We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic cabins, beautiful area, close to park”
Review of Silver Gate Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Silver Gate
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Silver Gate Cabins
Reviewed 29 July 2014

There are many hotels where you can see wild buffalo grazing just outside your door. That was a highlight for our kids, although it could be kind of a dangerous situation. I'd agree with the other reviews that maintenance is below average for this property but for our visit everything was working.

We stayed here on a family visit to Yellowstone and it's certainly nicer than camping in the park! The beds were quite comfortable and it's a real cabin experience. Comfortable front porch with nice chairs for reading. The wifi was basically unusable during our visit - they have satellite internet and seemed to have some other problems as well. We planned ahead and brought food to cook in the full kitchen - there aren't many places to eat in the area. I'd recommend bringing food although the check-in area does have some food for purchase.

The location is a great way to see the NE part of the park and the Lamar valley - lots of wildlife. The bear tooth highway is a terrific drive into Silver Gate also, probably more scenic than many places in the park.

For cyclists, the road outside the park is in great condition for cycling with a nice wide shoulder, terrific views and some decent elevation gain.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank berricks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (138)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 138 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014

Great location, great cabins, but they are poorly maintained. We had open cracks in the floor, a bathroom door that didn't close, and a kitchen floor that was missing tiles.

Our toilet stopped working and when it was reported, the maintenance guy exploded in front of our family with explatives as if it was our fault. No suprise that the maintenance seemed so poor as beer drinking by the maintenance staff appears to take preference over some much needed repairs.

What a shame because this is a wonderful location and the rest of the staff unbelievably understanding. We can't forgive the rudeness we witnessed.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My wife and I had the privilege of staying in a Whispering Pines cabin! It was fantastic. The cabin made my wife do the "happy dance" as we had planned to tent camp in Yellowstone. The cabin was very adequate, comfortable, clean, up-to-date and plenty of hot water. Wild life was every where and the staff were unbelievably accommodating. We will definitely stay there again. Thank you Whispering Pines for making our 40th so memorable.

Room Tip: Leave your selection to the staff who fit your needs perfectly
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

We had read the reviews prior to coming here and it was everything we expected! It was small, comfortable, had the luxury of a bathroom and kitchen nothing fancy but it suited our trip into the wilderness! We had no cell service and in a lot of ways that becomes a blessing as it allows you to grow closer to those your around! The only concerns we had were what go do in the case of a health emergency, and making sure that when you lock your cabin it really locks! We found ours did not and this was late in the evening when the store was closed! Please make sure that you follow up with office staff on emergency procedures I wish we would have! We stayed 2 nights at our cabin and ate the best pizza at miners in Cooke city! We recommend staying a few nights here and then traveling to the other side of yellowstone as we did! Many people do no realize how big the park is and how far each place is from each other! The only reason I gave this a 3 instead of a 4 was the security of the door!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Freespirit1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My sister and I stayed in a 2-bed cabin at Silver Gate. It had everything we needed - a full bath and a full kitchen, including a table to sit and eat. The cabins are not really too far apart from each other, but that wasn't an issue for us and the surrounding area is all woodsy and quite pretty. You check in at the general store, and then have to drive and find your cabin. We definitely enjoyed our time here and it's really quite close the park entrance.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Luv2Travel7723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We loved staying in the School House cabin. A warm welcome, a late night beer around the fire and great advice on what to do during our 2 day yellowstone. The remote feeling of Silver Gate was great experience. Renting a scope is a smart thing, we saw bears and wolves which we otherwise would have seen. Silver Gate Cabins is definitely a great place to stay!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MdeWit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

I have stayed in Cooke City several times, but thought we would try Silver gate just to be that extra bit closer to the park entrance. I have also stayed in cabins before, some bigger, some smaller. We were in Whispering Pine 6. Check in has to be made at the General Store, who then give instructions as to how to get to the property, which is down a side road, over a small bridge and in to the woods. no 6 is right on the edge of the row, opposite a derelict cabin. I cannot say that it was the most attractive location. The cabin was smaller than it looked in the photo I felt, but then adequate for two, who were basically only going to sleep in it. The huge bed was super comfortable, but was pushed against the wall, so that if the inside person needed to get up in the night, you had to climb over the other body. We did not use the cooking facilities, but did use the very large fridge/freezer. ( for our drinks ) There was also a coffee maker and toaster provided. The cabin was clean and tidy. The bathroom however was miniscule, with only a shower, no bath. The cubicle was small, and my 6ft husband did have a problem with this, as did he going through the doorway. Management have put a piece of foam over the doorway and a notice that says MIND YOUR HEAD so anyone other than a dwarf needs to duck. The sink unit area was also tiny, but there was a small mirror in there and a light. A shelving unit contained the towels. There was no where to hang clothes, but there was a suitcase stand, so I did not unpack. At night it was very quiet, OUTSIDE the cabin. Inside, the fridge kept revving up all night long and was the loudest fridge motor we encountered on the whole trip ! Also, the heater on the wall, when turned up, kept kicking in every so often during the night. I have to say the heater was efficient, and made the place lovely and warm, but we did have it on low through the night, so as not to be cold when we got up at 5 30 to go wolf watching. There were some quirks. When the temperature outside was on the verge of freezing, we got back to the cabin to find a notice asking us to let the taps drip through the night to prevent freeze up! Also there was a plunger by the toilet. We wondered what this was for.......and found out! Fortunately on the day we were leaving. It is very dark at night down the road to the cabin, and in fact in Silver gate itself there are no street lights. We saw plenty of people tramping around with torches, in fact I had one, but there was an outside light over the cabin door, so did not really need the torch, and we allways drove up the road to go to eat. We ate at the café a couple of times, and also up in Cooke City at the Miners saloon. Overall, we had a pleasant five nights in the cabin so have no complaints. We love that area and the folks in Cooke City and Silver Gate. Thanks to Henry for the complimentary coffee, and to Doug for taking photos of the wolves for me. Just remember to take earplugs if you are a light sleeper and get this cabin!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank funkymama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Silver Gate Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Gate Cabins

Address: 109 US Highway 212 W, Silver Gate, MT 59081-8009
Region: United States > Montana > Silver Gate
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Silver Gate
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Silver Gate Cabins Hotel Silver Gate
Silver Gate Cabins Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing