We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Montana Magic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Laughing Horse Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Swan Lake
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Laughing Horse Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Swan Lake B&B and Inns
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Montana Magic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

We spent three days at the Laughing Horse Lodge, and the entire experience was exceptional. We have traveled quite a bit across the US and abroad, and this is our favorite B&B. The Laughing Horse Lodge perfectly balances a private room and bath with a gorgeous common courtyard and dining area. The rooms are warm, cozy, and impeccably clean and are a great choice for either couples on a getaway or small families traveling, with or without pets.

The owner/chef, Kathleen, is an excellent cook, hostess, and concierge - all-in-one. We consistently marveled at Kathleen’s knowledge of and attention to her guests – from remembering our names (having booked weeks prior) to another couple’s dietary requests from days before - amazing! Kathleen has a wealth of knowledge about the area and sights-to-see as well as a hilarious sense of humor. Even though she is the owner/chef (and more), she still somehow finds the time to visit every table and chat with her guests at both breakfast at dinner and keep them laughing.

We visited Glacier National Park a bit late in the season, as parts of the Park’s roads were closing for construction, but Kathleen wouldn’t hear of it. With her guidance and expertise, we were able to see almost everything that we wanted in the Park and the vicinity. Thank you, Kathleen!

If you really want to treat yourself, visit Kathleen’s restaurant for dinner. She has a great selection of wine, beer, and food with a little bit of something for everyone – ranging from dinner salads, pizza, and burgers to steak, fish, and lamb. Even if dinner doesn’t fit into your plans, after having had Kathleen’s huckleberry and peach pancakes, you’ll find yourself coming back again (and maybe again and again!) for dinner.

If you’re trying to decide on a place to stay near Glacier and are looking for a good location and comfort, great food, and a fantastic hostess and atmosphere, the Laughing Horse Lodge is it! Just remember –you’re in northwestern Montana; if you can’t take a holiday away from e-mail/technology and unplug, then you’re probably visiting the wrong place anyway.

Room Tip: A room with a kitchenette works great for storing picnic provisions which may need refrigeration.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank akaplan870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    18
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
25
84
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

We just spent 6 days at Laughing Horse & we have only the best to say about our stay there. The room was very clean & neat. The food was excellent, also. We plan to return again as soon as we can. Kathleen has a very good sense of humor & we really enjoyed talking to her. She can help you plan your day with information & maps of how to get to where you want to go. Kathleen is an awesome chef. Her dinners are great, too.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent. No Pool or fitness center, but who needs them when the area is so full...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012 via mobile

What a lovely place!! So welcoming wonderful breakfast.. We heard the dinners are first rate. Right across from Swan Lake? They couldnt do enough for us.. Rooms kitschy and comfortable outside area great.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank okiedover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

We particularly enjoyed our host, Kathleen, for her gregarious, forthright humour and her particular attention to her individual guests. For example, she makes a point of discussing each party's plans for the day over breakfast, and then offering suggestions. On our first evening there, I asked whether she sells the delicious herbal Montana teas that she serves, (do try 'Evening in Missoula!) and on our departure day Kathleen remembered to have a package of tea ready for me to take home.

The cosy log cabin rooms are charmingly decorated, including homey quilts on the beds. Breakfasts are delicious and varied, and portions can be just a little on the dainty side (don't be shy about asking for seconds). Do make a dinner reservation--the meals are expertly prepared, and the portions are generous. We did wonder whether serving breakfast beside the parrot's perch, and having dogs wander through the dining area, is quite appropriate.

The weather was uncharacteristically hot during our stay, however we closed our window at breakfast time, opening it and turning on the window fan in the early evening, after the outside air had cooled. This kept our room cool throughout the day, and the nights are cool enough for anybody's taste! Take your shower early in the morning, or later in the day, when other guests are out of their rooms, as hot water is limited.

We loved Kathleen's courtyard-style garden, with its hollyhocks, trailing baskets, and organic vegetables. Guests may sit there anytime, and the restaurant area includes both indoor and garden seating.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MayLouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
205 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

We decided to stop here based on the reviews and because it was near the park. It is a lovely setting. My kids were addicted to Kathleen's dogs and the parrot. It was hotter than normal so we used the provided fan in the room and once the sun went down, it got cool quickly. We enjoyed both dinner and breakfast and let me tell you- it was fantastic! The kids had a dessert made of chocolate chip cookies warm and melted in a mini-cast iron skillet with ice cream. They said it was the best dessert they've ever had- and trust me, they are sweet aficiondos. Very nice and relaxing night for sure.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank chamdex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westport, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

Want to stay somewhere where the atmosphere, beauty and exceptional quality is almost equal to the Montana mountains? We,, consider this quaint, cozy B and B because everything about it is just exceptional, including the food, owner Kathleen, rooms, talking parrot and 3 dogs.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marjorie147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jukkasjarvi, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

At first glance when you arrive outside the lodge on the small road passing by you might be tempted to go on to the next place on your trip. Do not! Everything about this place is behind the front. A beatiful small garden surrounded by the rooms and its also in this garden you get to meet fellow travellers and not the least to enjoy some of the best food avaiable anywhere. Perfectly located for lots of adventure, hiking or just a quick swim in Swan lake.
Be sure to use the great knowledge of Kathleen, the owner, who knows the area very well. By the way talk to her for any reason because she is great fun and make sure the hospitality is impecable.
We stayed several nights and enjoyed it thoroughly.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swan Lake
14.3 mi away
Marina Cay Resort and Conference Center
21.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Flathead Lake Inn and Suites
21.4 mi away
Red Lion Inn & Suites Ridgewater Polson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.8 mi away
KwaTaqNuk Resort & Casino
10.4 mi away
Islander Inn
Islander Inn
#3 of 9 in Bigfork
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
14.0 mi away
Timbers Motel
Timbers Motel
#2 of 2 in Bigfork
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laughing Horse Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laughing Horse Lodge

Property: Laughing Horse Lodge
Address: 22360 Mt Highway 83, Milemarker 71.5, Swan Lake, MT 59911-7822
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Swan Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Swan Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
European-style road house featuring gourmet dining and comfortable, quiet rooms - no TVs, Phones, or Alarm clocks in rooms, no cell service on property. Non-smoking dogs welcome. Complimentary WiFi. Near Glacier National Park and Bob Marshall Wilderness. Perfect for weekend getaways, intimate weddings, family reunions and retreats. Open May through October. Dining room known for presenting mostly organic, always fresh and totally delicious meals - gluten and dairy free, as well as vegan meals available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Laughing Horse Hotel Swan Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing