lodge
349 reviews
5.5 mi away
Two Bears Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Lodge

Address: 1105 N Broadway Ave, P.O. Box 334, Red Lodge, MT 59068-9054
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Red Lodge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Red Lodge
Price Range: £43 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best place to stay in Red Lodge. Outstanding Staff. American family owned and operated. We have happily served you since 2003. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alpine Lodge Red Lodge, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing