We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“basic accommodation in beautiful setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lakeside Motel & Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Trout Creek
Moscow, ID
Level Contributor
134 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“basic accommodation in beautiful setting”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

The Trout Creek community is great as a “home base” for outdoor recreation in the area. Motel options are limited.

Stayed here for 2 nights while hiking and berry picking in the area. I stayed in cabin #111. I think each of the cabins is different. The cabin has a main room, which contains a full size bed and a single bed, small desk with chair (both log construction), and wall mounted TV; bathroom with tub and shower, hairdryer, soap (no lotion or shampoo); kitchen with all appliances, dishes, coffee maker (with Folgers supplied), utensils, and table with 2 chairs; and one small room with a queen bed (no other furniture). The cabin seemed clean, though rustic and basic. The kitchen is nice. On the whole, I did not find this cabin to be very comfortable. There is nowhere to put any of your clothing or personal items – no small chest of drawers, no bedside table, etc., just a rack to hang some things on. Seems that you are expected to leave your stuff on the floor or on the beds. Also, there is no comfortable place to sit back and relax. The log chair in the main room is mainly for rustic looks, as it offers no comfort. There are two straight back wood chairs at the kitchen table, but they are not comfortable for relaxing. Although there is a TV in the main room, there is no place to sit while you watch it; what is the point in that? It’s odd that they have enough bed space for a small family, but no where to sit or put your stuff. While I was there (July), the cabin temperature was comfortable. The air conditioner in the small room had no adjustments; it was “on” if plugged in, “off” if not plugged in. There was wireless internet with a good signal.

The setting for this property is nice, right on the river in Trout Creek. They have a beautiful lawn behind the motel and cabins. It has some nice trees for shade, large fire ring, several picnic tables – lovely area. Weather permitting, you can hang out there, looking out at the river and mountains, eat your meal/snacks at one of the picnic tables. There’s a short path down the river bank to a small dock. They have a restaurant that is open for dinner, and a small souvenir shop/convenience store on site. There is also a small grocery store right across the highway, if you need more options. The people are nice and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
Helpful?
Thank roam-ID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johntharris, Owner at Lakeside Motel & Resort, responded to this review, 3 March 2016
This was a small cabin that has 3 beds, 2- TV's, desk and chair, bathroom and a small full kitchen, dining table with 3 chairs. The air conditioner does have controls under the 6'' cover door. Our dock is as large as can be permitted that has 12 boat slips. Our larger cabins go for $ 20.00 more a night with 2 couches, rocking chairs and a separate dining room. The large 1300 sqft. cabins also have custom made dressers by the beds, with 2 to 3 TV's, covered patios with BBQ's. We try to load up our cabins with everything that could be needed. The rooms, cabins and grounds are maintained kept clean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    4
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
14
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lynden, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We resently held our family reunion here (76 members). Last year my husband and I travelled from one coast to the other and this is by far the best place we stayed on the whole trip. We have been here several times, stayed in 3 of the motel rooms and 2 of the cabins. The owners John and Julie are the most gracious hosts and made every effort to meet all of our family's needs. The staff is very accomadating and the rooms are imaculately clean. . They have an onsite lounge/casino and restaurant. The gift shop is a great place to shop. The kids had a great time fishing, swimming, water skiing and sitting around the campfires in the evening. If you are looking for a great getaway this is the place. There are lots of places to go see and explore in the area. We are planning another trip in a month and will plan our route so we can stay here.

Room Tip: Cabins are quieter and larger than motel rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ginilee4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noxon, Montana, United States
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2013

My husband and I had our wedding here and it was perfect. The location is beautiful, right next to the water and perfect spot for a reception right inside where there is a full bar and huge dining area..We had a lot of family coming from out of town which was handy because they were able to stay right there at the hotel. Perfect place for a wedding!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alyssa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trout Creek, Montana
1 review
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We had our daughter's wedding at the Lakeside. The venue was perfect. The outdoor area was well kept, clean and with a gorgeous view of the Clark Fork River. We had many out of state guests and they were very comfortable with the lodgings. They liked staying at the wedding site - it was very convenient, comfortable and enjoyable for all. Thank you John and Julie for providing us with the perfect place for a beautiful wedding! Liane

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liane2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Superior, Montana
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2013

On the weekend of June 15th, my wife and I held our daughter's Wedding Reception at the Lakeside Motel & Resort' in Trout Creek Montana. Our daughter had attended a two Wedding?receptions here. My Wife and I hadn't and didn't know much about the place.
I have to say, without a doubt it was the greatest decision we could have made for our daughter's special day. The place was incredible. The entire time we were there, the staff, including the owners to the help' bent over backward to make our event amazing. they catered to our every need and request. John and Julie, the owners we're extremely nice. Our daughter, and her new husband had the time of their life's. I highly recommend that anybody who needs beautiful scenery, plenty of motel, cabins, and space to hold an event, and incredible prices to boot, look to John and Julie Harris at the Lakeside Motel & Resort in Trout Creek Montana. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: The Cabins are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blake S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandpoint
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2013

I stay at this motel quite regularly. i brought my mom out here a few years back and have been coming here a long time. My children grew up in this area so when I come to town for a day or two it feels like home. John and Julie are great hosts. It is a great place to stay. The rooms are very very nice and clean. The scenery is fantastic.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We spent the night in the cabin with friends. It has very cute lodge decor. The place is very clean. The grounds are beautiful and serene. The owners are on site and ready to help make your stay pleasant. They even stock the fire pit with wood for a campfire. It's a wonderful little lakeside retreat

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pjhuston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trout Creek
18.8 mi away
Riverfront Motel & RV Park
Riverfront Motel & RV Park
#1 of 2 in Thompson Falls
82 reviews
20.1 mi away
Falls Motel
Falls Motel
#2 of 2 in Thompson Falls
176 reviews
7.7 mi away
Bear Creek Resort
Bear Creek Resort
#1 of 2 in Thompson Falls
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Rimrock Lodge
Rimrock Lodge
#2 of 3 in Thompson Falls
13 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside Motel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Motel & Resort

Property: Lakeside Motel & Resort
Address: 2957 Mt Hwy 200, PO Box 1489, Trout Creek, MT 59874
Region: United States > Montana > Trout Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Trout Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lakeside Motel & Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lakeside Motel and Resort is located in Trout Creek, Montana. Lakeside Motel and Resort is a 4 Star Resort, restaurant, lounge, bar, casino, banquet meeting room, gift shop, sporting goods, catering, very clean, reasonable priced with a Montana Resort Atmosphere! We are located on the shores of the Noxon Rapids Reservoir, of the Clark Fork River with the Majestic Cabinet Mountains. We have large rooms, large cabins, Jacuzzi Suites, Restaurant, Lounge and Casino. Guests can sit in the backyard by the Lake: use BBQ, fire pits, volley ball, swim along our docks and watch the sun set across the lake with the Cabinet mountains in the background. We also have Trout Creek Unlimited Rental and Sales, were we rent fishing boats, Party Barge, Snowmobiles, ATV's 2-seaters and 4-seaters. Facebook-Trout Creek Unlimited Rentals! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Lakeside Motel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeside Hotel Trout Creek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing