We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can feel the history of Lewis and Clark all around you here!”

Missouri Headwaters State Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Jefferson, Madison and Gallatin Rivers merge to form the Missouri River, which was an important geographical area for early native Americans, traders, trappers and settlers.
Columbia Falls, Montana, United States
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“You can feel the history of Lewis and Clark all around you here!”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

This is one of the best open-air walk through parks in the United States. The fact that on July 25, 1805, Lewis and Clark arrived here at the headwaters of the Missouri permeates your senses of adventure while standing here. And what a sight it is.....three rivers coming together to form the "Mighty Missouri" River. Lewis and Clark were of course surprised that they had reached the end, or beginning as it were, of the Missouri River. And an even bigger surprise was the emerging of the Rocky Mountains to their front as they stood here on this spot in Three Forks, Montana. My favorite spot in this park is standing on top of "Fort Rock" and looking at the panorama of the Gallatin River winding through beautiful grasslands with mountains in the background all around. A mile upstream from where the Gallatin flows into the Missouri is the point where the Jefferson and Madison Rivers meet and form the Missouri. It is to me a nearly religious moment to stand here at this point (you can actually stand right on the water) and see the two rivers bumping into each other with the roiling waters then headed downstream. I was so moved by this sight that I went back early in the morning to see the rivers in early sunlight and it was wonderful.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    51
    9
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Conrad, Montana
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Historical sight”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

The day we went there they were having a reenactment of Colter's run from the Indians. It was great to see so many runners and interested spectators.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BettyHarold O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Loved the serenity of this spot”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Loved the serenity of this spot and its significance in the Lewis & Clark Expedition. I remember a movie I watched whereas Lewis remarked something to the effect of having always wanting to see the spot where the great Missouri River began...the movie shows him straddling a bubbling brook of water coming out of the earth and though you don't see this, at least you know this is where they truly passed...maybe brook is further up. You wont be disappointed in going here. Its beautiful. 4 teens were there in the water enjoying it. You'll probably have the place to yourself.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Glad we stopped”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Call me boring, but I enjoy history. I love the thought of standing where Lewis and Clark stood many years ago. I love to imagine how they felt. We stood on Fort Rock which was cool (Lewis Rock is on private land). We stepped into the water and watched fish swim by. If you're in the area, this is a quiet, peaceful, "nice to get out of the car", great place for a picnic or just to walk.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank pamfoster41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agoura Hills, California
Level 6 Contributor
777 reviews
230 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 304 helpful votes
“Cool place to have lunch and walk around”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Just a few miles from the 90/287 freeway interchange, this state park is where the Jefferson, Madision and Galliant rivers converge to form the Missouri river. It is pretty place to have lunch and there are lots of birds in the area (White Pelicans etc). Stop by the information caboose in Three Forks for details and directions. The ladies that work their are nice, helpful and friendly.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig-World-Travelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Missouri Headwaters State Park also viewed

 

Been to Missouri Headwaters State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing