We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best caverns and tour on the west coast!”

Lewis and Clark Caverns State Park
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Whitefish, Montana
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best caverns and tour on the west coast!”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

After 2+ years of wishing to see these caverns, we visited them this last weekend, fantastic time! The hike up to the entrance was a steep and hot climb, yet the view from the trail was amazing.

The caverns are exquisite, well lit, with railings to hold when it was a bit steep on the steps down into the next level of caverns. The tour guide was really informative and had a good sense of humor. I felt safe and very relaxed. We started at the top entry and winded our way down into the depths of the cavern, sometimes bending really low, in and around the overhangs.

Must see when you are in Montana!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank WhitefishandBeyond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    242
    97
    8
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belgrade, Montana
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
“Well worth it!”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

A bit of a hike to the caverns, especially if you are not in shape. But the caverns are great, worth the trip.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kj4963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muskegon, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Very nice adventure”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Just the road trip to this State Park is satisfying, the views are breathtaking and there are stops to take photographs. At the state park and the caverns' office, service was quick and friendly. We got into the 12:00 PM tour along with 7 people--9 in the group and the guide. The walk to the caverns entrance takes its toll at least on average middle-age people like us, but it's not impossible and the guide was very friendly and patient. In the caverns we were lucky enough to watch small bats and the beautiful formations. The temperature inside the caverns is 48-50F year round, but the ups and downs keep you warm enough. It may be slippery though, so be careful and especially be careful with your head if you're 5'9" or taller.
Great adventure for couples, families, friends.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank MxLx2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montana
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Caverns beautiful but tour so so”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Caverns are beautiful but requires quite a bit of walking. Long walk up incline, several older yet fit people stopped and rested many times and were quite winded. I being one of those fit older people, if you have asthma bring your inhaler! Once in caverns there are about 600 stairs, mainly down as you exit from a much lower point than the entrance. Inside walk was easy but some tricky spots, very dim (Lighting could be much better, not only to better see the formations but also for safety), wet and uneven walkways and an area you have to sit and slide down. Guide seemed knowledgable and caverns beautiful but not overwhelmed by the tour itself. No bathrooms once you start 2.5 hour tour.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank May R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richfield, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great tour”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

One of the best cave tours I've been on. It had it all. Crouching, sliding, turning, lots of formations and quite a few stories about the caves. Our 5year old loved it! The walk to get to the cave is quite long, and none of it is for the faint of heart. There should probably be more warnings for older people. We were a little concerned for one gentleman.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Aerin03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lewis and Clark Caverns State Park also viewed

 

Been to Lewis and Clark Caverns State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing