We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Basic”
Review of Red Eagle Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saint Mary
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Red Eagle Motel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Saint Mary
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very Basic”
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Stayed for a night on a rainy day. Got a room with 2 double beds. Room was very musty and the beds were lumpy. Out-dated furnishings. The walls had a very unusual slant to them. There aren't many budget options for hotels in the area. This place is basically one small step above tent camping. The location is great (just outside Glacier National Park). The view from the front door is awesome (just look in the opposite direction of the room).

We wouldn't have spent any time in the room if the weather was better. If its not a thunderstorm the Red Eagle wouldn't have been worth the $100/night.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grant C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    25
    34
    27
    24
See reviews for
29
51
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pinjarra, Australia
Level Contributor
218 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

Everything inside the park was closed. The lodge down the road wanted far too much so we checked out the Red Eagle before heading into the park, whcih turned out to be prudent as it filled up later that evening. Going through my tick list. Clean; it passed. Comfortable; well my bed had a slight lean to the mattress.Location; a big tick here. wifi no. laundry; down the hill at the R V park.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob-Carol-Pinjarra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

We stayed here the night before heading into Glacier for a 5-night backpacking trip. It was pretty old and gross and expensive, but the staff was very nice. Overall, there's really not much right next to the park, so you just kind of have to deal with it. There's a fancier lodge near the entrance as well, but that's not really what the trip was about for us, so the Red Eagle was just fine and since its up on a hill, the views were stunning.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leelerbug0294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apple Valley
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

This motel is about the only reasonable place to stay in St. Mary - and it's pricey $96.30 per nite. It is old and definitely needs updating, bathroom sink produced only a trickle of water so was not usuable, shower was okay. Place was fairly clean, but nothing special at all.
The room was extremely small.
Johnson's Restaurant next door was good and convenient.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tk M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

We stayed here two nights during our visit to Glacier National Park. We stayed here after we were done with the western and the eastern parts of the park. This is a very convenient location if you are visiting the Saint Mary and the Many Glacier parts of the park. St. Mary entrance is about 5 mins from this hotel and Many Glacier is about 20-25 mins from here. There are few stores and small cafes/restuarants just outside this place, across the street. This hotel is on top of a small hill, so look for signs if driving at night, but is just outside the St. Mary entrance on rt. 89.

The room is very basic, looks old, the bed makes creaking sounds. The room has a tv, but no phone. Phone is necessary if you want to call anyone as your cell phone will have no network.

The steps to some of the rooms are old and worn out and you need to be careful at night.

The reception/office closes at 9pm, so late check in can be a problem.

The bathroom is small, and looks old. It has a shower, but not a bath tub. But some of the other places we called outside the park (as everything in the park was full) had shared bathrooms, so this wasn't a bad deal after all.

It was a very basic room with a double bed and a twin bed as they didn't have our queen bed room that we were promised. Has a heater which is essential. It served our purpose as it was close to the places we wanted to visit and had few stores just outside it.

The walls are thin and you can hear the neighbor's TV. There are chairs oustide the room in the corridor facing the mountain to enjoy the cool breeze in the evenings.

If we have other options, may not stay here again. Good location, but below average hotel.

Room Tip: Great location, below average room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anuli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alamogordo, New Mexico
Level Contributor
426 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 310 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

We stayed here 3 nights on a 2 week trip to Glacier. The location is excellent - a very central location for the entire eastern side of Glacier and Waterton National parks. The room was clean, very basic, but comfortable. No breakfast, no coffee, ice was minimal in the office. However, it is the best value in the area. Be sure to try Johnson's Cafe next door - the 162 was really good!

Room Tip: Be sure to request a refrigerator when you make the reservation
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChuckBrooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grass Valley, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

We couldn't decide which title to use, the other would have been "RIGHT OUT OF A HITCHCOCK MOVIE!!"" . . . . . I am not even sure where to start.
This room was scary, weird, and somewhere none of us would ever stay again. We had plans on going to Waterton and returning back that same day and needed to say in that area. We couldn't afford the $250 a night at the great St Mary lodge (wow was it nice), and didn't know about the KOA campground that had darling cabins until the next day. I guess we made a quick decision that was one to regret.

The room we stayed had queen beds, with double bed blankets, and I wonder if the towels we used were even laundered prior to our visit. I don't think the shower was cleaned prior and the curtain was moldy. There were spiders here and there, although we tried to take their numbers down.

The ceiling was maybe 7 ft tall, and there was this very odd pole in the center of the room, that went up through the ceiling and we have no explanation on that one. There was a door in our room which opened into an unfunished basement with stairs leading to . . . we don't know where. It bothered us so badly we stacked our luggage in front of that mystery door.

I have no complaints about the comfort of the mattress as it was decent, although the furnishings looked like they were garage sale specials or worse. The view was spectaluar but we just wanted to sleep and leave, as the place was so bad . . . EITHER SPLURGE FOR THE ST. MARY'S or sleep in your car!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PLL2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Mary
23.3 mi away
Dancing Bears Inn
Dancing Bears Inn
#2 of 6 in East Glacier Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.4 mi away
St Mary Lodge & Resort
St Mary Lodge & Resort
#1 of 3 in Saint Mary
3.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
6.8 mi away
Montana's Duck Lake Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.7 mi away
Sears Motel and Campground
Sears Motel and Campground
#5 of 6 in East Glacier Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
8.0 mi away
Rising Sun Motor Inn and Cabins
Rising Sun Motor Inn and Cabins
#3 of 10 in East Glacier Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
23.2 mi away
Whistling Swan Motel
Whistling Swan Motel
#3 of 6 in East Glacier Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Eagle Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Eagle Motel

Property: Red Eagle Motel
Address: Box 11 HC 72, Star Route, Saint Mary, MT 59417-9701
Region: United States > Montana > Saint Mary
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Saint Mary
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Red Eagle Hotel Saint Mary
Red Eagle Motel Saint Mary, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing