We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend birthday getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Laughing Horse Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Swan Lake B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Again, we had a wonderful, relaxing time thanks to Kathleen & her staff! The room was excellent! The food was superb! (especially the french bread & goat butter & the Tomato soup! The steaks were some of the best tasting we've ever had and really tender! We will be back again!

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice and comfy! If you have kids you might pick the one with bunk beds for them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephano617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (164)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 164 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2014

We came through the Swan Lake area a couple of years ago and discovered this charming, well-run spot. Upon our return this year we were greeted with an early season package including dinners and breakfast- [and the usual golden retriever hosts]! No need to twist our arms--coming back from a day of hiking to a classy, delicious yet homey meal is the best! We love the attention to detail here. Homey, clean western style rooms out back surround an inviting courtyard and garden. Just a perfect get-away in an amazing location.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whitni F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

This is the second time we stayed at the Laughing Horse. We decided to get away over Thanksgiving and the Thanksgiving meal was wonderful. Kathleen is a spectacular chef. Her meals are unique. This is true for dinner or breakfast. She is also very accommodating regarding dietary issues. The room was cozy and clean. The bed was comfy and warm despite the cold temps outside.The only draw back to the room is that due to the lodge's age, the walls between the rooms are thin. We love to travel to Glacier National Park from here. It's about an hour's drive and fun to stop in Kalispell along the way.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lolly6631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Decided not to cook dinner for Thanksgiving and found this little gem on the internet. Was worried I would be disappointed, but it turned out wonderful. The meal was great, loved the dogs which seemed to make it even more homey and just a very nice evening. The rooms are cozy and very clean. We stayed in the winter so bring your long johns.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beverly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We found this delightful lodge on our return from Glacier National Park. It turned out to be a hidden gem. A warm ,cozy room with the heat on greeted us late at night. A unique check in
included signing in on a board on the front porch and checking off the room we chose. The room was adorable and clean . To our surprise the breakfast of eggs and, sausage was cooked to order and included homemade scones and a large urn to coffee to wake us up. .
The proprietor took great care to make us feel welcome inspite of this last minute stay.late in the season. Would love to return for several days to enjoy the flower garden and read the interesting selelction of books in our room,

Room Tip: call ahead in order to have room heated and prepared.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank honeysuckle60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Went for a wedding for two dear friends and had a relaxing, enjoyable weekend. Fresh air, delicious beer and 5 star food, nestled in a cozy lodge surrounded by towering trees. Kathleen is down to earth and a superb chef! it's like visiting a long time friend, (along with her 3 dogs, one bird, one mother and a very cute staff). Unplug, unwind bring your apetite, your dog and your stretchy pants ;)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krebbage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

A rare find on Montana Hwy 83. When it comes to hospitality, Kathleen the proprietor and kitchen manager "gets it". Think warm, cozy, eclectic. Beautiful 'log cabin' style rooms with down comforters, wool rugs and and lodge chairs. Sorry, no wi-fi, cell phone reception, nor TV. You're on your own with books, games, or conversation in this place. Faced with losing my wired and now-wireless world, I was scared, very scared at first. But this place grew on me quickly - like in the first 5 minutes. I would recommend to anyone who wants a quiet break in the woods.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank campfamsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Laughing Horse Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laughing Horse Lodge

Address: 22360 Mt Highway 83, Milemarker 71.5, Swan Lake, MT 59911-7822
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Swan Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Swan Lake
Price Range: £47 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
European-style road house featuring gourmet dining and comfortable, quiet rooms - no TVs, Phones, or Alarm clocks in rooms, no cell service on property. Non-smoking dogs welcome. Complimentary WiFi. Near Glacier National Park and Bob Marshall Wilderness. Perfect for weekend getaways, intimate weddings, family reunions and retreats. Open May through October. Dining room known for presenting mostly organic, always fresh and totally delicious meals - gluten and dairy free, as well as vegan meals available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Laughing Horse Hotel Swan Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing