We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Blast from the Past”
Review of Sacajawea Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sacajawea Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Three Forks
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2012

This beautiful refurbished 100+ year old historic hotel is a very nice place to stay. We stayed in Room 102, a small, slightly cramped room with a full-size bed. It was a great value at $105.93 including tax. It had a very comfy bed and great sheets. The room was exceptionally clean and nicely furnished.

The hotel has a wonderful, covered porch that runs along its front (west side) and along its north side. The section of the porch that covers its entire front side has quite a number of very comfortable wooden lounge chairs with thick cushions, while the portion of the porch on the north side has two wooden tables with 4 wooden chairs at each. The porch is decorated with hanging flower baskets. The porch is a great place to sit and read, although the section along the front of the hotel can be very hot on a summer afternoon as the sun sets in the west.

One complaint I have with our room relates to the window air conditioner. The air conditioner is inserted in one of the two windows in the room. The window has a wooden inside shutter treatment with slats. If you want to close the shutter and the slats on the shutter it blocks much of the cool air. The window also has a nice set of drapes that can be pulled. But if you pull the drapes (or close the shutter slats) for privacy (the room is on the first floor and the window looks out on the north section of the porch) or to darken the room the air from the air conditioner is significantly blocked. It's not a good arrangement and could only be gotten around by installing the air conditioner in the wall of the room.

The continental breakfast is just above average in my opinion. They provided bagels (which were very dry), coffee, orange juice, tea, granola, milk, yogurt, already-peeled hard-boiled eggs (nice touch), a poor selection of fruit, and an outstanding apple strudel.

Check-in and check-out was easy and quick. The staff was friendly and pleasant. I would have given the hotel a 5-star rating if not for the air conditioner "problem".

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Forester67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (257)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 257 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2012

My wife & I spent an impromptu weekend at the Sacajawea in Three Forks, Montana. Our purpose was to visit some caves in the area, but it turned out to be the most enjoyable stay I've ever had. The hotel is lovely, the rooms are large and comfortable, the people seem genuinely happy to see you. Italian linens and a bed and pillows that made for the best rest I've had in a hotel. A glass of champagne and a hot finger towel at check-in. We spent hours on the porch, chatting with tourists as well as locals.

We made a reservation at Pompey's Grill inside the hotel. The food is billed as "5 star" and is exceptional. Prices appear to be lower than most 5 star restaurants, probably because it's located in a community of just a few hundred. But note--the locals eat here also!

This is an ideal sot for a romantic weekend or simply a night as you pass through. Headwaters State Park and Lewis & Clark Caverns State Park are nearby. Both are nice for either couples or family--there were hundreds of boats, canoes and rafts floating the Madison--perfect on a 90+ degree day. Strongly recommended!

Room Tip: We stayed in a "queen" room. I can't imagine the suites, probably perfect for a famil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

We ditched the kids and decided to drive down for a weeknight stay here. What a wonderful experience. The staff were friendly and accommodating. The food (dinner) was out of this world, and cocktails were innovative and delicious. Breakfast was heavy on carbs and very basic, but included in the price. The entire hotel has been redone and no expense was spared. We had a king room that while a bit small was very comfortable and quiet. My wife and I want to get the same brand mattress for home. All in all a very restful stay.

Room Tip: Even number king rooms seem to be at the front of the hotel if you want a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mtht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Had a wonderful time here... old fashioned service. excellent food. rooms can be a bit tight and are the pricey side. great live music most weekends. owned and run by locals with a smile.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liberty Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Great service, great food, great room, what's not to like?

Room Tip: Go for a suite, you won't be sorry!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

We enjoyed a relaxing evening at the Sacajawea. It was very comfortable and they've done a great job of balancing the authentic history of the past with the modern conveniences of today.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stumpy60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

We have stayed at this property before, and enjoyed ourselves so much we bought a certificate for a return stay (which we just completed). Sad to say, the experience has declined sharply.

Our check-in was dismissive, the bar much less welcoming, the dinner (while still basically good) suffered from an overcooked filet, and the breakfast was very poorly maintained (no tea water, empty coffee, picked over plates). Also, the rooms use free-standing A/C units with window hoses to vent them. These are a bit noisy and do occupy some precious floor space, but you do need something in the summer. However the venting is pretty flimsy which lets in outdoor noise, which may have contributed to the issue we had in the next paragraph.

But the worst part for us was that the property has apparently become a pretty rowdy gathering spot (at least for Friday & Saturday nights, can't speak to the rest of the week) and we were making front-desk calls until 2:30 AM asking for relief. The staff response? "It is that way on the weekend." "Well, we can't do anything about it." "Oh, it will die down pretty soon."

The overnight staff must have 'flagged' our folio ... they could not wait to get rid of us in the AM and did not ask us anything about our stay or offer the usual 'comment card'. We are very sorry to tell you all of this ... we were so much looking forward to this visit and would have preferred to write a much different review.

Room Tip: Try to get away from the lower level bar and the outdoor patio area used for group functions. You wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheArmenian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Three Forks
20.3 mi away
Gallatin River Lodge
Gallatin River Lodge
#10 of 31 in Bozeman
250 reviews
2.9 mi away
Travelodge Three Forks
Travelodge Three Forks
#3 of 3 in Three Forks
30 reviews
19.9 mi away
Super 8 Belgrade/Bozeman Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lewis & Clark Motel of Three Forks
Show Prices

Been to Sacajawea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sacajawea Hotel

Address: 5 N Main St, Three Forks, MT 59752-9010
Region: United States > Montana > Three Forks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Three Forks
Price Range: £101 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sacajawea Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Sacajawea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing