We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Getaway Vacation Resort!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sula
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lost Trail Hot Springs Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sula
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We had a wonderful time at Lost Trail Hot Springs Resort! Although there was snow on the ground outside, the cabin we stayed in was very warm and cozy. The pool and hot tub were so relaxing - a real treat! The owners are especially friendly - we had a great time with them! Can't wait to go there again!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Betty R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lths, Owner at Lost Trail Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

We appreciate your kind words! We will look forward to your next visit. Our hope is all guests enjoy themselves as much as you did!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2014

Let's start with the good parts: the location is beautiful, the hot springs are sulfur-free, the cabins are quaint, and the grounds are well kept. It's a very short drive to terrific skiing at Lost Trail, which is generally fantastic. The food that we ate ranged from good to very good, though we talked with other guests who had rancid butter with their dinner. I'm sad to say that most of the rest of our experience was less than positive.

Many of my complaints would be assuaged by a lower price. When I pay $140 per night for lodging, I expect a certain level of quality and service, which I did not receive. The cabin that we stayed in serviceable, but the sheets were obviously unchanged from the last guest. Friends in another cabin reported the same. We checked in with a pet, yet the staff failed to remove three glue traps from the cabin, including one containing a dead rodent. While I understand the need for rodent control out in the sticks, it seems to me that these could be removed while the cabins are in use, especially when children or pets will be present. The cabin was a bit shabby and run down, as well--old, mismatched furniture, worn carpet, etc. Again, for $65/night this is not an issue, but for $140 I feel it is.

The service was also less than I expected. After booking the cabin I received a lengthy e-mail with many details. At first I thought this a nice touch, but later realized it was an indication of the odd, controlling behavior of proprietress. We arrived early for check-in, which I realize is an inconvenience, but I'm sure it's also a common occurrence. During our one-night stay I was reminded no fewer than three times that we had checked in early; I felt like I needed to head to confession to be freed of my sin. There are signs everywhere on the property with extensive descriptions of the rules, including a full-page document in the cabin detailing how you are to behave and containing laughable language about things like your "mattress protection needs." When booking your stay you are asked to pre-order your meals, but a sign by the highway encourages travelers to stop in for pizza. ??? All in all I felt less like a welcome guest and more like an unwanted intrusion on this individual's OCD rituals.

There were enjoyable aspects of our stay, and the property has tremendous potential. I see that others had a pleasant stay there, so perhaps my experience was an anomaly. All the same, I doubt we will return.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Buttetravelers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lths, Owner at Lost Trail Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Here is another example of what NOT to do when visiting an establishment. DO NOT let the establishment think that everything is fine when really it is not. Certainly you want the issues addressed - for yourself and for the next guest, right? Complaining to the world after the fact does no good. It would be great if people like this would read reviews instead of writing them. It would save them the trouble of having a hard time here. It would also save us the trouble of putting up with them. More importantly, it would save future guests the time and trouble of having to decide whether or not to believe this review.

This guest is easily identifiable because, contrary to what she might believe, it is extremely unusual for a guest to attempt to check in 4 and a half hours before check in time. Not only is 9:30am long before check in time, it was also 2 and a half hours before we opened that day. Besides, what would make a person think there might not be someone still sleeping in the cabin from the night before? At least call first!

This guest was lucky that there was someone here that early. She was extra lucky that the cabin had not been rented the night before. The guest was not concerned when it was explained that housekeeping had not even arrived yet to do inspections of the rooms (thus the sticky traps and their need for removal - all hidden in the usual places, for example, behind cabinet doors). Thanks to her for recognizing the need for pest control, but why not recognize the need for a designated check in time?

So we have learned - Keep the front door LOCKED when we are closed, even if we are in the kitchen doing preparations for dinner.

Hard to believe we take the time to address all these complaints on this site. We care far more about future guests reading this than we care about the complaining guests leaving these comments, especially when their large group in 3 cabins made us think everything was great. I guess we are supposed to respond saying things like "we are so sorry you had this experience". Of course we are saddened to hear of bad experiences, and this is something we WOULD say IF the guest had enough respect for themselves, future guests and the establishment to bring their issues to US. We are far from perfect, but we are consistently making every effort to ensure guest satisfaction and repair oversights brought to our attention.

In this review, the cabins start out "quaint" but end up being "shabby and run down". True, they are old (1920's and 40's) and rustic (with the addition of electric heat and private bathrooms), but clean and well-maintained - rustic being a large part of the charm of this historic property. When the reviewer made her reservation, the smaller and more affordable cabins had already been reserved. This guest chose a larger cabin in order to be able to bring her pet - which she did NOT keep on a leash (a request clearly outlined in our policies, for guest and pet safety). We DO have more affordable options (and they all come with clean sheets and towels). This can easily be viewed on our website along with photographs and details. Her cabin, #4, was $130, not $140, which includes the taxes as well as two days of hot springs access for 4 guests.

As we have said so many times in these review responses, educate yourself about where you are going. Your expectations have a lot to do with how happy you will be with your visit. We feel like a broken record, but it is worth repeating if it saves someone a miserable experience. This is a unique property with abnormal circumstances. On the phone guests are encouraged to look at the website. In the email confirmation, containing helpful hints, we touch base on a lot of topics. We understand most guests don't read them, but we still feel it necessary to share useful information, like hours of operation and check in time - two topics this guest obviously missed, along with the pet policy, even though she claims to have read the email.

Another topic we discuss on the phone and in the email is our small kitchen and small staff and the need for reservations and placing dinner orders ahead of time. Some guests, like this one, ignore this procedure, throwing a wrench in the whole process. They simply do not understand how much of a difference this makes, not only to their experience, but to the experience of other guests, giving us the ability to run the kitchen more efficiently.

If you do not wish to discuss your dinner plans with us, you are welcome to eat somewhere with a larger kitchen and staff, but that is not how it works here. Local alternatives are listed in the cabins for guests to consider. Sometimes when guests do not make reservations it all works out fine. Sometimes the wait is longer. Sometimes it just makes our evening more stressful but what we hope to avoid is causing OTHER guests to have to wait longer, the ones who place orders ahead of time.

We are owner operated and make these requests for good reasons, making sure to give guests ample opportunity to comply. The funny thing is, it's not the people passing by that see our sign and stop in for a soak and pizza that have a hard time understanding. More often, it is the guests spending the night, even after they have been briefed before arriving, who have a hard time with ordering ahead.

The vast majority of guests appreciate ordering ahead because it means they will spend less time waiting in the dining room and more time enjoying the pool, outdoor activities or simply relaxing in their cabins. The alternative would be to only offer one dish, meatloaf for example, and say it is served from 6 until 7pm. Take it or leave it. We don't want to be THAT restrictive. See our reasoning?

As to the claim of rancid butter, it is also easy to know where that comment came from, as we have only ever gotten that complaint once and that guest was courteous enough to bring it to our attention. We were embarrassed and apologetic. Strange thing about it was everyone else in the dining room had the same butter, including the table of the guest writing the review. No one else had a problem, but who knows, maybe they just didn't tell us.

The guest with the butter complaint raved about the rest of the dinner. We are pretty conscious about making sure guests are enjoying the food, as well as their overall visit. We are frequently surprised by how surprised guests are when they find out how good the food really is! Maybe we scare them with our ordering practices. That is not our intention. We appreciate their cooperation. It is the only way we can confidently put out a good product with our kitchen and staffing limitations, and that's important to us.

We are very open about our policies. We discuss them on the phone and in emails but even after guests sign check in paperwork saying they agree to the policies, we find that most guests haven't actually read them. That is why we list the policies in the rooms and post signs in the pool area regarding some of the more frequently ignored rules, like "no outside food or beverage". We take these things very seriously. It is necessary that we do in order for us to remain open to the public. It is only fair to inform guests about our policies so that there can be no confusion when they are enforced. We will charge you if you damage our property. We will kick you out if you violate our rules. There are State Laws, Liquor Laws and Health Department Laws we must follow and enforce. Wouldn't YOU like to know what behaviors were unacceptable with such severe consequences? That's how we see it!

We have given a lot of consideration to the wording of our policies, including the one this guest finds laughable regarding mattress protection needs. We do not find urine soaked mattresses funny at all, which is why we take extra measures to protect our guests from other people's bodily fluids. Hard to imagine someone not wanting to be protected from the fluids of other guests, but since this guest allowed herself to sleep on sheets she BELIEVED to be dirty, maybe this is something that does not bother her - hard to imagine! Then to imply it would be okay at a lesser price? Gross!

We would absolutely want to know if housekeeping wasn't performing as expected. Why on earth would someone who was convinced they were given dirty sheets not say something? It is clear this person believes us to be obsessive, so why wouldn't she think we would want to know that sort of thing? Probably because it didn't really happen.

It takes a group of obsessive personalities to keep a place like this going. Hopefully all 6 of the people working their butts off to please the guests, have just enough obsessive behaviors to keep it all going the way it should. This is far from easy, but typically very rewarding, as most of our guests have a wonderful time. We just wish the percentage of guests leaving good reviews was a more accurate representation of the whole. Unfortunately, the unhappy guests love to go online and complain. We KNOW we give people good experiences. You have to decide for yourself who to let influence your decisions.

We find that the guests that have the least pleasurable experiences are also the ones we have the least pleasure serving. Sometimes it is all we can do to smile at them and be pleasant as they ignore our requests, while we are opening our HOME to them. Whether it be due to a lack of understanding, or a lack of concern, we attempt to please them regardless, even though, as this guest has proven, it is not always possible. We have to shrug it off and keep going because we have other guests counting on us. That is the demand of the business we run. We try to not let it get us down. This place is too wonderful for that!

We are happy to be here for the happy people. The unhappy people can go somewhere else. This guest had a great suggestion - confession, where she will always be welcome, and where we suspect she is quite often missed.

Thank you for taking the time to read our response. We appreciate the compliments we get from readers about our matter of fact and practical way of being. It is not our intention to offend researchers. We encourage researching and hopefully, if this works for you, we will be seeing you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

I stayed in a cabin. It was a bit primitive but was perfect for my needs. I skied at Lost Trail Pass, returned to the resort, soaked in the pools and had a great dinner every night. In the morning breakfast was quick and good. I will be going back again,

Room Tip: Get one of the cabins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrdillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lths, Owner at Lost Trail Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

That's how we see it! Glad you agree. Good to know that for you we got it right - thanks for sharing!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

My wife and I had a really enjoyable one night stay. Our cabin was clean and comfortable and provided a good night's sleep. Definitely quiet. A late evening soak in the hot spring tub (105º) and swim in the pool (90º or so) was just great. The owners were very cordial and provided a super breakfast in the dining room. Lost Trail Hot Springs Resort is rustic rather than luxurious, but they provide a unique and enjoyable experience. Numerous tree trunk remnants have been carved providing an interesting "art" exhibit.
We do not hesitate to recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lths, Owner at Lost Trail Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Thank you very much for your kind words. It means a lot to us. It's important that guests appreciate this place for what it is because we have no plans to make drastic changes. Most of our guests are typically happy to hear that. However, the Jacuzzi Cabins have a bit of a luxurious touch for those looking for that kind of experience. Thanks for sharing with others!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

This is a review of the hot springs and service, we did not stay here but visited one afternoon to use the hot springs pool. The area around the pool was is poor condition with only a few tables and chairs, some of which were broken. The chairs and tables were dirty. There was an abundance of fake flowers on the deck and the one real hanging pot was totally dead. The hot tub had all kinds of debris floating in it and there were pine cones in the pool. The bathrooms had no soap or towels (not even empty dispensers), just toilet paper. Obviously not a lot of pride shown in the care of this place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lths, Owner at Lost Trail Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Our guests often marvel at the historic property we maintain. Owner operated with limited staff, there are always chores to do. The work is never done. The grass grows and we mow it. The snow falls and we plow. Tables are cleaned and dirtied again. Plants grow and die. It is the cycle of life and the tasks of business owners. We can't recall a time recently, or ever for that matter, that pine cones made a home in the pool but I suppose it isn't impossible - we are in a nature setting. There are trees near the pool but the debris is typically limited to the deck. It is often those trees that dirty the tables and chairs on one particular deck, but hey, nature happens. It's usually what people come here for. They are rarely offended by it. They enjoy the shade the trees provide. It sure can be hard to keep up with nature but who with a tree in their yard doesn't understand that?

I'd enjoy taking this opportunity to tell our readers a little more about ourselves. Call it making lemonade out of lemons, as opposed to the lemons this guest is making out of lemonade. This place is like a cool, refreshing drink. We can help the cares of the world disappear if you're open to our simplistic, rustic environment. Sometimes that's all any of us need – a little simplicity.

The lovely peachy-pink and white artificial flowers will stay bright and cheery long after our short growing season leaves us. Of course silk is a poor substitute for live, but sometimes something's better than nothing, right? That poor hanging plant was the last survivor of the live flowers. In its day it was beautiful but its day is gone and it passed away quickly and quietly while we were sleeping - a cold night in the summer isn't unusual here. Artificial is much more resilient. When it was removed there were still bits of green on the one side, but we took it down anyway. It was a sad sign of the end of the season.

The deck won't be available much longer, with its 6 tables and 36 chairs. It's a shame this guest wasn't able to enjoy our facilities. True, we did discover a broken table recently, but it was fixed the next day. For one day it was resting on its side out of the way. These things happen. Especially when the tables get used as much as ours. Before long the dome will rise enclosing the pool to keep in the warmth. We stay open year round and the dome makes that possible. It's like a giant greenhouse, keeping the air warm around the pool, and keeping the water as warm as possible regardless of below freezing temperatures outside.

The question I have for people who leave opinions for the world instead of coming to the business for help is - why? Why don't they raise their concerns when something could be done about it? Why don't they want to enjoy themselves? Why do they travel looking for things to complain about? If this guest had given us the chance we could have done something about many of these issues. He criticizes the service without giving us the chance to serve him. Of course we have soap and of course we have towels. No, we do not keep empty soap dispensers in the bathrooms. Most guests come equipped but for those that do not - we are here to help. I'm glad to hear we weren't out of toilet paper. That can happen on occasion too! Then he really may have had to talk to us. Or maybe it would have just remained empty for the next guest. Don't we all love that?

The trick is letting us know there is something we can do to help you enjoy yourself! We want you to enjoy yourself! Why not try talking to us? Whatever, too late now, but just so everyone else knows, we have soap and towels and shampoo and conditioner and toothpaste and toothbrushes and bathing suits and pool toys as well as goggles and snacks and beverages and a restaurant with awesome steaks and pizzas and lodging ranging from tent camping to a Jacuzzi cabin and a staff that aims to please - so much so that we even keep a pool skimmer around for the rare debris in the pool or hot tub. Imagine that! Who would've thought! But seriously...we cannot express this point strongly enough.

The other point we'd like to make is read reviews before you go, don't just write them after you leave. We feel a lot of unpleasant trips could be avoided if people had realistic expectations of where they're headed. Of course you have to read these opinions keeping in mind we don't all like the same things. Sometimes by reading about a reviewer you can learn more about them and therefore get a better idea of how much to value their opinion. Feel free to click on their profile and read other reviews they've left.

Helpful to understand about our property is that it has buildings dating back to the 1800s and 1920s and 1940s - repair is a constant. We take great pride in our business and feel fortunate that we have been able to keep the hot springs available to the public for over 20 years while other hot springs facilities in the area closed down years ago. Unfortunately that didn't shine through for this guest but what can we say? You can't win them all, even at this Best of the Last Best Places! Hidden Gem! Our Little Piece of Heaven!

If ever there is an issue with our facilities, please, please, please tell us about it so we can fix it for you and the other guests still to come! If leaving statements like this online is intended to help other travelers then start by helping the travelers coming that very same day. We sure do get tired of telling people this but we really do believe that talking to the business, instead of complaining later, would make a better day for everyone. Isn't that really the goal here? Let's all have a happy day! Or is that too laid back for the critical traveler? Meanwhile, we will continue to mow and plow and clean and soldier on and we're still looking for the pine cone in the pool. It's not worth cutting a tree down over, but rest assured, if we did, we would turn its stump into another one of our creative carvings of the Lewis and Clark era – because we have great pride in our property, location and history.

Thanks for taking the time to learn more about us. We'll look forward to your visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Our family of four had a very nice stay at Lost Springs. We loved swimming in the pools, our tent site was nice, and the breakfast before we left was delish. Would love to try the pools in the winter after skiing.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Bnrfedor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lths, Owner at Lost Trail Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

We will definitely look forward to your visit in the ski season. Your family was a pleasure to serve!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

My Wife and I recently went to Montana to do "All the Hot Springs in Montana", we visited seven with our 20 foot travel trailer.

Then we discovered the Best of the the Seven, "Lost Trail Hot Springs Resort" http://losttrailhotsprings.com/.

Eighty miles south of Missoula MT. on Highway 93 South, just past Sula Mt. in the Bitterroot Valley.

The owners Mary Dell Honey and her son Stann Honey (with Mary's Husband Gary Honey and Stann's girlfriend Renee) were all Gracious Hosts and Stann will facilitate you and yours as much as humanly possible.

Stann wears many hats, besides being the cook, pool expert and all around fix it guy, he even runs the Lost trail Radio Station!
That's right, Lost Trail has it's own radio station that has a 6 mile range, with a wide range of musical tastes. You Will Like!

The Cabins, RV Park, Restaurant/Lounge and of course the beautiful (chemical-free) hot springs pool and hot tub are truly to die for!
Did I mention the 300 year old Ponderosa Pine trees all around?

I'll Be Back!

At 8,000 feet,
Mike & Cindy Swendrowski,
Estes Park, Colorado.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Swendrowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lths, Owner at Lost Trail Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

You were a pleasure to have join us! You must do it again! Thanks for the kind words and your keen skills of observation. Thanks as well for sharing your observations with the world. The happy people are all too often too busy being happy to think about telling perfect strangers online about their happiness. Thanks for spreading happy words. It gives us warm fuzzy feelings. Truly, these pleasant reviews mean a lot to us! Thank you for helping us conquer the negativity in the world.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Lost Trail Hot Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lost Trail Hot Springs Resort

Address: 283 Lost Trail Hot Springs Rd, Sula, MT 59871
Region: United States > Montana > Sula
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sula
Price Range: £55 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This rustically elegant resort, with cabins, motel units, and a family reunion lodge, has accommodation options for everyone, including RVers and tenters. The hot spring pool measures 20' by 70', goes from 10" to 9' deep, and averages 95 degrees in summer and 93 in winter. The hot tub is 10 degrees warmer. Plan on NY style, fresh dough, thin crust pizzas or catch up with our Wood Fired Pizza Wagon during your visit for Neapolitan pizzas. Relax with a refreshment from our full bar and get lost in the wide range of tunes from our radio station, 102.1FM KLTR Lost Trail Radio. Conveniently located in the middle of nowhere. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lost Trail Hot Springs Hotel Sula
Lost Trail Hot Springs Resort Sula, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing