We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean rooms, plenty of hot water”
Review of Lupine Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lupine Inn
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Red Lodge
Bandera, Texas
Level Contributor
105 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Clean rooms, plenty of hot water”
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Having spent the last 4 months in an RV with a small shower, we were looking for a clean room and a good shower for a night out of the park for a $100 or less. This looked like it filled the bill. It did, the property was a little tired, but very clean, very comfortable and did have a good shower with plenty of hot water, and it was $99 before taxes. Clsoe to downtown and the action in Red Lodge, not quite walking distance. The bikers headed to and from Sturgis were in town and it is a fun town. The only shortcoming for this property - the free breakfast failed miserably. Coffee and drinks for a machine, no 1/2+1/2, a little dry cereal, stale pastrys and a waffle cooker.

There is an indoor heated pool and a well equiped fitness room.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    26
    46
    34
    41
See reviews for
71
62
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wood River, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

After traversing the Big Horn mountains and some dubious backroads we made it to Red Lodge at about ten at night. Unfortunately the Yodeler Motel was broadcasting No Vacancy so we scrambled for a back up plan. We pulled into next door Lupine Inn and when they offered a reasonable rate we snatched it up. We had a big day ahead of us in nearby Yellowstone and needed a place to crash for the night. The Lupine fit the bill. While the inn was a bit dated our room was clean and the beds comfortable. Though being close to the main office the Internet connection was spotty and so I made do by boosting the signal from two neighboring motels. All in all, the Lupine provided a nice night's sleep and perfect launching point for a scenic ascent up Bear Tooth Pass the next morning.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montana
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

The people there were kind and friendly and hotel was clean and comfortable. Our room was great! We had 2 queen beds in the main room along with a room seperated by a door that had a sofa bed and additional tv. I would definately stay there again. It did have a pool and hot tub that our time did not allow us to use.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fishingfamily2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Montana
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

Excellent service, very clean. Older hotel but well maintained. Discount ski tickets!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smitherines6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

We ended up staying 4 days at the Lupine. It's an older hotel with a good hot tub that we used. There is also a heated inside pool, sauna & weight room. We were there off-season for $59 and had a huge, clean room with 2 queen beds, good cable TV, excellent Wifi. Deer & wild turkeys wandered outside our windows. Free breakfast was waffles, oj, a variety of hot & cold cereals, muffins, bagels, etc. Management was very friendly & helpful. Good french roast coffee in room. Very quiet location off the main road.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank denalicat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
192 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

We enjoyed our stay at the Lupine Inn and we were very grateful to get a room on Saturday night in Red Lodge, Montana. While we didn't use the pool or any of the amenities this was a great place to crash after driving from Jackson Hole Wyoming late in the afternoon.

Lupine is a budget type hotel so please don't expect 5 star service. The hotel has great FREE WiFi and the staff treated us wonderful. The Lupine is a older hotel, fairly clean and close to downtown and the river.

Regarding Red Lodge, September is off season in Red Lodge, summer is over and Ski Season hasn't started yet. I don't think Sunday is the day to checkout the town, the sidewalks were rolled up and the city was pretty dead, even our choices for breakfast were pretty limited. We'll come back someday, I can tell it's a popular place they have Real Estate offices next door to Real Estate offices on main street, something must be happening here!
If we are ever in the area again,we'll surely come back, we are just ruling out Sundays in Red Lodge!

Room Tip: This would be a good hotel for Motorcycle people, rooms have a good view of parking lot and it's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarathonManiac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

We chose this hotel because they take dogs, but the living conditions for humans were less inviting then the conditions our dog lives in at home.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeffreider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Red Lodge hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Red Lodge
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 10 in Red Lodge
185 reviews
5.2 mi away
Rock Creek Resort
Rock Creek Resort
#7 of 10 in Red Lodge
160 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Pollard
The Pollard
#4 of 10 in Red Lodge
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Beartooth Hideaway Inn & Cabins
0.1 mi away
The Red Lodge Inn
The Red Lodge Inn
#1 of 10 in Red Lodge
269 reviews
13.6 mi away
Beartooth River Ranch
Beartooth River Ranch
#1 of 2 in Belfry
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lupine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lupine Inn

Property: Lupine Inn
Address: 702 S Hauser, PO Box 30, Red Lodge, MT 59068
Region: United States > Montana > Red Lodge
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Red Lodge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Lupine Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lupine Inn in Red Lodge Montana does not allow pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Lupine Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lupine Hotel Red Lodge
Lupine Motel Red Lodge
Best Western Red Lodge
Lupine Inn Red Lodge, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing