We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply great!”
Review of Sacajawea Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sacajawea Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Three Forks B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Columbia Falls, Montana, United States
Level Contributor
69 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Simply great!”
Reviewed 20 March 2012

I went to Three Forks to see the confluence of the Missouri and found this Hotel in 2008. It was run down at the time and not so hot. New owners have done wonders and made so many improvements it is amazing. I liked the changes so much I checked in on the spur of the moment and watch March Madness in the great sports bar in the basement. Rooms are wonderful and internet connection excellent as well. Wish I were in love, I would take her here!

Jim Walker - Columbia Falls, Montana formally of Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida.

Room Tip: 3rd Floor are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    43
    10
    6
    3
See reviews for
28
126
12
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helena, Montana
Level Contributor
137 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

We are lucky to live just over an hour from this hotel, so it should not have taken us so long to finally visit. We spent our 21st anniversary here and enjoyed every minute. The Hotel is situated in a beautiful part of Montana. Headwaters State Park--where the Missouri River begins and where Lewis and Clark confirmed this-- and the Madison Buffalo Jump State Park are just minutes away (you do need a car to visit this part of the state--the entire state for that matter). There is plenty of free parking in front and arond the side of the Hotel. The king suite was as advertised--clean and beautifully decorated, the staff was fabulous (thank you Karoline), the food at Pompeys' Grill was outstanding--Chef Matt knows what he's doing in the fine dining department. Reservations are a must, so reserve them when you book your room. The bar area was lovely and the complimentary light breakfast in the morning was a welcome surprise. If you're travelling to our lovely state, you owe it to yourself to stay here for one or two nights, or base yourself here and explore all there is to see.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MHL888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Great time. Beautiful hotel. Really good menu choice. Good band over the weekend in the bar downstairs. Just an all around fun time even in the off season.

Room Tip: Chose the bigger kingsize suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maddwolf_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Big Sky, Montana
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We were here on a deal certificate and I think that we will be back! The hotel is absolutely beautiful and boy was the bed comfy! Well decorated and all the little "extras" that made us feel like we were at the Ritz. I would have given it 5 except for the breakfast - don't plan on getting full, but it was a good way to get us until we could get some real food. There was just some bagels and toast (wheat montana of course!), granola, yogurt, fruit, and coffee and tea. One small container of juice, that wasn't refilled. Also there was a band in the downstairs bar the night we were there and we could hear them in our room (on the 2nd floor!) but nothing the TV couldn't drown out. Next time we will try the restaurant... sounds delicious!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CinMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Oaks, Minnesota
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

We stayed at the Sacajawea Hotel for a night while "driving through" Three Forks, during a two week Montana getaway in June, 2011. As often happens, the place you think of as a necessity emerges as the highlight of the trip. This is the case with the Sacajawea Hotel. We were driving in from a far distance and we were late. My husband and I were anticipating a good dinner in the restaurant and we risked getting there after closing. We called from the car and the front desk person was kind enough to read the menu to us, help us make selections, and arrange for dinner to be waiting for us when we got there. It was an amazing dinner - as good as any we have had anywhere. The chef really does a superb job. Now, the hotel....it is absolutely beautiful, well-run, well-maintained, clean, and graciously elegant. Our room was thoughtfully appointed with comfortable beds, a good shower, and a neutral decor. The front porch is so lovely and a really fun place to sit with a cocktail in the evening. The downstairs bar is a classic pub, great bartender, good selection of beers. Three Forks is a fun, dusty Montana cowboy town. We hope to get back and this time, Sacajawea will be THE destination!

Room Tip: Only saw our room, which was a standard double/double. It was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StayCurious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medway, Ohio
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Stayed here last summer (July 2011) and enjoyed the room a great deal. The small town it's located in is nice and out of the way. Rooms are decorated in Old West style, which is nice, and the staff are friendly, altho a bit on the young side. I can definitely say I got a great night's rest while there.

The food on the menu in the dining room is really delicious, but they might or might not have it on the menu. The restaurant has a special every night but the chef doesn't make sure to order enough to support beyond the first five minutes of orders. Also, Montana only has about 30 potatoes in the state at any given time and once they're gone, they're gone!

For being such a nice location with rooms at a premium price, I would have expected more for breakfast than the meager leavings in the saloon each morning. The staff couldn't bother to remove the bagels from the plastic bags, the cream cheese was in small packages difficult to maneuver, the tea and coffee cups are small Styrofoam cups and there's precious little seating. I told my travel partner later we should have found a diner in town rather than rely on the Sac for breakfast.

Were it not for those two points (the problems with the dining room and the really bad breakfast) this would have gotten five stars from me.

Room Tip: Don't expect much in the way of breakfast and if you want the special for dinner, get there earl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MojaveRattler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Last summer we stayed at the Sacajawea Hotel as part of a road trip to the Historic (and haunted) Hotels of the Rockies. My friend was doing a magazine article and I was gathering ghost stories. Altho, there is no elevator, the stairs leading to the rooms was not too steep. Our room was spacious and I enjoyed dinner in the Pompay Dining Room.
The staff was fun and helpful with tales of their ghostly experiences. The ghosts seen are a maid walking into a closet that is no longer there---and elderly gentleman near the staircase, and a shadowy figure in the dining room that could be the madam from down the street who frequented the hotel in search of clients. The hotel has sort of a southern mansion look on the outside--and a western decor showcases the lobby. Great place, but I agree...the "continental breakfast' was a little weak!

Room Tip: Remember there is NO elevator to the upper floors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lookin4ghosts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Three Forks
20.3 mi away
Gallatin River Lodge
Gallatin River Lodge
#7 of 31 in Bozeman
5.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
19.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Belgrade
0.4 mi away
Lewis & Clark Motel of Three Forks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Fort Three Forks Motel
Fort Three Forks Motel
#2 of 2 in Three Forks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
23.5 mi away
Fox Hollow Inn
Fox Hollow Inn
#5 of 12 in Bozeman
5.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
19.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#2 of 4 in Belgrade
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sacajawea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sacajawea Hotel

Property: Sacajawea Hotel
Address: 5 N Main St, Three Forks, MT 59752-9010
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Three Forks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Three Forks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sacajawea Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Sacajawea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing