We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCEPTIONAL & WONDERFUL”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Laughing Horse Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Swan Lake B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Laughing Horse is truly a GREAT find! Located in beautiful Swan Lake this B&B has everything you need for a get away, a great time with family & friends, and you can even toss in a wedding!!! Excellent food, clean comfortable cozy rooms with private baths, lovely lodge with warm hospitality, all wrapped up in a lovely western Montana location. Kathleen & her staff go the extra mile. We shall be returning as soon as possible :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bogiezone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (164)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 164 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2013

What a charming, cozy little gem. We just wanted to get away for the weekend and googled this place. Sure, why not? and so glad we did. Our cabin was #3, no tv, no wifi/internet, just good ole relaxing, and talking. This was definetly a must visit again. It kind of reminds me of a chalet in the remote mountains, with a beautiful lake across the street. Oh wait! That's exactly what we had. I can't wait to visit again.Kathleen and her staff, made our visit complete. The Breakfast, Blueberry, peach pancakes, amazing thick slices of bacon, perfect over medium eggs, and great coffee, juice waiting for you. Oh, can't forget the friendly Goldens waiting to greet you in the morning with their smile. Thank you, Kathleen and Staff. we look forward to seeing you again soon. This time we will be there for dinner!

Room Tip: I really liked what we had. Wouldn't really change it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SAVon64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Recently spent two nights at the Laughing Horse, and had a good time in this Artsy & Homey Montana Inn. I relied again on TA reviews to book this location and found the reviews to be accurate as always.
The dinner we were served the evening of our arrival was wonderful. The two breakfasts we enjoyed were one of the best we have had in years of travel. Kathleen the inn keeper/chef has an outstanding menu, and her talent in the kitchen is enjoyed by the locals and guests of the inn.
Rooms are clean, comfortable, and so very cozy. We both overslept on both nights we were at this location. Close the drapes and snuggle into slumber. Kathleen noticed that we had overslept the second day, and came to remind us that breakfast was about to end.
I found her lodging prices to be very reasonable. Her food outstanding. The rooms cozy/cute, and the overall décor fun.
There are only 2 parking places near the motel rooms (the other places are at the front near the hwy) which can be a pain. If you are not dog & bird people, this is not the place for you. I would suggest you make dining reservations as this is one popular place to eat.
Would I return? Yes Yes Yes

Room Tip: Book early to get a favorable room. Some have better amenities (ie: micro/refrig).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mybagispacked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We booked a two night stay at the Laughing Horse Lodge on the advise of friends (who also came for a two night stay), so we not only enjoyed the beautuful lodge and it's surroundings, but a good time with good friends.

The owner, Kathleen, was a funny and courteous host, as well as her staff!

This was the first time we had ever taken our dog, Archie, on a trip with us. He was treated very well by everyone and REALLY enjoyed the freedom of the spacious courtyard. Dog heaven! And he had playmates...even better.

Our room was so peaceful; comfortable bed and lovely decor! Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

The food was exceptional! Great menu choices and delicious! Yum!

We will definetly be back next year! Thank you!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adhiscock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We booked two nights at the Laughing Horse as the centerpiece of our honeymoon, especially looking forward to the Montana Feast four-course tasting menu. The feast turned out great, but here's what happened first:

We were cutting it close getting to the lodge on time for dinner, so we called ahead. Turns out that when my wife called in the reservation several months earlier and spoke with the owner at length, making it clear it was our honeymoon, the reservation was apparently not made or somehow lost. Rather than being apologetic, my wife felt she was treated as an inconvenience. We did, in fact, make it on time for dinner, and the owner found a room for us. Not as nice as the one we booked, but if nothing else was left, fine. We were just happy to be there.

The dinner and wine were spectacular, and the atmosphere was nice. Each course was accompanied by an excellent wine, and the staff was happy to top off glasses. Overall, we thought it was worth the $100 a head price for the feast and it was a wonderful end to our long trip from Colorado to Montana. The two breakfasts we had after that were also delicious.

Our room was cozy and a bit rustic, which we expected. The sink was minuscule, yet still managed to crowd the small room, and the bathroom was a bit underdone. The walls are paper thin (we could hear the man in the room next to us snoring). On our second day, our doorknob malfunctioned, the owner couldn't get it to work, and I had to crawl through the window. (She said she had installed it new earlier in the summer and that was the second time it had jammed--maybe don't buy the cheapest doorknob at the hardware store?) Again, we're fine with rustic, and under normal circumstances this wouldn't be bothersome. But knowing it's our honeymoon and after losing our reservation, the hospitable thing to do would have been to move us to a better room on the second night when it was clear that the place wasn't full. This was only more obvious to us after the doorknob malfunction. Further, the website advertises a library and TV room, but when we tried to visit the library/TV room in the main lodge just before 9:00 we found the door locked - written policy notes that it's available until 10:00.

The owner noted in response to another negative review that guests should be comfortable in identifying problems so they can be fixed. We didn't raise a stink, but I don't feel that we should have to request an upgrade or ask for something to make the stay more special when there were problems that were already apparent. Good customer service means fixing problems and making up for them adequately without being asked, especially when it's a special occasion such as ours.

One more caveat. The lodge is explicit about this, and we're pet people, so it's fine with us. But be aware that the resident dogs and bird pretty much reside in the dining area, in case that's something you're not comfortable with.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We spent one night at the Laughing Horse Lodge. However, I wish that we could have stayed longer. The rooms were comfortable and well decorated and there was a delightful porch to sit on and enjoy the night. We had a five star dinner of salmon and a huckleberry and peach cobbler with ice cream and whipped cream. Breakfast was French toast stuffed with huckleberries, fruit and sausage. Kathleen, the owner, is cordial and informative about activities in the area. She works hard to make your stay enjoyable. North Carolina is far from the Laughing Horse Lodge but we would love to visit this gem of a place again.
Mimi and David from Charlotte,N.C.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sweetmimit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We booked our wedding & all the rooms at The Laughing Horse Lodge! The rooms are very nice, quiet, a beautiful place for anything! Great outdoors seating, lots of activities to do if you choose! The food here was excellent! CHEF quality! Great service, very nice staff that waits on you hand & foot! We can't say enough good things about Kathleen & how well she runs this great B&B ! We encourage everyone to stay here! You won't be disappointed! We will be going back again & again!

Room Tip: Room 2 & 3 have microwaves & fridges!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephano617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swan Lake
14.3 mi away
Marina Cay Resort and Conference Center
21.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Flathead Lake Inn and Suites
10.8 mi away
Flathead Lake Resort
Flathead Lake Resort
#5 of 9 in Bigfork
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Bridge Street Cottages
Bridge Street Cottages
#1 of 9 in Bigfork
137 reviews
14.0 mi away
Timbers Motel
Timbers Motel
#2 of 2 in Bigfork
112 reviews
10.4 mi away
Islander Inn
Islander Inn
#3 of 9 in Bigfork
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laughing Horse Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laughing Horse Lodge

Address: 22360 Mt Highway 83, Milemarker 71.5, Swan Lake, MT 59911-7822
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Swan Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Swan Lake
Price Range: £49 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
European-style road house featuring gourmet dining and comfortable, quiet rooms - no TVs, Phones, or Alarm clocks in rooms, no cell service on property. Non-smoking dogs welcome. Complimentary WiFi. Near Glacier National Park and Bob Marshall Wilderness. Perfect for weekend getaways, intimate weddings, family reunions and retreats. Open May through October. Dining room known for presenting mostly organic, always fresh and totally delicious meals - gluten and dairy free, as well as vegan meals available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Laughing Horse Hotel Swan Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing