We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Bad!”
Review of Big Sky Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Big Sky Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Superior
Certificate of Excellence
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not Bad!”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The Big Sky Motel is pretty much the only place to stay in Superior, Montana. Sometimes that is not really a good thing, however, this place was not bad at all. It is an older, "vintage" motel, but the rooms appear to have been recently updated with new carpeting, new beds, and new bathroom tile. It was clean, the beds were comfy, free wifi, and good television reception. And it was relatively quiet, given that I-90 and the railroad tracks are very close by. When we got there, the person in the office told us that there was a softball team staying there and she was concerned that they might be noisy. She told us to call immediately if we were bothered by loud noises coming from the boys on the team and she would take care of it. . Lucky for them, the boys behaved themselves and we got a good night's sleep! We had dinner at Durangos, just across the street - good, lots of food, great service. All in all, it was good.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor so we didn't have "ceiling noise". Be aware that smoking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosie S, General Manager at Big Sky Motel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Hello from Superior, Mt.! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. I must say, these softball players were awesome! We hope to see you on your next visit and so happy you enjoyed our motel. Thank you Rosie General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    28
    15
    3
    4
See reviews for
35
36
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Oroville, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We picked the Big Sky as half way to our rendezvous with family. The Big Sky was a wonderful surprise. Older but clean, convenient, the staff was beyond helpful. All in all a great buy and a good stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosie S, General Manager at Big Sky Motel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear George, Thank you for your review, we appreciate it so much. We are always undertaking a new project. We recently did our parking lot and purchased new lush bedding. It's always exciting to make improvements and especially when our guests notice the changes. Thanks again and have a great summer! Rosie General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyside, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Upstairs, non smoking room, very nicely furnished with lots of places to set bags and belongings on. Nice air conditioning that wasn't blowing directly at us and was already turned on when we entered the room. The town is small but very pleasant. Friendly people. Across from the motel is Durango Family restaurant and gift shop that has a terrific variety of items including ice cream. Great restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbi808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosie S, General Manager at Big Sky Motel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Hello from hot and sunny Montana! So glad to get your review. Thank you for taking the time. I'm so glad you enjoyed your room, our girls work very hard to keep them nice. At the end of the season we are planning a Trip Advisor party to reward them for all they do. Thanks to people like you they can get the thanks they deserve. I hope you have a fun summer vacation and we'll see you on your next trip! Rosie General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

My husband and I were in Montana for the first time on our way to Yellowstone. The drive was beautiful and the Big Sky Motel was a perfect place to stop. The friendly service made us feel welcome and the rooms were clean, comfortable and reasonably priced. The flowers on the property were a plus! It is located in a quiet, small town not far from the highway. The restaurant across the street was delicious. We were very pleased!

Room Tip: Just ask the front desk and they will accommodate you! They took great care of us!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorinda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosie S, General Manager at Big Sky Motel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Hi Dorinda! I'm so glad you liked your stay. It is because of wonderful people like you that I love this business. How many people get paid to do something they love? I am one of the lucky ones. I hope your trip was nothing but fun and we'll look forward to seeing you next time! Once you've come to Montana, you always come back! Rosie General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langley, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Big Sky Motel is a gem along I-90 when you need to overnight in MT. Clean rooms, comfortable beds, restaurant across the street and the mountains for a backdrop. Minimal street noise, and very quiet overnight. Love the small-town lack of congestion and, especially, the friendliness of the woman at the front desk. We'll be back!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pamikeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosie S, General Manager at Big Sky Motel, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review! Especially that you took the time over a busy 4th of July weekend to do it. We are so glad to have your opinion and that you are willing to share with others. We hope to see you on your next trip and will promise to keep our high standards. Thank you! Rosie General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
363 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

On our last day of a three week road trip through our nations canyon national parks we needed to find a motel to stay the night. We had left this night open in case we decided to stay another day at Yellowstone. Since there were late snows we could not complete our touring the park, we spent the morning touring Fort Yellowstone and Gardner before we headed home. I looked on TripAdvisor and found this property and called to make a reservation. The help we received from Rosie was exceptional. I had never heard of Superior, Montana, but we will never forget our wonderful night spent there. When you stop, take some time to drive through this small town, eat at he Durango and have coffee at Katie's Flowers, Gifts & Espresso in the old school. We will be back.

Room Tip: Any room is good and you do feel secure, across the street from the rural County Sheriff's headq...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rshay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosie S, General Manager at Big Sky Motel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Hello from Big Sky Motel, Montana's little hidden gem! We are so grateful for your review, it's so very helpful to know how to make our guests always feel at home. Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We will look forward to our next time together. Safe travels and thanks again! Rosie General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena, Montana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I hit a deer outside of Superior and needed to stay the night in the town until I could get my car fixed, and the owners/operators were just amazing. Rosie made me a cup of tea as I talked to the Highway Patrol trooper, even though it was after hours, and the next day Anna and Rosie let me stay in the room all day to wait for me to be able to leave. Everyone was so very nice to me during a really hard time, and the room was very comfortable and stylish. I know if I'm ever in the region again, I'm definitely stopping there, and will recommend it to anyone else in the region.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brenna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosie S, General Manager at Big Sky Motel, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Hello, I see you made it home safely with no more problems. I'm so glad you weren't hurt. We hope that we are always kind to our guests. It is the easiest thing to smile at others and hope you can make their day a little brighter. You made my day better with your pretty smile and your calmness after having quite an ordeal. We hope to see you again and that the only deer you see are not on the freeway! Thank you Rosie General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Big Sky Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Sky Motel

Property: Big Sky Motel
Address: 103 4th Ave E, Superior, MT 59872
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Superior
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Superior
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Big Sky Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Montana Adventure begins at Big Sky Motel, located just off of Interstate 90, Exit 47, in Superior, Montana, welcomes all to our hospitality and the splendor of our picturesque setting located in the Rocky Mountains. For today's traveler we offer 'rates you can sleep with' in a quality AAA rated facility. Whether you are a single traveler or a family you will find the comforts of home including Satellite TVs, quality beds, individual heating and air conditioning and high speed Internet access. Our cheery staff is eagerly waiting to serve you from check-in to your continental breakfast. Our guests rate us tops from friendliness to cleanliness. Pets are allowed in designated rooms, additional fees apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Big Sky Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Host Big Sky Hotel Superior

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing