We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great place”
Review of Little Bear

Little Bear
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Thompson Falls
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Trout Creek, Montana
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great place”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Amazing ice cream and great food it costs a little more then average and can be slow but is well worth it

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank jj m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    7
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia Falls, Montana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An hour wait for a cold sandwich...”
Reviewed 20 December 2012

We stopped in for a sandwich and the sign on the door says this is not fast food. They are right. Only 2 other tables were occupied and were there when we arrived. We ordered a bowl of soup and a cold sandwich. After about 50 minutes with no sign of food in sight, I went up to the waitress and asked if our order was almost ready. I was told after one more sandwich to make they would start on our order. We didn't have another half hour to wait so we had to leave. I am sure the food is probably good but I just didn't have 1.5 to 2 hours to wait for a sandwich and soup, let alone the time to eat it and pay the bill. Too bad because it seems like it cares about the food they serve.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank otis3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Rustic, Slow Motion....”
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Little Bear is situated on the side of the Flathead river.Outdoor seating is available and a few tables inside also. It is a small operation and as the sign says when you walk in expect to have a long wait for even just a sandwich. The food was average, contrary to what I had been told. The wait for my sandwich was over an hour it seemed. The staff are friendly and have plenty of magazines to read while waiting. They also have home maid ice cream with some very unique and delicious flavors and options, this alone is what makes it worth a stop if you are ever in Thompson Falls Montana.Interesting place with some famous patrons on occasion I have been told. Good luck, don't starve waiting ! !

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank larry s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary Alberta
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Just ok”
Reviewed 9 September 2012

This store was extremely cluttered to the point of almost being forced to sit outside. I went in for a turtle sundae and although the portion sizes are good the sundae was over powered by the fudge and carmel. The people we were staying with recommended them for there ice cream and I probably should have stuck with something a little plainer to get a real taste of their ice cream.
I would give them another chance on the ice cream but as far as sitting in their establishments...take it 'to go'.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank BlujamCalgaryAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Little Bear also viewed

 
Thompson Falls, MT
 

Been to Little Bear? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing