We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Missouri headwaters”

Missouri Headwaters State Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Jefferson, Madison and Gallatin Rivers merge to form the Missouri River, which was an important geographical area for early native Americans, traders, trappers and settlers.
Gulf Shores, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
564 reviews
187 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 342 helpful votes
“Missouri headwaters”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We stopped by this state park for a picnic dinner on our way to Yellowstone and Bozeman. The park is nice and well maintained. The picnic area is also well kept. Grounds are mowed and the bugs weren't too bad. The view is wonderful and you can see the three rivers come together to form the Missouri. There are some short hikes you can take and there is a covered area with interpretive signage that explains the history of the area. Lewis and Clark visited this area and mapped it. It was a perfect stop and a nice picnic dinner. we even saw a family of woodchucks grazing by the Gallitin River. Again as with most state parks there is a small fee to enter.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    51
    9
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
EDMONDS
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lewis and Clark were here”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This is where the Madison, Jefferson, and Gallatin rivers converge to form the Missouri River. Lots of historical information available at the various sites along the way and the State Park Ranger's were very nice and helpful.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lavonia, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Little Disappointed”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I was expecting more to be truthful ... the park was pretty small. I just reminded myself that it was the location of Lewis and Clark's three-day campsite and that gave me a reality check. I had just built this location up in my mind. It was probably all it could be for what it was. Just be sure to take some bug spray ... there were a ton of mosquitoes in June.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank fergiepap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navarre, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Amazing to see three rivers come together to form one!”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

This National Historic Landmark was an education in history, nature and culture. It's part of the Lewis and Clark Expedition. This is the point where three rivers, the Gallatin, the Madison and the Jefferson come together to form the Missouri River. The Missouri begins here, meandering throughout the country and finally emptying its flow in the Gulf of Mexico. Sacagawea came here as a young girl with her Shoshone Indian Tribe during the fall to pick berries along the banks of the rivers. You can stand on Fort Rock and see the three rivers all at once. It's amazing! Just below the Fort Rock Trail is picket fence where three young children who died of black diphtheria in the 1870's are buried. I felt a real sense of connection to the past. It was very moving.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Danita F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Scenic and serene”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I stopped by the Headwaters State Park because of my interest in the Lewis and Clark expedition. The park itself is beautiful. Snow-capped mountains in the distance to the south, the sounds of rushing water and birds singing, and the Montana landscape of the park makes it a fantastic place. There are hiking trails with information about the expedition throughout the park and the park itself is well-maintained.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Markfromthe414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Missouri Headwaters State Park also viewed

 

Been to Missouri Headwaters State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing