We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Laughing Horse Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Swan Lake B&B and Inns
Cheney, Washington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful getaway!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

My husband and I just returned from Laughing Horse Lodge having taken advantage of their spring getaway package. As their website promises, the food was wonderful, and the company charming. The accommodations are very restful, relaxing, and extremely clean and the gardens a perfect place to relax and read a book. Kathleen and her staff are so friendly they they feel like family in no time. All of the food served was outstanding and of the highest quality. Kathleen's mom was a delight to talk with. This is a perfect location for those wanting to explore Glacier National Park and the town surrounding it. I would highly recommend Laughing Horse Lodge to anyone as it was reasonable price wise and more than worth what we spent!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandyJo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    18
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
25
84
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Liberty Lake, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

We're coming back soon! Our stay was perfect in every way. Kathleen is the perfect hostess, unbelievable chef, charming and fun to be with. The lodge is homey, immaculately clean and comfy. Gourmet meals ala Kathleen...INCREDIBLE!!!! Lodge gardens lovely. Every where you look the amazing majesty of Montana greets you. Expecialy nice to be able to bring our beloved German Shepherd Bodie into a "non-smoking-dog" friendly environment. Loved Cooper and Nikki....Our 2-day stay left us wishing we could have stayed longer and anticipating a return visit very soon. Thanks Kathleen and Gloria...Till next time.......

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

I wondered if this place would suit us, since Kathleen, the fabulous owner, welcomes well-behaved dogs. I wondered if it would be more doggy oriented than I'd be comfortable with. I should not have spent a moment with that concern. My husband and I loved the house dogs and became most fond of Cooper, a friendly and mannerly fellow.
Okay, now to the place itself. It is charming. Birds flitting through the courtyard gardens, comfy chairs (with side tables to hold a nice glass of wine for me) allowed the perfect spot to gear down and enjoy this beautiful planet. The room was clean and comfortable and, well, perfect for our needs. The biggest surprise and delight, for both my husband and I, was the gourmet quality food. Kathleen cooks up such yummy dishes that it is hard to decide what not to have. The wine suggestions were sumptuous. There is beer too, but I was hooked on her wines and never ventured to the suds. The service is warm, knowledgeable, easygoing. Kathleen knows the area well and will guide you to whatever sort of outdoor thrill you'd like to try. We took advantage of her spring special and felt well taken care of and supremely happy with our decision. Quite a deal at a really special place. Thank you Kathleen! John and I had a great time.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

We stayed here in August 2011 and I still have such fond memories! The cabins are rustic, clean and so cozy. The comforter/quilt on the bed was perfect for that mountain chill in the evening. The garden in the courtyard was a pleasure to meander around in and the location can't be beat. Seeley Lake, Glacier and myriad other wonderful sites within driving distance. We also met some cool people in the lodge area during our stay. That's what makes the Laughing Horse good. Now for what makes it great: Kathleen. Her cooking mojo is awesome. Delicious everything! Way better than a lot of the restaurants we tried on our trip. She also has a knack for figuring out what people like to do and see and giving them local knowledge that is tailored to their tastes. In our case she hit it out of the park every time with her recommendations on where to go, what to do and where to eat. Simply one of the best places I have ever stayed. My only reservation about writing this recommendation is that if LHL gets too popular, we may not be able to get a room next time ;-)

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chilliwack, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

5 women on a motorcycle tour of Montana - what a blast. We stayed at the lodge one night in late June 2011 and found it a very pleasant and welcoming experience to enhance our trip. We arrived mid-afternoon on a sunny warm day, checked in, and settled in the quaint courtyard for a beer and to chat with fellow clients of the hotel. To our luck and surprise, the lodge was hosting a beer-tasting and appy night for the locals and clients. For a small fee, we joined the group...interesting collection of international beers and great appys but the best of the night was meeting the people attending. The rooms are beautifully decorated, country-styled with knotty pine walls, comfortable bed with 'home made' quilt and a collection of books. The lodge is surrounded by beautiful gardens of flowers, herbs and vegetables. Very relaxing and I will definitely return - for a longer stay, perhaps?!?

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reid_Deb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

Was fortunate to stay at the Laughing Horse Lodge during a late summer trip to Montana. From the moment I arrived I loved it (see your name on the board - check yourself in)!

Kathleen (inn owner & chef) runs this amazing little inn with non-stop precision. Catch her in the kitchen and have her whip you up some mushrooms with gorgonzola sauce - and, how do you like your eggs? She aims to please. Enjoyed her wry sense of humor too - she's authentic and fun.

Rooms were super comfy, grounds were beautiful with gardens and organic veggie/herb boxes. Dining under the canopies with a glass of wine and dinner after hiking - couldn't ask for more.

Traveled alone and felt wonderfully at home (even the parrot talks to you!) Met great folks from all over, loved the dogs, and with our good-natured ribbing, felt like Kathleen was an old friend I'd known for years.

Highly recommend the Laughing Horse, and sure hope to get out that way again. Thanks Kathleen, for sharing your home with us!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank esty2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2011

My wife and I found the Laughing Horse each separately and were telling each other about this place that has two Goldens as part of the B and B. Being on the road on a Harley for ten days we felt the need for some dog time since ours was back n Fl. We had a great time with both of the Golden and Cooper even spent the night in our Cabin. The dinner the night before was great and they even reopened the kitchen to accommodate our late arrival. breakfast was special and we were happy and full to continue our journey.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Waterkiler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swan Lake
14.3 mi away
Marina Cay Resort and Conference Center
21.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Flathead Lake Inn and Suites
21.4 mi away
Red Lion Inn & Suites Ridgewater Polson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Islander Inn
Islander Inn
#3 of 9 in Bigfork
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
14.0 mi away
Timbers Motel
Timbers Motel
#2 of 2 in Bigfork
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
11.1 mi away
Candlewycke Inn B&B
Candlewycke Inn B&B
#2 of 9 in Bigfork
5.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laughing Horse Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laughing Horse Lodge

Property: Laughing Horse Lodge
Address: 22360 Mt Highway 83, Milemarker 71.5, Swan Lake, MT 59911-7822
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Swan Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Swan Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
European-style road house featuring gourmet dining and comfortable, quiet rooms - no TVs, Phones, or Alarm clocks in rooms, no cell service on property. Non-smoking dogs welcome. Complimentary WiFi. Near Glacier National Park and Bob Marshall Wilderness. Perfect for weekend getaways, intimate weddings, family reunions and retreats. Open May through October. Dining room known for presenting mostly organic, always fresh and totally delicious meals - gluten and dairy free, as well as vegan meals available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Laughing Horse Hotel Swan Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing