We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy and Comfortable”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sula
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lost Trail Hot Springs Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sula
Reviewed 18 July 2013

I came for 2 days. I stayed for a week. The owners, Stann and Mary, made me feel comfortable and welcome. Every morning I ordered a great filling breakfast and watched guests enjoy the clean hot springs pool. On a hot afternoon I could choose from a nice selection of cold beer from their full bar. Lunch and dinner is available. Every evening I sat on the porch of my cabin and enjoyed the quiet breeze. They have a wide variety of lodging options: a campground, motel, lodge, and cabins of many sizes. I stayed in a 1 bedroom cabin of a simple rustic style. The main room is roomy and has a kitchen and eating area. You must have your own cooking and eating utensils. Everything was clean and the bed was comfortable. It was just what the doctor ordered.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
Thank snowman3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lths, Owner at Lost Trail Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

We often have guests that don't want to leave. That's normal. What isn't normal is a guest actually having the opportunity to stay longer than expected. We were glad we could accommodate this guest as it was obvious what a wonderful time he was having and we love to have happy people around. We welcome him back at any time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (92)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2013

We've been here 2 times now... both just for the pool for an hour or two. The first time was a little disappointing based upon some pre-concieved expectations, but this time was much better as we knew what to expect.

Great rustic lodge, clean, beautiful setting in the forest... and very relaxing. The pool was refreshing on a mild early evening. We had some of the brisket pizza and a couple beers, and it was very good. Staff was very friendly.

Truly a gem of a place with alot of history. You don't find these places much anymore, and I hope it stays this way.

Room Tip: As is the case with many commercial hot springs resorts, the large pool is about 95F, so keep this i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mtnmanlives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lths, Owner at Lost Trail Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Notice this reviewer left a review once before. What did he say? The same thing we say constantly - it's about your expectations. Be realistic. Reading these reviews and checking out the website will help you have realistic expectations. Receiving a review like this is like winning an award for "most improved". Nothing has changed here except the guest's opinion and we're happy we could help. Keep coming back! It works!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

We are traveling around Montana experiencing all the hot springs as a fun adventure! We headed to Lost Trails for my birthday weekend. The property is nicely nestled down off the road, there are several cabins to rent, a restaurant, a large pool, and a small converted hot tub pool for 4-6 people max. Overall, our experience was highly dissatisfying. The cabin was a kitchenette, clean, but the water fixtures were removed from the sink. There are no pots or pans, no supplies of any sort. The bed had an old, flat mattress, and there were small, hard towels with no shampoo, lotions, or extras in the room...just a small hard bar of cheap soap.

Access to the pools was not open and inviting. We had to go to the entrance and ring the bell and wait for the owner to come down and let us in. Since the pool is separate from the restaurant, this was their way of providing security. The owner checked us for alcohol containers and bragged about who he catches trying to "sneak things in". It was uncomfortable. The large pool was beautiful, but covered in with a plastic and wood, tepid in temperature and not warm enough to be relaxing in March. The smaller hotter pool was horrid, there were 5 of us in this little pool, too close for me, yet it was the only pool with hotter water.

The meal was delicious at the restaurant, as we were told to call ahead and pre-order so they would have our meal ready for us. The owners design of their meals works in theory, however they continued to share their rules about the meal, calling ahead, why they do this, Ad nauseam! I felt lectured to my entire stay. Lectured about why they do the pool security this way, why they need ALL guests to pre-order, why they offer the hours they do, why they need to collect a deposit for the key..... Bottom line, they present like very unhappy owners and do not filter their opinions or pains for their guests.

We did not enjoy the healing waters, we felt lectured, and we got out of there as soon as we could on Sunday morning...

Room Tip: Don't commit to any lodging until you have seen it first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WhitefishandBeyond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lths, Owner at Lost Trail Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2013

A lot of important factors touched upon here. First of all, thank you for the compliment to the restaurant and housekeeping. We recall that you enjoyed your meal with us. It was very kind of you to call ahead and place your food order, though it isn't necessary. It is helpful, but as we explain in the reservation taking process and in the confirmation email, we ask guests when they check in if they will be din
ing with us and what they will have so that we may get a head start on preparations. We have a small kitchen and small staff.

As much as these guests felt lectured it is apparent that they still did not understand our guidelines as we do not require that orders be called in ahead of time. It is unfortunate that they were unable to feel pleasure regarding the rest of their visit. It is also a shame that they choose to vent their displeasure online instead of to the establishment. There is nothing that can be done to improve a guest's experience if they are unwilling to discuss the downfalls except with outsiders on the internet. We cannot help anyone if they do not talk to us.

We are very open with our guests as to what can be expected during a visit with us. We share pool and hot tub temperatures and dimensions constantly, over the phone and on our website, because we don't want people to show up just to be disappointed. Our pool averages between 93 and 96 degrees depending on the exterior temperatures and our hot tub is 10 degrees warmer. It is an 8 person hot tub however 5 people would be more comfortable for sure!

The dome over the pool keeps the temperature up, not only in the pool but also in the air surrounding the pool. This is what allows our facilities to be utilized year round. Our pool is a perfect temperature for being active in the water and can be enjoyed by the elderly, small children and pregnant women - all three groups which are unable to enjoy the warmer temperature of the hot tub due to state laws and health concerns.

We do have rules and guidelines here that we enforce strictly. We share policies over the phone and through a confirmation email and again upon check in when guests are asked to sign off indicating they have read and understand the policies and that they will comply. After that process is done there should be no reason to discuss policies any further unless policies are being broken or questioned. "Lecturing", or polite verbal reminding, only occurs when policies are being ignored. This is our way of giving a second chance since really we can just declare that you are trespassing and have you removed. No refunds are given in those situations as the policies are clearly outlined and the guest has signed off on them. Our policy states we reserve the right to refuse service.

Most of our guests are happy to comply as our requests are quite reasonable. Some guests express a lack of understanding of the need for these rules. After we explain the safety issues and legal issues and our desire to have a family-friendly environment run efficiently, they often see the reasoning. Food and beverages brought into the pool area are a major concern for us for several reasons. It is against health department and liquor board regulations and we could end up loosing our license over such infractions. Aside from that, these items tend to be left in unsafe places causing tripping and spilling hazards and tend to be scattered about when depleted instead of being disposed of appropriately. God forbid glass be brought in and then there is the potential for breakage and the chances of a guest having bare feet and stepping on broken glass.

Some people can't figure that out on their own. That's why we are here - to run interference. We have signs posted alerting guests to this policy, especially the ones that are not staying with us since they do not sign off on a policy statement. We do not search guests, nor do we search their belongings, however if we catch them engaging in these acts it is grounds for dismissal. I see no reason our policies would make guests uncomfortable, in fact, if they are following the rules there wouldn't even be a reason to mention it. If "lecturing" went on there was likely a reason for it.

This guest hit the nail on the head when they said we seem unhappy because it does make us unhappy to have to remind guests what they agreed to upon checking in. Some people don't read the rules, they just sign. Some guests don't believe the rules apply to them. Some guests don't think the rules make sense because they go to other places where the rules are not the same. Most of our guests are glad we have these rules because they know they are coming to a safe and efficient family environment. Plenty of our guests tell us it is because of the way we run the place that keeps them coming back. If ringing a doorbell for entry is such an inconvenience then there isn't much that can be done to help someone that feels that way. We do lock our pool entry as a safety measure. We also lock our houses, cars, food and alcohol storage, and cash registers. I hope that doesn't cause additional displeasure.

When making a reservation, guests are made aware of the facilities available in their lodging unit. No promise is made of there being a kitchen sink as many of the cabins do not have one however I assure you all of the bathrooms have fully functioning toilets, sinks and showers. There are towels provided in the lodging units, brand new, over sized, fluffy white ones in fact, and towels provided in the pool area as well. We are careful to mention on the phone and on the website and in confirmation emails that the cabins do not contain any sort of pots or pans or plates or forks or knives or anything like that. It is amazing that guests still manage to find a way to complain about this after they were told ahead of time. In this particular situation it wouldn't have mattered anyway since the guests ate in the restaurant.

True there is only soap in the lodging units, no fancy little shampoos or conditioners or lotions, though we do have those items available in the pool office at an additional price. We don't believe in charging inflated prices with extra amenities that few of our guests feel necessary. We have beds in good condition, and yes, they are flat as we find curved beds less conducive to a good night's sleep. We replace mattresses as necessary. Upon reading this review the bed in question was examined and deemed to be perfectly sufficient. A bed complaint is unheard of in our history.

It is interesting how different people see things differently. Please educate yourself as to where you are going so that you might be more satisfied with your decisions. We are a rustic resort, family owned and operated. Most days we are thrilled to be able to offer our facilities to the public. Every now and then we have guests that don't understand what it takes to maintain a historic property without making drastic changes. There are endless potential safety hazards, we have a minimal staff and extensive labor responsibilities yet we make the effort to be open year round when the reality is someday we may decide the summer, our busy season - when we are open 7 days a week, is the only season worth being open. Winter brings extra headaches, like snow removal, freezing pipes and guests that want hotter water. Regardless, it is our goal to keep the pool available in all four seasons.

We have laws we must follow, dictated by the state as well as the liquor board and health department. Not all hot springs follow the same regulations we do and therefore some folks may find other locations more pleasurable. All we can do is work with what we have and most of our clientele appreciate our efforts. Those that don't are welcome to enjoy other facilities and leave this one to the people that understand.

Thank you for your time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Our extended family had a great weekend at Lost Trail Hot Springs. We rented a large cabin with a full kitchen and room for everybody. The hot springs were excellent after days of both cross country and downhill skiing. The staff were friendly and helpful, the pools were clean and inviting. A great time.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lths, Owner at Lost Trail Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2013

We're so glad you enjoyed yourselves! We will look forward to future visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Here is an opportunity to travel back in time. Lost Trail is a perfect name for this unique resort. Rustic cabins in a beautiful canyon, a natural hot springs pool, and very helpful owner/operator service are some of the qualities so often lost at more modern resorts. This outfit still operates like they have for decades. It's a great spot for those of us who enjoy rustic character more than upscale style.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Bill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lths, Owner at Lost Trail Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2013

Thank you for appreciating what goes on here! You are welcome back anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Myself and four buddies stayed at the Lost Trail Hot Springs Resort when we came down to ski at Lost Trail Mountain.
Being that we had a long drive to get there we showed up very late, but the owners simply left the cabin unlocked for us and allowed us to check in in the morning.
We stayed in one of their four person cabins and thought it was perfect. The cabin was very basic but also very clean and warm. It had two beds in one room, a bathroom and a little kitchen with a fridge and microwave.
They have a great restaurant/bar where we ate breakfast and dinner, both of which were excellent, especially the pizzas!
The hot springs are also awesome. It's a big swimming pool with natural hot spring water. It's not as hot as a normal hot tub but still felt great after a day of skiing. They also have a smaller, regular hot tub (natural hot spring water) that is in an enclosed area for those who want hotter water, and a great suana.
The owners were friendly and treated us excellent.
If your looking for a place to stay close to the ski hill (6 miles) this is the place to be. It is remote, beautiful, and quiet.
My buddies and I will most definitely come back here when we ski Lost Trail again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ranierrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lths, Owner at Lost Trail Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2013

Good to know we're doing something right! We'll look forward to next year's ski adventure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

Picture this: Snowy pine trees, savory home-cooked food, regionally brewed beer on tap, a swimming-pool fed by natural hot springs, a refreshing jacuzzi, a relaxing sauna, a rustic lodge, and luxurious cabins. Got that image fixed in your mind? Lucky for you, this can be your reality at Lost Trail Hot Springs Resort. My wife, 3.5 year old rambunctious son, and me stayed here for 2 nights in late December 2012. We absolutely loved our stay. The whole family at Lost Trail Hot Springs took excellent care of us--Stan, Renea, Gary, and Mary Dell. Additionally, the prices for rooms and food were very reasonable, especially considering the quality of service. Lost Trail Hot Springs Resort is one vacation destination that should not be missed. Bonus: Powder Mountain Ski Resort is only 5 miles away!

Room Tip: Choose a Cabin if you want more privacy and space (they are still VERY reasonably priced)--rooms in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JefeJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lths, Owner at Lost Trail Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2013

You guys were great! Thanks for stumbling upon us. I see this as the beginning of a beautiful relationship, not because I'm physic but because you've already booked for next winter! Looking forward to your anniversary celebration for you and your family and friends.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Lost Trail Hot Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lost Trail Hot Springs Resort

Address: 283 Lost Trail Hot Springs Rd, Sula, MT 59871
Region: United States > Montana > Sula
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sula
Price Range: £57 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This rustically elegant resort, with cabins, motel units, and a family reunion lodge, has accommodation options for everyone, including RVers and tenters. The hot spring pool measures 20' by 70', goes from 10" to 9' deep, and averages 95 degrees in summer and 93 in winter. The hot tub is 10 degrees warmer. Plan on NY style, fresh dough, thin crust pizzas or catch up with our Wood Fired Pizza Wagon during your visit for Neapolitan pizzas. Relax with a refreshment from our full bar and get lost in the wide range of tunes from our radio station, 102.1FM KLTR Lost Trail Radio. Conveniently located in the middle of nowhere. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lost Trail Hot Springs Hotel Sula
Lost Trail Hot Springs Resort Sula, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing