We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

Log Cabin Cafe Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$25
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Our meals are homemade, right in our 1937 log cabin kitchen. We uphold a longstanding tradition; creating wholesome and delicious dishes from only the most pure and nourishing ingredients. Many of our ingredients come from right here in Montana, like our famous Beartooth Burger, made from beef raised in the shadow of the Beartooth plateau. Our ingredients recall home cooking of the past, when folks gathered to share authentic dishes from nearby sources. Like the meals we all might have tasted at grandmother’s table years ago, the Log Cabin serves a feast of fresh, hearty and delicious flavors! For Yellowstone explorers seeking real recipes to fuel their passionate wilderness quests— weary of finding only overcooked, overpriced, brown glob, masquerading as a meal— the Log Cabin offers simple, nutrient-dense meals that surprise the senses. Your sources are sustainable and local rising to the hope of national parks to preserve nature for future generations. And our magical original log dining room soothes modern stressors. Unchanged since 1937— rooted deep like that dense pine forest sheltering us— the Log Cabin and its savory meals have been a timeless treasure for decades.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Great people great food great great cabins that's why I have returned time and time again over the last thirty years no better place on earth in my opinion

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank horseman777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    81
    18
    13
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
122 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Remote gem”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

What a great little place! We never thought we could find a restaurant in such a remote location with fresh, locally sourced ingredients. Everything was so delicious and very tasty. My husband had the trout which was recommended as a house favorite. He had never had trout deboned and prepared in that fashion. It was so yummy! The meals came with a side, salad and bread so there was plenty of food to fill us up. A definite must if you are staying in the Cooke City/Silver Gate area.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vacationqueen1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Outstanding food ethos in a desert of otherwise processed food!”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We recently took a trip to Yellowstone National Park and discovered the Log Cabin Cafe quite by accident, just outside the north-east gate to the park at Silver Gate. Normally when I travel to the United States, I struggle with the huge portions of food and the extreme over-processing of the ingredients. I often walk away from restaurants feeling ill. The Log Cabin Cafe was a total exception to all of that. They have a concept of organic food (everything is sourced within 500km of the cafe), freshness, fair trade coffee (which is bottomless) and reasonably sized portions. We went there once for breakfast after a dawn start doing photography in Yellowstone and we loved it so much that we made a deliberate detour to go back on another day we were there. I can highly recommend the grilled trout for breakfast! Superb!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pelagicprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Loved the Log Cabin feeling”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This place was recommended to us by someone working at the gift shop at the Bozeman Airport. I never would have found this place and was very happy with our choice. The ambience is so quaint and rustic. We enjoyed our food and would recommend this one-of-a-kind restaurant for the great memories. We only had the quesadilla and a salad, but they were both good.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Donnarita1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
141 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Superb.”
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

We didn't stay at the B&B, but we ate dinner and breakfast at the cafe. We also bought a sack lunch to take into Yellowstone.

We were pleased with everything we ordered and ate! The trout dinner and the steak were delicious. The pumpkin bread was tasty, and the sack lunch was amazing! The ham and cheese sandwich was HUGE. They were out of cookies for the sack lunch, so they gave us some more slices of pumpkin bread instead, which I found to be very generous because they charge $5 a slice. If you are in the area, stop by!

Helpful?
Thank Margaret G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Log Cabin Cafe Bed and Breakfast also viewed

 

Been to Log Cabin Cafe Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing