We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely a dump...but still gets the job done”
Review of Red Eagle Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saint Mary
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Red Eagle Motel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Saint Mary
Northport, New York
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Definitely a dump...but still gets the job done”
Reviewed 17 August 2012

My rating of this motel is "average," but it's all relative of course. There aren't many options in this area and, among the options, there aren't any (or many) great options. The Red Eagle is just a minute or two from the east (St. Mary) entrance to Glacier National Park so that's a big positive. The accommodations are very old and bare bones....and presumably pretty dirty deep down, but not obviously dirty at the surface. There's no AC, but there was a fan that did the job just fine since it cooled off at night. Half of the outlets in my room didn't work, but I got by with the working outlets. The water coming out of the bathroom sink was basically a trickle, and the water coming out of the shower wasn't much more than that. Again, without question this place is the definition of a "dump," but assuming you're going into it knowing that and just looking for a roof over your head before you head into Glacier (for a cheap price), this place will get you by.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tshell01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    25
    35
    28
    25
See reviews for
29
54
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Hasn't been updated since then! Booked here only because I could find nothing else. The price was right but the quality was missing. Too bad because The Johnson's Cafe next door was really tasty. It was like a dining museum. It was built in early 1950's and is still run by the family. It was interesting how people from all over the world had stopped there and many returned years later because it was such a unique experience. We enjoyed the cafe. The Red Eagle Motel is not run by the Johnson Family.

Room Tip: I don't think there were any good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank srtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
missouri
Level Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights while we went to Glacier National Park and Canada. We checked out the lodge down the road and they only had one room and we needed 2 it was to expensive anyway $289 per night. So we went to the Red Eagle. We should have asked to see the rooms before we checked in. It was not worth the $96 a night. They had no ice machine or coffee in the room or office. We went into the room and it was very run down, 2 double beds, the floor sloped away from the door and it was not very clean. We tried the tv and it would not work so we went to the office and she said she had just bought 5 new tv's and brought us one of them. She tried to hook it up and it wouldn't play. She then told me to try and I was on my own hooking it up, I finally got it to work. It only gets worse from here the water in the sink was just a trickle and no hot water, you had to turn the hot water on in the tub to get hot water in the sink still just a trickle. The shower was just luke warm. The walls were paper thin we could hear the couple next door snoring all night. To top it off the office hours are 8am to 8pm if they show up at all. The one good thing is the owner is friendly but I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissouriGambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

I ended up here because of my own error in booking elsewhere. Since it was the height of the tourist season, this was the only place in St. Mary with a vacancy. That should have told all I needed to know, but I was desperate. Heading to my second-floor room, I could see that portions of the balcony were built from unpainted plywood. Another clue. The room was dirty, the floor was uneven and seemed to slope. Worse, the shower ran one speed -- dribble -- and the temperature could not be adjusted. It ran from lukewarm to slightly warmer.

Can't find a room in St. Mary. Drive on or sleep in your car.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank idahospudz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Stayed for a night on a rainy day. Got a room with 2 double beds. Room was very musty and the beds were lumpy. Out-dated furnishings. The walls had a very unusual slant to them. There aren't many budget options for hotels in the area. This place is basically one small step above tent camping. The location is great (just outside Glacier National Park). The view from the front door is awesome (just look in the opposite direction of the room).

We wouldn't have spent any time in the room if the weather was better. If its not a thunderstorm the Red Eagle wouldn't have been worth the $100/night.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grant C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinjarra, Australia
Level Contributor
218 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

Everything inside the park was closed. The lodge down the road wanted far too much so we checked out the Red Eagle before heading into the park, whcih turned out to be prudent as it filled up later that evening. Going through my tick list. Clean; it passed. Comfortable; well my bed had a slight lean to the mattress.Location; a big tick here. wifi no. laundry; down the hill at the R V park.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob-Carol-Pinjarra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

We stayed here the night before heading into Glacier for a 5-night backpacking trip. It was pretty old and gross and expensive, but the staff was very nice. Overall, there's really not much right next to the park, so you just kind of have to deal with it. There's a fancier lodge near the entrance as well, but that's not really what the trip was about for us, so the Red Eagle was just fine and since its up on a hill, the views were stunning.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leelerbug0294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Mary
23.3 mi away
Dancing Bears Inn
Dancing Bears Inn
#2 of 6 in East Glacier Park
233 reviews
0.4 mi away
St Mary Lodge & Resort
St Mary Lodge & Resort
#1 of 3 in Saint Mary
568 reviews
23.2 mi away
Whistling Swan Motel
Whistling Swan Motel
#3 of 6 in East Glacier Park
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Rising Sun Motor Inn and Cabins
Rising Sun Motor Inn and Cabins
#4 of 10 in East Glacier Park
248 reviews
6.8 mi away
Montana's Duck Lake Lodge
22.7 mi away
Sears Motel and Campground
Sears Motel and Campground
#5 of 6 in East Glacier Park
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Eagle Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Eagle Motel

Property: Red Eagle Motel
Address: Box 11 HC 72, Star Route, Saint Mary, MT 59417-9701
Region: United States > Montana > Saint Mary
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Saint Mary
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Red Eagle Hotel Saint Mary
Red Eagle Motel Saint Mary, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing