We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“willow creek cafe and saloon” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Willow Creek Cafe and Saloon

Willow Creek Cafe and Saloon
Ranked #5 of 11 Restaurants in Three Forks
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Kids, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Bozeman, Montana
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“willow creek cafe and saloon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

this is one of the best cafes/saloons on the face of this earth!! the ribs will melt in your mouth and just fall from the bones. the chicken fried chicken is excellent!!! you must have reservations especially on the weekend.

a must if you ever travel to bozeman. just a 45 minute drive!!! the best!!!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank elizabeth r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    23
    13
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Helena, Montana, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful Ribs!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

We decided to try the Willow Creek Café since we had heard good things about the food. So, we made reservations and had about an hour's drive from Helena. I had the honey mustard ribs since I read such good reviews about them. Well, the reviews were right - the 1/2 rack of ribs was huge and they were incredible!!! My husband had the chicken fried steak and it was also incredible! Our server was excellent and the prices were very reasonable. It was a great experience and we will definitely plan a return trip!!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montana
Level Contributor
98 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Be sure you reserve in advance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

We have eaten at Willow Creek many times over the years. As other reviews state, the honey mustard ribs are simply incomparable and well worth a journey. In fact, a problem with dining there is that the ribs are so very good that it is hard to justify ordering anything else. Venturing from the ribs, there are usually several specials posted on a chalk board and they are reliably outstanding but beyond that the menu is always the same and tends towards the prosaic, pastas, etc. Those dishes hark back to the days when the restaurant principally served the local farming community. They are hearty dishes but they are not in the league with the ribs and the specials.

An outing to Willow Creek is always a delight. The building is old and has an interestingly checkered history. The staff is "down home" friendly an informal. It is always fun with guests from Europe or a major urban area. As you park in front of the old, plain building and walk in through the bar, they are clearly wondering what they are getting involved with but the answer is that they are stepping back in time to small town America as it once was.

Just be certain to reserve in advance. Willow Creek is very popular and well-known throughout southwestern Montana and can get crowded.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Peregrine15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrison, Montana
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointed in steak and service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

We ate at the Willow Creek Cafe tonight. Although the special was really good (Cajun andoille sausage and shrimp with pasta) the NY steak one of us ordered was terrible--tough, unevenly cooked, and full of gristle. Approximated 50% was not edible. When the waitress (who has worked there a long time )came to take our plates away she never commented on the amount of steak that was left on the plate--it had been cut up and the gristle was left in piles on the plate. Obviously she did not care if the person who ordered it enjoyed the meal or if there was a problem with it. This is beef country, Willow Creek is surrounded with ranches raising excellent Angus beef, but I guess this restaurant isn't concerned about the quality of the beef they serve. We would not have asked for the steak to be taken off the bill, would have paid for it without question, just was expecting some caring on the part of the waitress. We won't be eating there again, which is too bad, as it is a local restaurant for us.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank TemmaMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Ribs that are unique and wonderful every time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

Since moving full time to Montana, many people suggested the trip to the little town of Willow Creek, right off Route 90 not too far from Bozeman. So, we went and were amazed at the food and the ambiance in this building. I highly recommend the experience. Don't bother to ask them how they do it, it is a well kept secret!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tomriggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Willow Creek Cafe and Saloon also viewed

 

Been to Willow Creek Cafe and Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing