We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was the perfect getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lakeside Motel & Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Trout Creek
Rapid City, South Dakota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It was the perfect getaway!”
Reviewed 13 February 2011

My wife and I wanted to get away from everything and just relax and I don't think we have ever slept better! The location had amazing views and was very clean! We couldn't believe out there that we were able to connect our laptop and stay connected so fast to loved ones to update our vacation pics! The staff was very friendly and helpful and the cabin with the jacuzzi suite was perfect! We will vacation again soon!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hlemburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    4
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
14
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bishkek
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2010

Coming off a 3 year tour in the Middle East and we found heaven at the Lakeside Motel and Resort in Trout Creek, Montana. Lovely, country-style decorated cabins, and amenities that made it possible for us to relax and enjoy. Got pics of whitetaile deer, heard a bear on the mountain outside our cabin, and watched wild turkeys travel and roost in the trees. This is truly Big Sky Country! Food is wonderful in Trout Creek....huckleberry pancakes and thick ham slices made breakfast a real treat. I would heartily recommend a stay at the Lakeside for those who want a real vacation. I definitely plan on coming back again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeggyBishkek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2010

My daughter was married July 17, 2010 in Thompson Falls, MT and we held the reception at the Lakeside Motel and Resort in Trout Creek, 20 miles west on Hwy 200. This place is a gem in Western Montana sitting on the shore of the Noxon Reservoir of the Clark Fork River. We planned for a year in advance and filled the motel with our guests that came from as far away as New Zealand and North Carolina. Everyone agreed that the accommodations and reception venue could not have been more ideal for our occasion.

The Lakeside has everything you need for a small to midsize event. The "meeting room" seated 150 comfortably inside for dinner and the generous grounds offered lots of room for enjoying the beautiful views and Montana evening with plenty of outside seating. They have a well equipped kitchen for cooking & catering and John, the owner, is an expert at setting up for your event. There is a great covered patio area outside where we set up the DJ and danced. Our pictures featured a backdrop of the mountains, water and a fantastic Montana sunset.

Speaking of the owners, John and Julie are very particular and maintain their facility impeccably. We also found them to be very customer service oriented, flexible and willing to work with us on a number of fronts. The motel offers a range of accommodations from standard motel rooms to cabins with multiple bedrooms and jacuzzis. They have remodeled all the rooms and they are exquisitely clean, comfortable and cozy. As a guest you have direct access to the Noxon Reservoir with over 20 miles of boating, fishing and water sports. Just imagine any recreational opportunity you might seek in the mountains of Western Montana and it is available. We have a home in Trout Creek, but if not I would eagerly visit the resort as a guest.

I am a life long Montana resident and I know there are resorts in the region that have similar amenities, some more exclusive, certainly more pricey. Whether you are looking to Montana for a family vacation, a romantic getaway or a location for a corporate retreat or family event, you could not do better than the Lakeside Motel and Resort.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carla010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2009

I've visited Trout Creek several times, but this was my first stay at the Lakeside Resort and Motel. Two friends and I rented a cabin and were very impressed by the quality and cleanliness of our lodging. Everything was well maintained, both inside and out, and the staff and owners were great. The view from our cabin was breathtaking, and the falling snow made things even more beautiful.

I give them the highest possible recommendation and look forward to staying with them in the future.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alpine147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2009

Me and my husband, heard about the Clark Fork River valley, that is the most beautiful place.... and it is! We flu into Spokane from Long Island NY, rented a car than we took the indescribable drive near Coeur d'Alene lake, to Trout Creek, everyone recommended the Lakeside Motel being clean and having great service and it really was. After the first trip, we went back 3 more times because we loved it. Each time , we took another rout, near Lake Pend Oreille, or thru Thompson Pass.
Everyday we drove somewhere, to visit the area, Troy, Flathead Lake, and in the evening it was very pleasant to come back ( like home) in a clean, quiet Lakeside Motel.
We are always dreaming about going back!
Thanks John and Julie!

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Szerno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2009

We stayed at Lakeside Resort for a family reunion. The scenery was absolutely beautiful! The whole family was well taken care of and things were handled in a most proficient and timely manner. The amenities offered were perfect for the reunion and everyone couldn't stop commenting on how wonderful everything was. There is a small grocery store right across the street that sold pretty much any necessity. I dreaded having to leave.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank unicornkidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2009

Flew into Spokane to begin our trip and did the winery tours in the Spokane Valley. Family who live in Montana, met us there and then we were off on the great adventure to the "Best Last Great Place" in the Northwest. Hundreds of acres of wilderness, wildlife and Stars!

We spent 4 glorious nights and 5 days at the Lakeside Resort enjoying our newly purchased wine, sampling the many Montana made brews, and fell in love with one that was aptly named "Moose Drool". With everything from a market, laundry, non-smoking restaurants and bars to the private boat dock all within a few hundred yards of our cabin door, we were in heaven.

And we could see heaven every night when we'd sit along the Clark Fork River's edge as the sun went down across the water. If we hadn't already been married years ago, we would have chosen this place for an outdoor wedding. The 'backyard' or commons area of the Resort, is big and spacious, not to mention the indoor banquet room that has it's own full sized kitchen and adjoining patio big enough for dancing and a live band.

Although it's on HWY 200, you'd never know it was a highway. The only traffic we encountered was at dusk when the wildlife was out and about, and we're talking about the four legged type. We saw so much wildlife we'd only seen in books. From Bald Eagles and American Eagles to humming birds, White Tail Deer and Big Horn Sheep, Buffalo and Elk, we were great full not to have run into any Bear or Mountain Lions while we were visiting, as they live here too, so we were told. The only ones came across were the ones in the banquet room that adorned the huge rock fireplace along one wall.

We also found out that if you are the wilderness adventurer, young at heart and body and want to experience the Montana wildlife up close and personal, that you can rent boats, horses and local guides to take you on many outdoor excursions, but fortunately for us, that's what family is for. We're not that adventurous anymore unless it's on flat ground. A boat and a fishing rod is about our speed now-a-days. Isn't that what retirement or vacation is all about anyway? Good friends, great family and even better wine?

We are looking forward to coming back for a visit, maybe without telling the family this time. We had so much fun just hanging out at the resort! On a scale of 1-10, this place is an 11+ for a perfect relaxing vacation spot that has everything you may ever want or need in a resort. It even has Wi-Fi if you can't leave your laptop or PDA at home.

Thanks John and Julie for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SirusSid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trout Creek
18.8 mi away
Riverfront Motel & RV Park
Riverfront Motel & RV Park
#1 of 2 in Thompson Falls
82 reviews
20.1 mi away
Falls Motel
Falls Motel
#2 of 2 in Thompson Falls
176 reviews
7.7 mi away
Bear Creek Resort
Bear Creek Resort
#1 of 2 in Thompson Falls
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Rimrock Lodge
Rimrock Lodge
#2 of 3 in Thompson Falls
13 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside Motel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Motel & Resort

Property: Lakeside Motel & Resort
Address: 2957 Mt Hwy 200, PO Box 1489, Trout Creek, MT 59874
Region: United States > Montana > Trout Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Trout Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lakeside Motel & Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lakeside Motel and Resort is located in Trout Creek, Montana. Lakeside Motel and Resort is a 4 Star Resort, restaurant, lounge, bar, casino, banquet meeting room, gift shop, sporting goods, catering, very clean, reasonable priced with a Montana Resort Atmosphere! We are located on the shores of the Noxon Rapids Reservoir, of the Clark Fork River with the Majestic Cabinet Mountains. We have large rooms, large cabins, Jacuzzi Suites, Restaurant, Lounge and Casino. Guests can sit in the backyard by the Lake: use BBQ, fire pits, volley ball, swim along our docks and watch the sun set across the lake with the Cabinet mountains in the background. We also have Trout Creek Unlimited Rental and Sales, were we rent fishing boats, Party Barge, Snowmobiles, ATV's 2-seaters and 4-seaters. Facebook-Trout Creek Unlimited Rentals! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Lakeside Motel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeside Hotel Trout Creek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing