We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best local place to eat in Shelby”
Review of The Griddle

The Griddle
Ranked #3 of 14 Restaurants in Shelby
Restaurant details
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best local place to eat in Shelby”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

This is such a small town. The food was decent and prices were as expected. I'd get the home made soup if I were you! Burgers are good too. Onuon rings are delish. Could take or leave the salads. We would stop again if passing through.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    21
    8
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Keep Driving”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I always imagine a small town diner serving up home-cooked comfort food, hamburgers with deliciously buttered grilled buns and savory meat, refreshing hot and cold drinks, and mouth-watering pies. That's what I was expecting when we chose - out of Shelby's meager offerings - The Griddle for a mid-afternoon meal. I'd set myself up for disappointment. The hamburger was flavorless - the meat seemed to have been pulled straight from a stack of frozen Costco hamburger patties, and the bun wasn't even warm; the salad was mediocre, as if it had been poured pre-packaged from a plastic bag; and, although I'd ordered Coca-Cola and was assured that it was, my drink tasted like Pepsi. We arrived about an hour before closing and evidently just after the lunch rush because the staff, although extremely friendly, seemed quite tired. Actually, not only the staff seemed tired - the cafe itself looked tired - I love vintage and retro establishments, but this decor hadn't had many, if any, improvements since the 70's. I've been in lots of small-town cafes that, even if not HGTV-worthy, have been "touched up" and made attractive over the years - not The Griddle. On the positive side, we had no complaints about the service - very helpful (although a little overly optimistic about the menu offerings), personable, and friendly. If you're traveling through Shelby, Montana, close to mealtime, my advice is to keep driving. Or be sure you eat in Great Falls before you get to Shelby. The people - in the cafe, on the street, at the gas station - are very friendly, but the dining choices are non-existent.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank deng29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chincoteague Island, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
383 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Good staff and Food, could be better”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Great Ham with the special. Putting spoons on a table w/o a napkin sort of feels unsanitary.
The string beans seemed out of a can and the hash browns were really flat. No seasoning on anything. Coffee was the best and so was the staff. Most likely other meals are excellant but the spoons on the bare table?? The meat gravy and biscuit were excellent. Here in Montana it seems as a do things for yourself type of place to us. You go get your napkins and cutlery. The spoons came with the coffee as we didn't know to get it ourself.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelby, Montana
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great place”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

This is a great place for breakfast but also they have great daily specials with homemade soup everyday. Ate lunch there Monday and Had the special that was a enchilada casserole. it was fantastic!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cheri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conrad, Montana, United States
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good breakfast”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

My friend from work(Corrections corporation of America) told me to order sausage gravy with my omelete. I was never big on sausage gravy but i ordered it. It was fantastic. I poured the gravy all over the omelete and i would probally do it again. So if you are a fan of sausage gravy, i recommend you order some when you come to the Griddle in Main st Shelby. The service was good. I had a burger there one time and it was very good. Burgers at other places are sometimes alittle dry but this was excellent.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TyroneM718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Griddle also viewed

 

Been to The Griddle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing