We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just So-So”
Review of Red Eagle Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saint Mary
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Red Eagle Motel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Saint Mary
Reviewed 14 September 2011

This motel is about the only reasonable place to stay in St. Mary - and it's pricey $96.30 per nite. It is old and definitely needs updating, bathroom sink produced only a trickle of water so was not usuable, shower was okay. Place was fairly clean, but nothing special at all.
The room was extremely small.
Johnson's Restaurant next door was good and convenient.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tk M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (130)
There are newer reviews for Red Eagle Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2011

We stayed here two nights during our visit to Glacier National Park. We stayed here after we were done with the western and the eastern parts of the park. This is a very convenient location if you are visiting the Saint Mary and the Many Glacier parts of the park. St. Mary entrance is about 5 mins from this hotel and Many Glacier is about 20-25 mins from here. There are few stores and small cafes/restuarants just outside this place, across the street. This hotel is on top of a small hill, so look for signs if driving at night, but is just outside the St. Mary entrance on rt. 89.

The room is very basic, looks old, the bed makes creaking sounds. The room has a tv, but no phone. Phone is necessary if you want to call anyone as your cell phone will have no network.

The steps to some of the rooms are old and worn out and you need to be careful at night.

The reception/office closes at 9pm, so late check in can be a problem.

The bathroom is small, and looks old. It has a shower, but not a bath tub. But some of the other places we called outside the park (as everything in the park was full) had shared bathrooms, so this wasn't a bad deal after all.

It was a very basic room with a double bed and a twin bed as they didn't have our queen bed room that we were promised. Has a heater which is essential. It served our purpose as it was close to the places we wanted to visit and had few stores just outside it.

The walls are thin and you can hear the neighbor's TV. There are chairs oustide the room in the corridor facing the mountain to enjoy the cool breeze in the evenings.

If we have other options, may not stay here again. Good location, but below average hotel.

Room Tip: Great location, below average room.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anuli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

We stayed here 3 nights on a 2 week trip to Glacier. The location is excellent - a very central location for the entire eastern side of Glacier and Waterton National parks. The room was clean, very basic, but comfortable. No breakfast, no coffee, ice was minimal in the office. However, it is the best value in the area. Be sure to try Johnson's Cafe next door - the 162 was really good!

Room Tip: Be sure to request a refrigerator when you make the reservation
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChuckBrooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

We couldn't decide which title to use, the other would have been "RIGHT OUT OF A HITCHCOCK MOVIE!!"" . . . . . I am not even sure where to start.
This room was scary, weird, and somewhere none of us would ever stay again. We had plans on going to Waterton and returning back that same day and needed to say in that area. We couldn't afford the $250 a night at the great St Mary lodge (wow was it nice), and didn't know about the KOA campground that had darling cabins until the next day. I guess we made a quick decision that was one to regret.

The room we stayed had queen beds, with double bed blankets, and I wonder if the towels we used were even laundered prior to our visit. I don't think the shower was cleaned prior and the curtain was moldy. There were spiders here and there, although we tried to take their numbers down.

The ceiling was maybe 7 ft tall, and there was this very odd pole in the center of the room, that went up through the ceiling and we have no explanation on that one. There was a door in our room which opened into an unfunished basement with stairs leading to . . . we don't know where. It bothered us so badly we stacked our luggage in front of that mystery door.

I have no complaints about the comfort of the mattress as it was decent, although the furnishings looked like they were garage sale specials or worse. The view was spectaluar but we just wanted to sleep and leave, as the place was so bad . . . EITHER SPLURGE FOR THE ST. MARY'S or sleep in your car!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PLL2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

This is our 2nd stay at the Red Eagle Motel & Cabins during 10 years. Not much change. It is ok because there is not much choice in ST. Mary's for Motels..You either stay at the Motor Lodge which very inflated prices or the Red Eagle..It is a little on the crude side, the room we had was #7 queen bed was so so..the floor was slanted and bathroom small, looks like fixtures out of a 1970's mobile home? It was clean just well used. Staff was friendly. Is ok for over night stay but spending any spare time there would be trying. I think the rate is high for what you get...but then again you either pay it or travel on because no other choices.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThomasA79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

We booked here in advance as we did not have time to read some of the reviews. It is situated on a hill as you approach the lake. It all looked ok, bit once inside it was a different story. The room was clean, furniture very old, the fan provided was broken, there was no air-conditioning , the bed felt as if I was sleeing on a slope and could roll off any minute, the whole floor was uneven. The shower was a nightmare, very hot water comming out of the cold water tap and even hotter water from the warm water tap. We drove all day, yet showering a basic necessity was not possible. The view was stunning, but this is all this place had going for it. Was about $75. We could have slept in our car....... Stay here, but eat and shower elsewhere!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jinxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

My husband booked this hotel for us for 4 nights......without checking out tripadvisor. Granted there are not many choices in St. Mary's......but the minute I walked up the worn out fake grass carpeted stairs to our room I wanted to go home! The room is slanted and messes up your equilibrium just walking around the room. The furnishings are mismatched and dirty. When we arrived the commode was dirty with a reddish mold growing in the bowl. Even though the sink had two knobs for water, one marked H and the other C, like every other faucet in existence........each knob only delivered boiling hot water!!?? To brush our teeth we had to fill up one of their disposable cups with boiling water and wait for it to cool down enough so that we would not burn our mouths. The shower was the same......only boiling water. Though if you waited long enough the shower water would go from boiling to bearable..... to ice cold... to back to boiling......with no explanation. In order to shower you would have to hope you could soap up and rinse off real quickly before the water temperature became unbearable......which was only a matter of seconds.
After the first night I went to the office to report the dirty commode, the boiling water from the sink's cold and hot knobs, as well as the shower's inability to maintain a safe comfortable temperature. The lady at the desk commented that she was surprised that the commode was dirty as she had her best cleaner clean that room (very comforting from my point of view!!). She wrote down my complaints. She told me to get cold water from the sink I would have to let it run for 10 minutes for it to cool down.??

When we returned the commode was clean. I tried letting the water run to get it to cool down, but only received hot water from the cold water knob. I dreaded using the shower and sink my entire stay.

We used our smartphone to check out tripadvisor's reviews of this place after we realized how bad this place was within minutes of checking in. My husband and I laughed in complete agreement of the reviews that told of the horrible experiences with this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacquelinefaith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Mary
329.4 mi away
Dancing Bears Inn
Dancing Bears Inn
#5 of 6 in East Glacier Park
250 reviews
320.2 mi away
St Mary Lodge & Resort
St Mary Lodge & Resort
#1 of 3 in Saint Mary
913 reviews
314.1 mi away
Montana's Duck Lake Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
329.2 mi away
Whistling Swan Motel
Whistling Swan Motel
#2 of 6 in East Glacier Park
82 reviews
327.7 mi away
Rising Sun Motor Inn and Cabins
Rising Sun Motor Inn and Cabins
#3 of 10 in East Glacier Park
282 reviews
324.8 mi away
Swiftcurrent Motor Inn and Cabins
Swiftcurrent Motor Inn and Cabin...
#2 of 6 in Glacier National Park
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Eagle Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Eagle Motel

Address: Box 11 HC 72, Star Route, Saint Mary, MT 59417-9701
Region: United States > Montana > Saint Mary
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Saint Mary
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Red Eagle Hotel Saint Mary
Red Eagle Motel Saint Mary, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing