We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Gem in a small town” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Falls Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Falls Motel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Thompson Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Cave Creek, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Gem in a small town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Just visited some old friends that moved to Thompson Falls. It is really a beautiful place, lots of outside stuff to do. If you are looking to get away from it all this is the place! We found a small town gem in a hotel...Fall Motel! The owners were so friendly and very accommodating. We got the suite they have what a room for the price! It was big and had a great comfortable bed! Also a large bathroom and even a patio to sit out on! What a deal! You can tell that the owner was really proud of the job he did when he remodeled the room. Rock walls added to the feel of the room! If you are in the area...treat yourself!

Room Tip: Right off the highway just a block...good sign and easy to find!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FallsMotelMT, Owner at Falls Motel, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Sounds like you stayed in the King Suite - our newest room. We are thrilled to learn how much you enjoyed it. We love how that room turned out after our complete remodel. Thank you for choosing us during your stay in Thompson Falls. We do hope to see you again soon in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    41
    9
    2
    3
See reviews for
37
60
24
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013 via mobile

My friend and I stayed here on business. The rooms were cozy and comfortable. Great location for walking anywhere. The Internet was slow was my only complaint. We had things to do for work and had a hard time doing them, but that just made us enjoy walking around and enjoy the beautiful city. :) We could hear our neighbors talking through the walls but they thankfully quieted down about 11. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank juju_magoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FallsMotelMT, Owner at Falls Motel, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment. We are diligently working on improving our wireless. Next time you're through town maybe Blackfoot Telephone Company will have finished the major upgrade to our system we've ordered.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tullahoma, TN
Level Contributor
76 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

After reading the reviews, we looked for and found the Falls Motel. The room was clean and comfortable. There were just a few hitches for us in particular, but not enough to affect the rating. We normally stay in a two queen room, but they were all booked, so we took a single queen. Usually that suites us OK, but this one was particularly small. The bathroom in particular was so small. We could find no outlet in the bathroom as well. I think all the rooms are a little different and from reading others' reviews, there must be some considerably larger. That said, we are still glad we stayed. The innkeeper told us of the island park behind the hotel and it provided a nice walk. We even saw a deer. The staff was cordial and the room well decorated with wood floors. The grounds are clean. No trouble with wifi at all. Walking distance to restaurants.

Room Tip: Book in advance and ask for a large room. Unless you are traveling alone and don't mind a smal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank USAHwyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FallsMotelMT, Owner at Falls Motel, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

I received your comment card about the outlet in the bathroom. There is one there, it's located on the right side of the mirror/medicine cabinet. It's not easy to locate. Prompted by your comment (thank you), I immediately created a label that points to where it is located.

We have 23 rooms - and everyone one of them is different. We off the small queen singles, larger king singles, a king suite, rooms with two queen beds, and much larger rooms with two queens and a twin in a separate small room.

Thank you for staying with us. We hope to see you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redmond,WA
Level Contributor
149 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

Normally I'd rate a stay such as I had here with two stars rather than four, but the three really nice and friendly people who I spent time with at reception went a long way to compensate for the challenges experienced during the stay.

The big problem was that their Wi-Fi internet was dysfunctional almost to the point of not working at all. I was on a working trip and needed to be able to spend time online, alas, this was almost impossible. But the staff were so helpful - even offering to lend me their own laptop if that would help, and doing all sorts of other thing to help solve the problem, that the problem was not as aggravating as it otherwise would. The even let me plug directly into their Wi-fi hub (same problem) and their router/box from the telco (same problem) and it seems the problem is more than something that could be simply solved by rebooting the boxes.

If, like me, reliable internet access is essential to you, you should call and ask them before booking this property. But if you can manage for a night or two with little or no internet connectivity, then that won't be a problem.

The unit itself was a classic typical older style motel unit. Small bathroom, separate handbasin area, etc. The bed was reasonably comfortable, and it seems the owners have done all they can to reasonably renovate the rooms.

There was one other aggravating problem though. The a/c didn't do much to cool the room. I had it on max all night long, but at 10pm and 11pm at night, it was cooler outside the unit than inside the unit, and again at 7am and 8am the next morning, it was still cooler outside than in.

This was the fourth motel I stayed at in four nights while traveling through NW Montana. The other three all provided breakfast; this place did not.

So, nice people, nasty Wi-Fi and aircon, average room, no breakfast. I'd certainly come back, but I'll call and check about the Wi-Fi first, I think. :)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheTravelInsider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FallsMotelMT, Owner at Falls Motel, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
GOOD NEWS! After much research, stress and work we've solved our internet issue. Seems a setting that worked just fine when we had the system set up was antiquated - new access codes had to be uploaded. Now our internet is not only functioning well the speed has increased significantly. Should you ever come back....you'll be able to get your work done. :-)

Furthermore, we've gone through every room and washed the air filters on our A/C units. Though we do this regularly, the extra hot summer has increased their use making it necessary to perform this basic maintenance function more often. Now the A/C is working and the units are cool. Thank you for the heads up and we apologize for your uncomfortably warm night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

Over the 4th of July weekend I traveled to Thompson Falls, Mt. We booked a room at the Falls Motel which was my first visit. We will definitely will be returning! The rooms were very clean and quaint and the staff was extremely friendly and accomodating. From flat screens, mini fridges, and microwaves in the room to the staff giving awesome recommendations for kyaking and hiking trails.

Room Tip: We booked room # 28 which has 2 queen beds. However, we did take a peak at their suite which was bea...
See more room tips
Green Features: The hotel has enviro signs in the rooms and helps reduce unneccessary water useage.
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FallsMotelMT, Owner at Falls Motel, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
You've hit on a couple items we find critical to our business for our customers: clean rooms & great customer service. Thank you for sharing our little secret with other TripAdvsior.com fans. We look forward to your future treks over the mountain to our woods.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

Our annual pilgrimage on the bike brought us through TF. We always stay at the Falls motel. Katrina and Mark have built a wonderful little gem and honestly is one of the reasons we choose this route on the bike. This year we were fortunate enough to stay the new suite. What a treat, our own courtyard and impecibally clean and comfortable room. Thanks guys we'll look forward to seeing you next time.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chervy57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FallsMotelMT, Manager at Falls Motel, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
We were so happy to have you back! Thank you for the compliment and great review. We truly did hope you loved the new King suite - so it's good to hear you did. We look forward to seeing you next summer on your annual ride.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Countryside, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

We were traving around western Montana and decided to spend the nite in Thompson Falls. We went on-line and found Falls Motel web site. The web site was easy to use and we booked a room. The price was somewhat lower than we had been paying and our experience with lower priced rooms left us wondering what we would find. Our first impression wasn't good. The outside was in need of a makeover and I drive around the block a few times trying to make up my mind whether to look somewhere else. With no other lodging in site and two kids in the car I decided to take a chance. Was I suprised! The room was very large and very clean. New bathroom, floors, walls. The TV, refrigerator and plumbing were all new. Wi-Fi was available and the decor of the rooms was very pleasent. The owner was very pleasent and helpful with ideas for dining and local activities. With the exception of a brand new motel (with swimming pool) that we stayed in our first night on the road, we all agreed that this was our favorite room during our two-week trip. We were in Thompson Falls to visit friends of ours who had moved there from Chicago. Other of our aquaintances plan to visit them in the months and years ahead. We will gladly recommend Falls Motel To them.

Ross M.
Countryside,IL

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ross M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FallsMotelMT, Owner at Falls Motel, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
We VERY MUCH appreciate that you took the risk and came on in.

It's true - our "curb appeal" needs some help. Since we purchased the motel we've spent time, money and energy in the inside of our rooms. We felt from the get-go that this was the first priority since it is where our guests spend the majority of their time. We want our guests to have clean, comfortable rooms so they can relax and focus on the reason they came to Thompson Falls (visit with friends).

Now that we're almost done with all the rooms, we've been turning our attention to planning how to transform the exterior so it reflects what's inside. Stay tuned...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thompson Falls
1.5 mi away
Riverfront Motel & RV Park
Riverfront Motel & RV Park
#1 of 2 in Thompson Falls
5.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
23.3 mi away
Little River Motel
Little River Motel
#3 of 3 in Saint Regis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
22.4 mi away
Mullan House
Mullan House
#1 of 1 in Mullan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Rocky Point Ranch
Rocky Point Ranch
#1 of 3 in Thompson Falls
5.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rimrock Lodge
Rimrock Lodge
#2 of 3 in Thompson Falls
3.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
12.8 mi away
Bear Creek Resort
Bear Creek Resort
#1 of 2 in Thompson Falls
5.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falls Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falls Motel

Property: Falls Motel
Address: 112 S. Gallatin Street, Thompson Falls, MT 59873
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Thompson Falls
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Thompson Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Falls Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A classic motel with 23 updated rooms with modern amenities. Free wi-fi, dog friendly, new mattresses, refrigerator, flat screen TVs, DVD players, microwave, and coffee maker in every room. We offer five different room configurations including a King Suite with private patio and fireplace, king singles, queen singles, double queen and triples. Why? We want our guests to have the type of room that serves their needs best!We are located in town, walking distance to restaurants, bars, casinos, theater, parks, trails - and the Clark Fork River is 1/2 block from the motel. NEWLY ADDED: Big Eddy's Deck Bar - 11 blocks east of the motel. Great Food. Big Deck. Cold Drinks. Amazing View. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Falls Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing