We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grizzly Lodge
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$176
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$128
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western By Mammoth Hot Springs(Gardiner)(Great Value!)
US$197
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$193
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$152
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$193
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$182
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins(Yellowstone National Park)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (145)
Filter reviews
145 results
Traveller rating
69
48
16
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
69
48
16
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsevery nightfire pitcooke citysoda buttenortheast entrancelamar valleybeautiful locationstream runningrooms are cleanyellowstone parkcute townwhat makes this placetowering mountainsneck of the woodscomfortable bedvisiting yellowstonewildlife viewing
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 145 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We were traveling on July 19, 2014 with 2 other couples on motorcycles and had a reservation in Cooke City, Silver Gate Montana's neighbor. Upon arriving at 3 p.m. we learned we did not have rooms for some reason . After searching for a room we landed at the Grizzly Lodge. When we arrived the "open arm" welcome we received made us forget all about the room we lost at the other hotel. We walked into Rustic, Clean, Fun accomodations! The manager directed us to the best places for supplies we needed, brought us towels to wipe off the Harley's with out us asking, brought us a cooler full of ice to put our beer in!!!!!!! There are picnic tables and lounge chairs next to the river's edge for your enjoyment. They build a fire every night so it's like social hour and meeting people from all over the country. We made new friends!!! The rooms were clean and comfortable, had what you needed. it may not be listed as a five star hotel but the hospitality makes it a ten in my book! We will go back. Thanks Garland for making what was destined to be a bad situation for us into one of the best hotel stays ever!!!!!

Room Tip: They have rooms 19 and 20 that have a mom and dad room with attached kids room!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank KevinLori F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Getting a room around Yellowstone Park this time of year is tough. But while we were in Silver Gate we stayed at Grizzly Lodge. It is a quaint, log style motel with a gravel parking lot. The facilities are a little dated, but clean. It sits along side a stream with lounge chairs and a fire pit.

You get a "real" room key, not a card. There only about 20 rooms of different sizes and no ice machine on property. You need to walk across the street and buy a bag from the store. There are no outlets in the bathroom for a hair dryer, but the bath towels were fantastic. I've stayed in some national (mid-price) chains with smaller towels. The lighting in the room makes it difficult to read and there is only one TV channel (ABC). There are no phones in the rooms and there is no cell phone service anywhere in the area. There are no FM radio stations and only one or two scratchy AM stations available.

You just pull up in front of your room (parallel parking) and leave it there. The collection of artifacts in the office is amazing. So is the price! This motel is OVERPRICED!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank poppopsilver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

absolutely AMAZING!! my whole group of family and friends had an amazing time. the staff gives the entire trip a cherry on top. from the nightly fire pit, to the staff and Stella and Rommel, we will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Amber R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Tucked into the mountains just beyond the Northeast Entrance to Yellowstone park, we found a charming lodge that made us feel like we had stepped into a simpler and more beautiful time. We disconnected from everything but nature and the pleasure of interacting with eachother and the other guests, and I don't think I'll ever find a better place to decompress.
The scenery is beyond comparison. It was amazing to wake up to the sound of the river and local bird life each morning and to go to sleep after seeing the moon come up over the surrounding mountains each night. One of our hosts, Gardner, was so kind as to offer us a booklet of common places of animal and geographic sightings. It made our trip an unforgettable one!!!

The darling cabin-esque rooms are spacious and *COMFORTABLE*, and the company is even better. They have just completed some serious updates to the rooms, and they are SO accommodating. If you don't quite have what you need in your room, ie Coffee Maker, Microwave, Fridge, etc. we had some in our party simply ask and they received! Me and my husband simply brought a cooler and bag with the basics and that did the trick for us!
If you don't want to lug a cooler around, there are several cafes within walking distance for any meal, and even more restaurants (plus pubs & taverns) a 5 minute drive away in historic Cooke City.

We had amazing hosts, THANKS to Jay and Gardner for providing a fire each night and fun for all of us guests.
Special shout outs to Rommel and Stella, the four legged camp mascots. My stay wouldn't have been complete without them coming around to check on things! :)
We will ABSOLUTELY be back, we are making Grizzly Lodge a family tradition.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Kierra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This is a great location for a Yellowstone trip! I highly recommend staying here. The staff is very friendly and easy to work with. Totally worth it! There is a very large nightly campfire that is great for meeting new people and hanging out with friends.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Arthur T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews