We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and Well Maintained.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of KOA Campground

KOA Campground
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Red Lodge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
KOA Campground
Billings,MT
Level Contributor
128 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Clean and Well Maintained.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

We arrived at the KOA with a reservation for our motorhome. We were not able to get full hookups, but we did have water and electricity. When we couldn't get our air conditioner to work, maintenance immediately came to see if the problem was at their pole or in our motorhome. Turned out we had thrown a breaker in our motorhome. Easy fix!
We have a dog and there is a place on the property for walking them, complete with bags.
This is a big place. There are full hookups, partial hookups, cabins and tent spots. Things look tidy and lots of BBQ's around the place.
The office has the necessities that we often forget. Laundry and showers and rest rooms are pleasantly clean.
There is a swimming pool that was clean and being enjoyed by lots of campers.
Sunday morning the KOA made breakfast for $3.50. All the pancakes you can eat, 2 sausage patties. Coffee is extra and is good, strong and hot..just the way I like it!
I had the pleasure of speaking to one of the new owners and discovered that they had purchased the property in April 2014 and are in the process of making some changes. They are hoping to have a few winter campsites and cabins to rent beginning this year.
This is a friendly KOA and the new owners live on site. All in all, we look forward to another stay this fall.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Zenergygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    13
    3
    5
    4
See reviews for
13
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

We are in Red Lodge to ride the Beartooth Highway on our motorcycle & chose the KOA there. The office staff are really friendly and helpful. There is a small but very clean pool for guests plus laundry. Wifi is accessible from the campsite & has a good signal. The KOA is 4 miles north of Red Lodge so it's quiet and scenic. Our campsite is shaded and level tho gravel. A picnic table & firepit are provided. The bathroom and showers are clean and fairly spacious.
Tent areas are also available. All in all, a nice place to enjoy Red Lodge!

Room Tip: Because the west has had a lot of rain, mosquitos are out - bring some kind of bug spray
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
Helpful?
Thank Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
112 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here after a week of backpacking. It was great to have a shower and potable water source available. We were able to register the moment we got there. There were many tent pads open. We would stay here again since the price is nice.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank franz131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bigfork, Montana
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

Very old and worn out - looks nothing like the pictures on the website. Has not been maintained - relatively even rv sites, but mostly dry grass and weeds. Pool looks like it had not been cleaned in a while. We were in site 15 with absolutely no separation/privacy to the next site. Trees around perimeter but other than that very few. We were going to stay two nights but left after only one. Don't bother - probably the worst KOA we've ever stayed in.

Room Tip: More privacy in a perimeter site
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NJKuhn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Red Lodge hotels

Shingle Springs, California
Level Contributor
142 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

We stayed in a simple Kabin. It was clean and comfortable. I liked the fact it was a distance from the busy road, so it was quiet. And, the babbling brook that winds through the kampground was very relaxing. The pool was warm, clean and large.

I'm used to KOAs that are open longer hours, so I was surprised that it seemed to close by 5pm. But, this was a very pleasant stay.

A word of caution, the bunk beds aren't very tall. Our cabin had a double bed topped with a single bunk on one side and a standard single bunk bed on the other side. I was worried about us hitting our heads on the top bunk if we had to get up during the night. So, my husband and I ended up sleeping in separate bunks.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelGal2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013 via mobile

A bit on the pricey side for a tent camping site. Easy to find, great location for jumping into Red Lodge and the Beartooth Mountains. Stayed one night, arrived after office closed, but a map of the property with our name/reservation on it was in a pull down next to the office door. Site was clean, shaded with a tree, next to a nice creek. Overall enjoyed our stay, no complaints, other than the cost.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jenminty723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

Great service, excellent views with Red Lodge less than a mile from main street. Kamper Kabin had absolutely no extras compared to other KOA Kabins. Come on Red Lodge KOA, please don't be so scared to add a few little extra comforts. There was no mirror - ok I am vain. I want to see my hair and brush it in the morning before I step out for the world to see. Nothing is used on all this beautiful pine wood inside the cabin to keep down the dust, there is plenty of dust on the floor (where are your cleaning crews? Or should I spell it - Kleaning Krewws? You can keep the dust down to a minimum if you do a little mopping and polishing that wood inside. How about some additional hooks in the cabin? Maybe another light in the cabin? The swing was awesome out on the porch. Here is something that KOA can do something about: The showers are dirty, the curtains for privacy do not cover the shower entrance, thus no privacy. There is no special touch to this bathroom/shower facility - no pump antibacterial soap, no aerosol spritzer or any kind to help with the smells. What is very unsanitary is when the children come through from the pool they step into mud then track it into the floor - and management doesn't mop up after pool hours - only from 11-12 noon. So, you kind of have to bare the smells, mud and germs.

Stayed August 2012
Helpful?
Thank DeblostnHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Red Lodge hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 9 in Red Lodge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Pollard
The Pollard
#4 of 9 in Red Lodge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
6.4 mi away
Rock Creek Resort
Rock Creek Resort
#7 of 9 in Red Lodge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Beartooth Hideaway Inn & Cabins
1.3 mi away
Lupine Inn
Lupine Inn
#9 of 9 in Red Lodge
3.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Red Lodge Inn
The Red Lodge Inn
#3 of 9 in Red Lodge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KOA Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KOA Campground

Property: KOA Campground
Address: 3533 US Highway 212, Red Lodge, MT 59068-9566
Region: United States > Montana > Red Lodge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Red Lodge
Number of rooms: 67
Also Known As:
KOA Campground Red Lodge, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing